If wearing multiple necklaces, which one is on?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Say I put on two magical necklaces, which one functions (if any)? Does the first one remain on because it was on first? Does the second one come on because it overrides the first one? Or do neither of them work because they cancel each other out?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber
claudekennilol wrote:
Say I put on two magical necklaces, which one functions (if any)? Does the first one remain on because it was on first? Does the second one come on because it overrides the first one? Or do neither of them work because they cancel each other out?

You can't wear two necklaces - you only have one "neck slot", which can only accommodate a single item.

(I know that, in the real world, you can wear multiple necklaces simultaneously. But the rules of Pathfinder limit you to wearing only one at a time)


Ok smart guy, what happens when I put on a second one? You can't say I cant, because I can. Just like I can wear multiple suits of magical armor.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber

If you do that, you aren't playing Pathfinder, so the Pathfinder rules are irrelevant.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I have the feeling that either the first necklace remains active until removed and all other magical items that would occupy the next slot would be inactive or all would be inactive until only a single neck slot item is being worn.


In my house games, I have always ruled that when two magic items occupy the same spot, the one with the higher CL is the one whose effects are active. If the CL is the same then they are both nullified.

I had a player ask me what kind of action it takes to switch which item is active, as he wanted to wear multiple rings and simply will them to be active at his convenience, I would not recommend this to players or game masters as it essentially allows for additional item slots.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber

Any of the above suggestions as to how to handle this in home games would work just fine; it's up to the GM which one he chooses. But this isn't the appropriate forum to discuss them.

Rules Forum Heading wrote:


This forum is for questions and answers about the rules of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. House rules, variants and conversions should be posted in the appropriate Community Content forum

There isn't anything in the rules of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game to say which (if any) of multiple magic items worn in the same slot will function, because the rules preclude that situation ever arising.

Liberty's Edge Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can extrapolate from the rules for rings. You can wear up to two rings, one on each hand. If you put on a third ring, that ring has no effect, but the remaining rings continue to function.

Similarly, for an item in the neck slot, the first one you put on will function, but the next ones you put on will not.

Cases where someone is wearing more than two items in the same slot are possible, but stretch the limits of what the rules are intended to cover. I would say that master_marshmallow's interpretation of having the highest-CL item override the others is a pretty good one, even if it isn't exactly what the rulebook/PRD says.

I would absolutely not allow someone to change the items that are functioning without taking a standard action to physically remove the item that is currently functioning. The rules are built around action economy, and anything you do to grant a significant benefit for free (or nearly so) can have profound impacts.


JohnF wrote:


Any of the above suggestions as to how to handle this in home games would work just fine; it's up to the GM which one he chooses. But this isn't the appropriate forum to discuss them.

Rules Forum Heading wrote:


This forum is for questions and answers about the rules of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. House rules, variants and conversions should be posted in the appropriate Community Content forum
There isn't anything in the rules of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game to say which (if any) of multiple magic items worn in the same slot will function, because the rules preclude that situation ever arising.

Ok, let's look at this hypothetical situation. You're the DM. Your player is wearing a magical item in his neck slot. They find a horde of treasure, but it's more than they can carry in their bags and packs. For ease of carrying, anything that can be worn, well...they're just going to wear. Without knowing the necklace they found is magical (they haven't had the time or inclination to detect magic yet, for whatever reason), the player attempts to put the unidentified magical necklace on.

What happens?

Grand Lodge

JohnF wrote:


Any of the above suggestions as to how to handle this in home games would work just fine; it's up to the GM which one he chooses. But this isn't the appropriate forum to discuss them.

Rules Forum Heading wrote:


This forum is for questions and answers about the rules of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. House rules, variants and conversions should be posted in the appropriate Community Content forum
There isn't anything in the rules of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game to say which (if any) of multiple magic items worn in the same slot will function, because the rules preclude that situation ever arising.

Um, no. There's nothing in the rules that state you cannot wear multiple items in the same slot, just that you cannot benefit from more than one item in the same slot.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
claudekennilol wrote:
Say I put on two magical necklaces, which one functions (if any)? Does the first one remain on because it was on first? Does the second one come on because it overrides the first one? Or do neither of them work because they cancel each other out?

From the Magic Items chapter of the Core Rulebook:

Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.

