Strangling hair


Rules Questions

Vigilant Seal

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I have a PC who insists on using this spell all the time. i was curious about a couple things with this spell.

1. What type of damage is it, it just states 1d6. (i needed to know because of DR, i assumed that the DR didn't apply because it was a spell that didn't specifically say bludgeoning or crushing)

2. This spell says that "Your hair receives a +5 bonus on grapple checks made against opponents it is already grappling, but cannot move foes or pin foes." but the grapple combat maneuver says "If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)." does this mean that if they succeed on grappling with the hair the opponent beginning grappled stays in that spot or that the opponent is first moved to an adjacent square but cannot be moved on later rounds?

3. does the caster gain the grappled condition? im guessing not because it says "Once you choose a target, your hair continues to attack that target independently of your own actions." but it also doesn't say that you don't become grappled, and assuming that the caster doesn't become grappled they are free to use their full movement?


I would assume you could move, but no further than the range limit of the spell. The hair grapples them in place and can't reposition the enemy (its given a CMB and CMD but not a strength score, so it can't move people) since its a spell, it would overcome DR/Magic but nothing else unless your unarmed strike damage has the capacity to overcome other DR (monk is a good example) since it states "1d6 points of damage or your unarmed strike damage, whichever is greater." Honestly, I would just treat it as a Constrict natural attack and have it do bludgeoning damage since you have to maintain the grapple to deal damage. Since it acts independently, yes they would get their actions. Though the spell make its grapple checks on their turn and would fail if they left its range.


LordPretzels wrote:
I have a PC who insists on using this spell all the time. i was curious about a couple things with this spell.

Reference: Strangling Hair

LordPretzels wrote:
1. What type of damage is it, it just states 1d6. (i needed to know because of DR, i assumed that the DR didn't apply because it was a spell that didn't specifically say bludgeoning or crushing)

It animates your hair. I would call is a Natural Attack. I would liken it to a Tentacle, and thus B, because you are grabbing, not impaling (P) or whipping (S).

LordPretzels wrote:
2. This spell says that "Your hair receives a +5 bonus on grapple checks made against opponents it is already grappling, but cannot move foes or pin foes." but the grapple combat maneuver says "If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)." does this mean that if they succeed on grappling with the hair the opponent beginning grappled stays in that spot or that the opponent is first moved to an adjacent square but cannot be moved on later rounds?

Specific overrides General. Opponent is not moved, as the spell tells you what happens when you succeed.

LordPretzels wrote:
3. does the caster gain the grappled condition? im guessing not because it says "Once you choose a target, your hair continues to attack that target independently of your own actions." but it also doesn't say that you don't become grappled, and assuming that the caster doesn't become grappled they are free to use their full movement?

The spell calls out the target gaining the grappled condition, but does not also say you do. Therefore, you do not have the condition. You are free to use full movement, but if you exceed the spell range either you hair releases, or you fail to go that far. Question is can you pull the hair free? Also, you (usually) move no more than 30', and at minimum CL, you hair is 30'. If you use a full round action, you cannot concentrate on the spell, and it goes away.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Strangling hair All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.