Do you get slots for spells you can't cast?


Rules Questions


If a spell eater bloodrager has not enough cha to cast a level of spells, does he get the slots so he can use them for spell eating?


Since Charisma just specifies 'maximum level of spell you can cast', yes.


yes, you don't lose slots because of low ability scores.


He can also put lower level spells into those slots. So if he can cast first level spells but not second level spells, he can fill his second level slots with first level spells.


Magic chapter in the CRB wrote:

Spell Slots: The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.

Bolding for emphasis.

Scarab Sages

They can also use those slots for metamagic of lower level spells. Except for heighten spell, metamagic does not actually increase spell level, so it's possible to use those higher level slots for metamagic even if you couldn't cast spells of that level.


Imbicatus wrote:
They can also use those slots for metamagic of lower level spells. Except for heighten spell, metamagic does not actually increase spell level, so it's possible to use those higher level slots for metamagic even if you couldn't cast spells of that level.

I do not think this is true. The general rule for metamagic feats is that the caster uses the original level or the modified level, whichever is more disadvantageous. That's why a maximized fireball cannot be put in a wand (this limitation is a disadvantage), but is saved against as a third level spell (because it's easier for opponents to avoid). Similarly, it requires a more difficult concentration check than an unmodified spell, but would be treated as a third level spell for being dispelled.

The inability to cast spells is certainly a disadvantage, and so it would apply.

Scarab Sages

Well, that's a FAQ with unintended consequences. I stand corrected. Per the FAQ you can't cast metamagic spells if you couldn't normally cast spells of the modified level. I'd still allow in home games though.


I once had a DM who's interpretation of bonus spells meant that a level 1 wizard with an INT of 20 had a usable level 5 spell slot. At level 5 I was casting maximized fireballs in my "6th level slot". It was broken as hell.


Imbicatus wrote:
Well, that's a FAQ with unintended consequences.

A FAQ with consequences, certainly. I don't believe they were unintended. Metamagic feats have always involved tradeoffs, instead of being straight-up power enhancements.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do you get slots for spells you can't cast? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.