Putting on a slotted magical item when you already have an item in that slot causes the new item's magic to cease functioning while so adorned.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder is not a video game.

There is NOTHING preventing you from putting on a second necklace. Only one of them will function, but nothing physically prevents the wearing of a 2nd, 3rd, or hell go all Mr. T. on it and wear 50lbs of necklaces... only one of the magic ones is going to work though.

To say you CANNOT put on a second necklace? Really?

I will reiterate. Pathfinder is NOT a video game. There is no computer code of 1's and 0's preventing your character from putting on a second necklace.

To answer the original question, as others have said one would work and the other(s) would not. Choose wisely which one is currently functioning.


Tempestorm wrote:

Pathfinder is not a video game.

There is NOTHING preventing you from putting on a second necklace. Only one of them will function, but nothing physically prevents the wearing of a 2nd, 3rd, or hell go all Mr. T. on it and wear 50lbs of necklaces... only one of the magic ones is going to work though.

To say you CANNOT put on a second necklace? Really?

I will reiterate. Pathfinder is NOT a video game. There is no computer code of 1's and 0's preventing your character from putting on a second necklace.

To answer the original question, as others have said one would work and the other(s) would not. Choose wisely which one is currently functioning.

This was the point I was trying to make in my post above, but I guess I tried too much subtlety and sarcasm.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So, it would seem PFS legal if a character put on a +1 Amulet of Natural Armor and then put on a Swarmbane Clasp. Based on what was said above, the Swarmbane Clasp would be ineffective until the wearer decided to take off (as a move action) the Amulet of Natural Armor. That could actually be a useful tactic, if legal.

Lantern Lodge

So whats the action involved to remove a necklace when you're wearing two?

Grand Lodge

Genuine wrote:
So whats the action involved to remove a necklace when you're wearing two?

The same action as if you were only wearing one.

Liberty's Edge Contributor

Genuine wrote:
So whats the action involved to remove a necklace when you're wearing two?

Activating a magic item other than a potion is a standard action that does not draw attacks of opportunity. Removing the worn item would most closely resemble "dropping an item" which is a free action.


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Paris Crenshaw wrote:
Genuine wrote:
So whats the action involved to remove a necklace when you're wearing two?
Activating a magic item other than a potion is a standard action that does not draw attacks of opportunity. Removing the worn item would most closely resemble "dropping an item" which is a free action.

Dropping an item is a free action b/c it takes only a fraction of a second to "open your hand" and thus "drop" the item. I would say it depends on the slot used.

For the OP, a necklace requires at least a move action. Gloves are probably a move action for each glove. For something more complex like a robe or boots or gauntlets, removing that time could be multiple rounds up to several minutes to remove say a corset (this is all assuming that you want to remove w/o damaging the item, cutting off a corset would obviously take less time). A ring, assuming you are not wearing gloves, a move action at least.


I'd suggest a move action, but it could be combined with a move, such as when drawing or sheathing a weapon. I doubt there is anything official on this.

Lantern Lodge

Melkiador wrote:
I doubt there is anything official on this.

Which is the problem, isn't it? Even allowing a standard action (for 'activating a magic item') makes it easy to abuse. My PFS character owns both an Amulet of NA and a swarmbane clasp (he usually hands the swarmbane to someone else at the beginning of a scenario).

If I can really wear both and just burn a standard action when I happen to see a swarm, well that's just awesome. And maybe wrong.


Well. You can officially wear both. And the first is the active one. What's not clear is what is the action for removing a necklace.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I like the KISS method of doing things. It's a move action. It might take a little more or less time depending on the slot, but I imagine the times it would take for various slots would average out to a move action, so that's what we'll use (abstraction for the win!).

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
claudekennilol wrote:
Say I put on two magical necklaces, which one functions (if any)? Does the first one remain on because it was on first? Does the second one come on because it overrides the first one? Or do neither of them work because they cancel each other out?

Neither are functional until you take at least one off.


LazarX wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
Say I put on two magical necklaces, which one functions (if any)? Does the first one remain on because it was on first? Does the second one come on because it overrides the first one? Or do neither of them work because they cancel each other out?
Neither are functional until you take at least one off.

Source?


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
LazarX wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
Say I put on two magical necklaces, which one functions (if any)? Does the first one remain on because it was on first? Does the second one come on because it overrides the first one? Or do neither of them work because they cancel each other out?
Neither are functional until you take at least one off.

