Ape Shaman (druid archetype) and totem transformation


Rules Questions


So, the write-up on totem transformation says:
"Totem Transformation (Su): At 2nd level, an ape shaman may adopt an aspect of the ape while retaining her normal form. The druid gains one of the following sets of bonuses and abilities: movement (climb speed 20 ft., +4 racial bonus on Climb checks), senses (low-light vision, scent), natural weapons (2 slams [1d6 for a Medium shaman], +2 on combat maneuver checks to grapple), or toughness (+2 natural armor bonus to AC, Endurance feat).

While using totem transformation, the ape shaman may speak normally and can cast speak with animals (primates only) at will. Using this ability is a standard action at 2nd level, a move action at 7th level, and a swift action at 12th level. The ape shaman can use this ability for a number of minutes per day equal to her druid level. These minutes do not need to be consecutive, but they must be used in 1-minute increments. This is a polymorph effect and cannot be used while the druid is using another polymorph effect, such as wild shape."

It has the details about totem transformation, then goes into the bit about using speak with animals. After this, it gives the minutes per day bit. My confusion is whether the minutes per day applies to totem transformation as a whole or if it is specific to the speak with animals. My guess would be that it is intended to mean the totem transformation ability, but as written, it would seem to be specific to the speak with animals.
I want to be sure that I play my character true to the intention of the rules, but I also don't want to cheat myself out of an ability if it should be longer lasting than I think it is.

The Exchange

It applies to T.T. in all it's uses.


Jeff Morse wrote:
It applies to T.T. in all it's uses.

Okay, that was what I'd figured as it seemed a bit broken otherwise. Just wanted to make sure I was using it correctly. Thanks!


Jeff Morse wrote:
It applies to T.T. in all it's uses.

Another question about totem transformation. It says that you choose one of the sets of abilities. Is this choice made permenently when you get the power, or do you choose which set of abilities you get when you activate the power?

I ask because it seems from the text as though you choose when you activate the power, but I'm adding an ape shaman to HeroLab and it required me to choose a set of abilities when I added the 2nd level of ape shaman to the character, locking the power down to a single set of abilities.


i did this in hero lab and once you get 2nd level you get to choose one of those and it seems permanent.

I chose toughness and it automatically gave me 2 Natural armor and endurance feat

The Exchange

Always assumed it was as you activate it, but after rereading seems could go either way. As for HL, it do make mistakes. Also you can always unchoose an option and pick anew.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ape Shaman (druid archetype) and totem transformation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.