Can you own two Wayfinders?


Pathfinder Society

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Starfinder Superscriber

This is one of those "I don't see any reason why not" sorts of questions, but it does seem a little bit odd.

(Reason: my alchemist would benefit greatly from a Discerning Wayfinder, but he's way, way, way, way too attached to his Igniting Wayfinder to give it up. A Discering Wayfinder may be far more useful, especially for an Alchemist who knows Spellcraft but can't cast Detect Magic, but it just doesn't make you giggle the way an Igniting Wayfinder does.)

Grand Lodge 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can own as many wayfinders as you have money for. You just can only benefit from at most one resonant power at a time.

Scarab Sages

If you have two augmented wayfinders then neither of them work.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

A couple of my characters carry both a Wayfinder (with an Ioun Stone inside) and a Dayfinder (for Deeper Darkness emergencies).

Silver Crusade 2/5

Seeker of Secrets wrote:


The auras of multiple augmenting wayfinders tend to
interfere with each other; a person with one who tries to hold
or carry a second usually finds that both sputter out in just a few seconds, but activate again once the second one is set
aside. Some advanced, expensive wayfinders may hold more
than one ioun stone at the same time and still function (though
another wayfinder can interfere if brought too close).

As Sapphire Onion said, if you are augmenting ioun stones with your wayfinders, they interfere with one another.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

Jeff Merola wrote:
You can own as many wayfinders as you have money for. You just can only benefit from at most one resonant power at a time.

Jeff,

To correct this:
You can only benefit from the resonant powers from standard (neither flawed or cracked) Ioun stones inserted into one wayfinder.

There are several wayfinders that can slot more than one Ioun stone, including at least one that can slot three at the same time.

Indeed, one of my PCs bought an Ebon wayfinder (which can hold two Ioun stones) recently, but wound up with no Ioun stones in it, after all, since, as a human, the Darkvision was too useful.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Fair enough. I'd forgotten that there are wayfinders with more than one slot as I've never seen anyone purchase one around here.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

Jeff Merola wrote:
Fair enough. I'd forgotten that there are wayfinders with more than one slot as I've never seen anyone purchase one around here.

They are expensive, with the Ebon, at 18K gp, being the least expensive 2-slot wayfinder. Assuming I ever get to play or give that PC GM credit, and he gets back up to that much money, he'll probably buy a second one, so he can get both his clear spindle and dusty rose prism Ioun stones imbedded in it, rather than just the dusty rose prism he usually has there.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

3 people marked this as a favorite.

A pathfinder trying to remember which of his wayfinders has the clear spindle ioun stone

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Also remember you cannot use it both as a light source and for a resonant power as slotting a stone inhibits a standard wayfinder's normal powers. If you are using it for a light source then that means you have removed the stone.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

5 people marked this as a favorite.

Hey, Kyle:

We need an ex-Pathfinder opponent, who drops her own ioun-stone-enhanced Wayfinder into a PC's backpack as a combat maneuver so that both shut down.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

Sapphire Onion wrote:
Also remember you cannot use it both as a light source and for a resonant power as slotting a stone inhibits a standard wayfinder's normal powers. If you are using it for a light source then that means you have removed the stone.

And, besides the multiple sources for free wayfinders, this is another reason to have two or more.

"Let's see, this wayfinder prevents mental domination, this wayfinder casts Daylight, this wayfinder casts Detect Magic, and this wayfinder casts light."

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Chris Mortika wrote:

Hey, Kyle:

We need an ex-Pathfinder opponent, who drops her own ioun-stone-enhanced Wayfinder into a PC's backpack as a combat maneuver so that both shut down.

Eeeevil…

Back when the Shadow Lodge was a playable faction, I considered playing a character wearing "Pathfinder Scale," which was scale armor made out of broken wayfinders recovered from deceased field agents.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Starfinder Superscriber

...as opposed to those Aspis agents, who wear "Pathfinder Hide" armor...

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
rknop wrote:
...as opposed to those Aspis agents, who wear "Pathfinder Hide" armor...

Ew? Okay, also cool

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

rknop wrote:
...as opposed to those Aspis agents, who wear "Pathfinder Hide" armor...

Other than a very limited list, and those two may no longer be Aspis agents, are there any other Aspis agents who survive long enough to even have a chance at this?

