Can I use Sorceror spells for share spells?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Relevant rules citation:

Share Spells wrote:
Share Spells (Ex): The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion's type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.

Emphasis mine.

So, I want to able to cast "Form of the Dragon" on my mount, and ride around on a dragon during combat. I'm going to be multiclassing and getting an AC from a different class. So, I wonder at what point I could accomplish this, due to the bolded rules section:

1. Can I do it when I have the wildblooded archetype AND the Sylvan bloodline And the Animal Companion bloodline power that comes from such? (<----I assume this is a yes, since the Sylvan bloodline grants an animal companion)
2. Can I do it when I have the wildblooded archetype AND the Sylvan bloodline, but NOT the actual class feature (assume it was traded away via crossblooded archetype)?
3. Can I do it when I have the wildblooded archtype but NOT the Sylvan bloodline?
4. Can I do it as a plain sorceror?

I guess a few relevant questions are:
5. Can a Druid that didn't go the animal companion route (and got the domain instead) still use share spells on an animal companion he got from another class?
6. Can a Storm Druid use share spells, even though he has to choose the domain instead of the animal companion?
7. Finally, can a Battle Scout cast his ranger spells on a animal companion from another class, even though he gave up his animal companion?

Grand Lodge

1. Apparently so
2. No, if you trade away a class feature through an archetype or class option, you no longer have that class feature
3-7. No, for the same reason as 2

Lantern Lodge

Even no on 5? Dang, that limits the options

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Starglim wrote:

1. Apparently so

2. No, if you trade away a class feature through an archetype or class option, you no longer have that class feature
3-7. No, for the same reason as 2

+1

If you don't have that class feature in a class, it certainly isn't the class you had that grants an animal companion.

Lantern Lodge

But:

Doesn't the druid class grant an animal companion? Wouldn't therefore all druids be able to cast share spells, since they are part of a class that grants the feature, even if they chose not to take it?

I understand the implications of such a position, so I'm perfectly willing to yield on it. Though, those were my thoughts.


If your class normally grants an animal companion but does not for you because you traded it to an archetype or just by choosing the domain, then your class does not grant you an animal companion. Your class is the class you actually have (modified by archetypes and choices), not the generic version of the class. So a druid who picked domain (and not one that grants an animal companion) doesn't have the animal companion class feature.


From the FAQ:

When do I count as having a class feature?

You have a class feature when your class description tells you you gain that class feature, generally based on your level in that class (and perhaps altered by factors, see below).

If you have an archetype or other rules element that replaces that class feature, you do not have that class feature. For example, if your archetype replaces a rogue's sneak attack, you no longer have the sneak attack class feature (whether a requirement is as general as "sneak attack" or as specific as "sneak attack +1d6," you do not qualify for it).

Unless you actually have an animal companion, you do not have a class that grants an animal companion. It isn't a class that can grant you an AC, it is one that does grant you an AC. A druid with the domain nature's bond does not grant an AC and so does not qualify for share spells.

Lantern Lodge

You know, I had read that FAQ just yesterday. Dang it, I'm becoming insane O.o

I guess thats what a fussy newborn will do to you?

Thanks guys!


FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:

You know, I had read that FAQ just yesterday. Dang it, I'm becoming insane O.o

I guess thats what a fussy newborn will do to you?

Thanks guys!

Congratulations on the baby!

And yes that is what they will do to you. But it is worth it. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I use Sorceror spells for share spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.