I'm pretty sure that is completely false.

Magic Items chapter, under Magic Items on the Body: ...a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.

Additional items have no effect. The initial ones continue functioning.


I'm going to necro this thread, because my PFS character has juuust gotten to the point where having more than one necklace handy would be good. Now I think the handy necklace list is up to 3

a) amulet of natural armor
b) swarmbane clasp
c) azata's whimsy (for dealing with confusion)

Has any new tech come out to make doing this easier than a move action? Maybe some application of Sleight of Hand? Something involving some sort of magical tattoo? Some kind of wacky magical necklace bucket?

EDIT: I don't know how to spell the word 'whimsy'


As a note sarcasm is hard to portray on a written medium. That is really all I can add to this I feel its been pretty well covered at this point.


Vidmaster7 wrote:
As a note sarcasm is hard to portray on a written medium. That is really all I can add to this I feel its been pretty well covered at this point.

Actually, I have one more point that I don't think has been brought up in the thread, and that's damaging/deactivating necklaces. If a character wears three necklaces, or five rings or somehow has one pair of boots over another pair of boots, they're more covered against damage that renders one of their magical items useless, or against a magical effect like Dispel Magic or Mage's Disjunction.

If we go by the ruling that the first item (or the item with the highest CL) takes precedence over others, and that item is zapped into inertness, then other items being worn automatically spring into action since they are now next in line to be used (assuming that they too were not disabled.) For this reason, I wouldn't allow any magical items to function in a slot when more than the applicable number of items are equipped.


Pathfinder is supposed to have magic. And for a group that is low on spellcaster (say an all martial group) they are going to have to depend on magic items to make it through the campaign.

So why would a GM be upset if the party is spending money on two neck slot items. Your answer seems to be because it is useful. To this I say, DAH! Why would you buy a magic item that was not useful?

They have a limited amount of money, let them use it how they see fit. Ingenuity is part of the fun of play a game. Don't be one of those GMs that discourage ingenuity, especially the type that is described in this thread. They are already limited in that the have to use an action to get the new item to function.


ohako wrote:
Has any new tech come out to make doing this easier than a move action?

So rummaging through your pack and putting on a necklace is a substantial action, but what if you were to take your magic necklaces to a jeweler and have them fitted with breakaway clasps (like cat collars, but classy) and wear them all at once putting them on in the order of likelihood you want the effect.

So the natural armor goes on first, then the swarmbane clasp, then the whimsy. If you find yourself fighting swarms, you can grab the armor amulet and tear it off so it ceases functioning and the swarmbane clasp (being now the oldest worn necklace) starts functioning.

I'm not sure what kind of action you would need to doff some worn item that is easily accessible, though.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

In my games, I rule that this feature of magic is due to positive energy flowing through the body. Different aspects of your lifeforce are acted upon by magic differently in different places of your body.

When a character puts on too many items in 1 slot, they cause turbulence in their life force, too much energy acting upon their innate positive energy. Depending on the magic, I have caused nausea, dizziness, or even physical damage or cancers.

That said, I like dangerous, powerful magic as opposed to ubiquitous, safe, commercial magic.


I pity the fool who only wears one necklace!


Driver_325yards wrote:
Don't be one of those GMs that discourage ingenuity, especially the type that is described in this thread. They are already limited in that the have to use an action to get the new item to function.

Actually, I was thinking more about automatic items that provide innate benefits like ability scores, AC, saves, regeneration, magic missile absorption, whatever.

In addition, this brings up weird questions like whether or not a Ring of Sustenance has been "worn" for a full week if it wasn't actively working on the character. Do they just take off their dominant ring when they need to rest for the night and then put the dominant ring back on after their two hours of rest, supplanting the Ring of Sustenance, which is still being "worn"?

I appreciate ingenuity from my players, but these limits were set in place for a reason, probably not the least of which is GM sanity.

PossibleCabbage wrote:
I'm not sure what kind of action you would need to doff some worn item that is easily accessible, though.

I like the idea of the breakaway clasps (even though I've expressed how I'm against using multiple magic items in slots.) If it were me adjudicating, it would depend on what you want to do with the necklace you just tore off. Keep it in your hand? Swift action. Stow it in a pouch or bag so you can use that hand for something? Move action, at least.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
PossibleCabbage wrote:
ohako wrote:
Has any new tech come out to make doing this easier than a move action?