Shadow Lodge 5/5 ⦵⦵ Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East aka thistledown

At least one of my characters has gotten 2 free wayfinders.

5/5 Venture-Agent, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Azothath

I should mention that you can own as many Wayfinders as you can legally purchase. Just track them on your ITS.

While the rules say the auras of augmented wayfinders cause each to not function while on you, if it's a handy haversack or extra-dimensional space that should caveat the magical interference as it now in a different dimension. So carry one out and the other in your handy haversack. Switch as needed. You'll only get the augment from the one out. Make sure to clear this with your GM first. If he balks, just leave the spare on your horse or familiar. I believe an Unseen Servant could carry one and swap them out for you. For non-casters, there are several vanities(porter) or other characters that can act as your spare pocket.

Polymorphing and absorbing the item then picking up another is a trickier topic that may or may not work and seems more impractical given the above example.


Bit of a necro but just wanted to clarify as this came up at a PFS table recently.

I have 2 ioun stones; 1 regular and 1 cracked. They are each inserted into regular Wayfinders. Only the regular stone is augmenting its wayfinder for the extra power. So I can carry both Wayfinders on my belt and benefit from both ioun stones and the augmented power of the regular stone.

Yes or no?

5/5 ⦵⦵ Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

Looks like a yes. You're not augmenting the cracked ioun stone, just holding it in the wayfinder to prevent it from orbiting.


Cracked and flawed ioun stones are often better to just jam into your skin somewhere under your armour. Pick a star constellation pattern if you'd like. Or if you probably needed to retry that check (not applicable in PFS I know) they are likely somewhere random on their body and have like 20 scars for each stone for all the failed attempts...

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

René P wrote:
Cracked and flawed ioun stones are often better to just jam into your skin somewhere under your armour. Pick a star constellation pattern if you'd like. Or if you probably needed to retry that check (not applicable in PFS I know) they are likely somewhere random on their body and have like 20 scars for each stone for all the failed attempts...

This is my plan for my Lissalla worshipping Slayer...

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Elbedor wrote:

Bit of a necro but just wanted to clarify as this came up at a PFS table recently.

I have 2 ioun stones; 1 regular and 1 cracked. They are each inserted into regular Wayfinders. Only the regular stone is augmenting its wayfinder for the extra power. So I can carry both Wayfinders on my belt and benefit from both ioun stones and the augmented power of the regular stone.

Yes or no?

Neither stone would function in this case as both are trying to resonate.

Shadow Lodge

Chris Mortika wrote:

Hey, Kyle:

We need an ex-Pathfinder opponent, who drops her own ioun-stone-enhanced Wayfinder into a PC's backpack as a combat maneuver so that both shut down.

OMG, yes. This needs to be a 7-11 in Season 7!

This invisible ex-Pathfinder of course needs to be part of a trio where her two allies happen to be kitsune enchanters/oracles who each come out of delay to cast Dominate Person as their next action with their misfortunes at the ready...

Before this all happens:

GM: So, Jim. Your bloodrager always uses power attack and reckless rage when he attacks, right?

Scarab Sages Venture-Agent, Washington—Ballard aka WiseWolfOfYoitsu

Unless specified by a chronicle, such as the Hematite one, Flawed and Cracked Ioun Stones have no resonance powers. Thus, it should not interfere with a normal Ioun Stone in a second Wayfinder.

Grand Lodge 4/5

LazarX wrote:
Elbedor wrote:

Bit of a necro but just wanted to clarify as this came up at a PFS table recently.

I have 2 ioun stones; 1 regular and 1 cracked. They are each inserted into regular Wayfinders. Only the regular stone is augmenting its wayfinder for the extra power. So I can carry both Wayfinders on my belt and benefit from both ioun stones and the augmented power of the regular stone.

Yes or no?

Neither stone would function in this case as both are trying to resonate.

Cracked stones do not resonate in PFS.

Lantern Lodge 5/5

John Compton wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:

Hey, Kyle:

We need an ex-Pathfinder opponent, who drops her own ioun-stone-enhanced Wayfinder into a PC's backpack as a combat maneuver so that both shut down.

Eeeevil…

To top it off, it could be one of those "jealous" ioun stones that slowly burns out the other one...Sepia Ellipsoid, IIRC.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Can you own two Wayfinders? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.