"At the end of your turn" character powers


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

The Exchange

- Can Valendron use his ability to recharge a spell to move immediately after resetting his hand, immediately before resetting his hand, or either?

- If Alhazra uses her ability to discard a spell in her hand to pick up a spell in the discard pile at the end of her turn, before resetting her hand, can she play the spell she just picked up (let's say it was a Cure spell) before resetting her hand? (In other words, is there a window in between "at the end of your turn" and "reset your hand" where you can play spells?)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Alex319 wrote:
- Can Valendron use his ability to recharge a spell to move immediately after resetting his hand, immediately before resetting his hand, or either?

He does it before he resets his hand.

At the end of your turn, the first thing you do is apply "end of the turn effects." That includes all character powers that say "at the end of your turn." After that, you reset your hand.

See the FAQ entry for more info.

Alex319 wrote:
- If Alhazra uses her ability to discard a spell in her hand to pick up a spell in the discard pile at the end of her turn, before resetting her hand, can she play the spell she just picked up (let's say it was a Cure spell) before resetting her hand? (In other words, is there a window in between "at the end of your turn" and "reset your hand" where you can play spells?)

No, there is no window. The FAQ entry doesn't explicitly say that, but if you keep in mind the fact that FAQ entry was to simplify and organize things, then it should work just like the previous version did. And the previous version said this (with the important part italicized):

S&S Rulebook p9 wrote:
Reset Your Hand: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn; if a power allows or directs you to not reset your hand, you must still apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. You may play cards and use powers unless a power directed you to reset your hand and end your turn. After resolving these effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn.

That last sentence closed off the possibility of an any time window. And, like I said, the FAQ wasn't meant to change that, just make the rules a bit tidier.


I have a friend who is able to find PACG character engines before the game even starts. He got Alhazra (from the class deck) and discovered what we thought was an infinite loop of examining top cards involving the Eagle being returned to the top of the deck, and her special power trigering a drawing of a card. We couldn't just stop the game to read errata, and we weren't happy with allowing Alhazra to gain omnipotence, so we just made a house rule that for each time she sends the eagle to scout more than once she must make increasingly harder Wisdom checks (mind melding with birds gets to be tiring, after all). Worked out pretty well, but this is clean and makes sense.


Jonah, that's legitimate I think.

Now, the combo is fairly rare in OP since Eagle doesn't exist in the Oracle class deck, so it's mainly a problem in box play; in addition, examining is a risk in MM.

But since this is box play, making a houserule is fine.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / "At the end of your turn" character powers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion