How to Install Cybertech


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello happy people, a player of mine and I are a little confused by some odd wording in the Technology Guide, specifically the Cybertech section.

The first question I have is the Install DC. The text on page 35 claims that the DC is 20 + double the cybertech's implantation value. But as I looked through the cybertech entries a few of them did not follow this rule. Should I use the 20 + double implantation value or just stick to the specific entry's DC? (for example, the Mark II, IV, and V Dermal Plating install DCs do not follow this rule)

Second, does installing the cybertech require a facility? I think it should, as most player character don't have the medical tools you might need for installation (even if they take the feat Craft Cybertech). I know that they require a manufacturing lab to craft them, but I would imagine a medical lab or at least some kind of medical equipment would be needed.


Kot the Protector wrote:

Hello happy people, a player of mine and I are a little confused by some odd wording in the Technology Guide, specifically the Cybertech section.

The first question I have is the Install DC. The text on page 35 claims that the DC is 20 + double the cybertech's implantation value. But as I looked through the cybertech entries a few of them did not follow this rule. Should I use the 20 + double implantation value or just stick to the specific entry's DC? (for example, the Mark II, IV, and V Dermal Plating install DCs do not follow this rule)

Second, does installing the cybertech require a facility? I think it should, as most player character don't have the medical tools you might need for installation (even if they take the feat Craft Cybertech). I know that they require a manufacturing lab to craft them, but I would imagine a medical lab or at least some kind of medical equipment would be needed.

I've been using the 20 + double implantation value in my Iron Gods game, since otherwise the DC to install something found very early in the Adventure Path would be almost impossibly high. I'd love clarification, though.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

The "DC 20 + double implantation" is an error. That was the original formula I used, but it became apparent that it was too restrictive and instead I switched to an ad hoc method of simply assigning the implantation value as felt appropriate for the device.

The install DCs listed per item are correct.

The newest printing of the Tech Guide omits the error.

Liberty's Edge

James Jacobs wrote:

The "DC 20 + double implantation" is an error. That was the original formula I used, but it became apparent that it was too restrictive and instead I switched to an ad hoc method of simply assigning the implantation value as felt appropriate for the device.

The install DCs listed per item are correct.

The newest printing of the Tech Guide omits the error.

Thank you muchly Mr. Jacobs!

Is there any ruling for whether actually implanting the device requires a facility/special equipment or if it just requires that the patient bite a towel while their friend with a good Heal skill slices their skull open to get to their brain?


I am requiring a cybernetics lab in my Iron Gods game, as advanced technology is supposed to be limited in Golarion.

I have a related question... I have a player who took Craft Cybertech because he wanted to install cybernetics on himself. I'm now realizing that it's hard to imagine him installing a thoracic nanite chamber on himself. :)

I'm going to assume that the rules don't allow you to install it on yourself, but since I didn't bring this up with the player when he initially chose his feats I will it slide just for once.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

In our Iron Gods game, we require the 'medical lab' act as an implanting facility for cybertech, also that the 'heal check' and the feat represent knowledge on how to program the implantation suite to allow for self implanting. Though I think two of our 4 characters are taking crafty cybertech so we can speed up the process of creation and implantation.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Kot the Protector wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:

The "DC 20 + double implantation" is an error. That was the original formula I used, but it became apparent that it was too restrictive and instead I switched to an ad hoc method of simply assigning the implantation value as felt appropriate for the device.

The install DCs listed per item are correct.

The newest printing of the Tech Guide omits the error.

Thank you muchly Mr. Jacobs!

Is there any ruling for whether actually implanting the device requires a facility/special equipment or if it just requires that the patient bite a towel while their friend with a good Heal skill slices their skull open to get to their brain?

At the very least your friend with the Heal skill would also need the Technologist Feat to avoid the very applicable penalty. That would be in addition to the penalty for not having the right tools for the job.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How to Install Cybertech All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.