So rummaging through your pack and putting on a necklace is a substantial action, but what if you were to take your magic necklaces to a jeweler and have them fitted with breakaway clasps (like cat collars, but classy) and wear them all at once putting them on in the order of likelihood you want the effect.

So the natural armor goes on first, then the swarmbane clasp, then the whimsy. If you find yourself fighting swarms, you can grab the armor amulet and tear it off so it ceases functioning and the swarmbane clasp (being now the oldest worn necklace) starts functioning.

I'm not sure what kind of action you would need to doff some worn item that is easily accessible, though.

I would rule that since both the swarmbane and whimsy are inactive there is a 50-50 chance that either could become active when the armor comes off.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
PossibleCabbage wrote:
but what if you were to take your magic necklaces to a jeweler and have them fitted with breakaway clasps (like cat collars, but classy) and wear them all at once

Expect sadistic GMs to include the possibility that some of them break away unintentionally from time to time, such as if you fail a reflex save or get grappled or the like.


Ultrace wrote:
In addition, this brings up weird questions like whether or not a Ring of Sustenance has been "worn" for a full week if it wasn't actively working on the character. Do they just take off their dominant ring when they need to rest for the night and then put the dominant ring back on after their two hours of rest, supplanting the Ring of Sustenance, which is still being "worn"?

I wouldn't allow it. I think this is why they had the limit. Otherwise it's an item that only takes up a slot while you're resting. At that point it might as well be slotless.


I will go with the situation example of tossing a bag of holding into a portable hole, in the case of putting on a second necklace, the wearers' head explodes, roll up a new character *glares at rest of players* any one else want to wear two or more necklaces at one time?
I know, not exactly a rule, but some DM's may aprove...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ultrace wrote:


In addition, this brings up weird questions like whether or not a Ring of Sustenance has been "worn" for a full week if it wasn't actively working on the character. Do they just take off their dominant ring when they need to rest for the night and then put the dominant ring back on after their two hours of rest, supplanting the Ring of Sustenance, which is still being "worn"?

In this context, I would consider "worn" to be equivalent to "equipped", meaning it must be actively equipped in one of your two ring slots and not supplanted by a more dominant effect.


On additional thinking, the two merge turning into a necklace of Strangulation, choking the character to death...
Have to give reason for the existence of all those cursed items out there some how...


jeez louise, nobody's thinking of Hellboy reaching into his trenchcoat pocket and pulling out a handful of holy relics and charms and suchlike, and picking just the right one to use? I thought that was rather thematic, really.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Hellboy has a Handy Haverpocket.


Post

Sean K Reynolds wrote:

The limit for rings is "up to two." The limit for amulets (and any other slot) is "one." If putting on a third ring doesn't work, why do you think putting on a second amulet should work?

Yeah, you can wear a second amulet, but it has no effect if you're wearing any other amulets. So if you want amulet #2 to work, you have to at least spend a move action to remove amulet #1, and if you put #1 back on (a move action), #2 is the one that's active (because it was on solo first), so if you want #1 to be active you'd have to remove #2 (so #1 would be on solo), then you could put #2 back on to be in your earlier state (#1 active, #2 inactive).

Not quite official, but close.

/cevah


Charles Scholz wrote:

Hellboy has a Handy Haverpocket.

Distant cousin twice removed.


okay, so in other words, the 4-year-old answer of

1) Wear two necklaces. The last one you put on is 'on'.
2) Taking a necklace off is a move action, and now you have a necklace in your hand.

appears to be all we've got. I guess I should also presume that there's no way to wear a necklace (inactively) like a crappy jangly bracelet, and if I wanted to chop a swarm in half with my axe that I need to drop/unattend my hand necklace.

I guess if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I would like to see a 'Equipment Trick (necklace)' feat, maybe making a 'switch which necklace is active' action preconditioned on Quick Draw or some ranks in Sleight of Hand. Not sure what other tricks you could do with necklaces though...


ohako wrote:

okay, so in other words, the 4-year-old answer of

1) Wear two necklaces. The last one you put on is 'on'.

Actually, that 4-year-old answer maintains the status quo: the first one you put on is "on."

But it does establish that move actions are used, so that's nice to know.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / If wearing multiple necklaces, which one is on? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.