Ghostly Fisticuffs


Rules Questions


If both me and my opponent are incorporeal, can we grapple each other?


From the universal monster rules:

Quote:

Incorporeal (Ex) An incorporeal creature has no physical body. It can be harmed only by other incorporeal creatures, magic weapons or creatures that strike as magic weapons, and spells, spell-like abilities, or supernatural abilities. It is immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy). Although it is not a magical attack, holy water can affect incorporeal undead. Corporeal spells and effects that do not cause damage only have a 50% chance of affecting an incorporeal creature. Force spells and effects, such as from a magic missile, affect an incorporeal creature normally.

An incorporeal creature has no natural armor bonus but has a deflection bonus equal to its Charisma bonus (always at least +1, even if the creature's Charisma score does not normally provide a bonus).

An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects, but must remain adjacent to the object's exterior, and so cannot pass entirely through an object whose space is larger than its own. It can sense the presence of creatures or objects within a square adjacent to its current location, but enemies have total concealment (50% miss chance) from an incorporeal creature that is inside an object. In order to see beyond the object it is in and attack normally, the incorporeal creature must emerge. An incorporeal creature inside an object has total cover, but when it attacks a creature outside the object it only has cover, so a creature outside with a readied action could strike at it as it attacks. An incorporeal creature cannot pass through a force effect.

An incorporeal creature's attacks pass through (ignore) natural armor, armor, and shields, although deflection bonuses and force effects (such as mage armor) work normally against it. Incorporeal creatures pass through and operate in water as easily as they do in air. Incorporeal creatures cannot fall or take falling damage. Incorporeal creatures cannot make trip or grapple attacks, nor can they be tripped or grappled. In fact, they cannot take any physical action that would move or manipulate an opponent or its equipment, nor are they subject to such actions. Incorporeal creatures have no weight and do not set off traps that are triggered by weight.

An incorporeal creature moves silently and cannot be heard with Perception checks if it doesn't wish to be. It has no Strength score, so its Dexterity modifier applies to its melee attacks, ranged attacks, and CMB. Nonvisual senses, such as scent and blindsight, are either ineffective or only partly effective with regard to incorporeal creatures. Incorporeal creatures have an innate sense of direction and can move at full speed even when they cannot see.

Format: incorporeal; Location: Defensive Abilities.

It doesn't say, "unless the opponent is also incorporeal" so they are flat out immune to grapple and cannot grapple. You could houserule otherwise if you wanted.


Yes, but only if the succubus is- sorry wrong thread, I'll let myself out.


It seems as Tarantula said no... unless you're a Tetori Monk with Inescapable Grasp and level 17.


If I make a suit of ghost touch full-plate and then try to grapple a ghost... does it work?

If my character is a ghost, can it wear ghost touch full-plate and then pretend to be Alphonse Elric?


themightyjello wrote:

If I make a suit of ghost touch full-plate and then try to grapple a ghost... does it work?

If my character is a ghost, can it wear ghost touch full-plate and then pretend to be Alphonse Elric?

RAW: No, incorporeal cannot be grappled. Full stop.

If your character is a ghost, sure it can carry around ghost touch armor.


Damnit Tarantula. There go my fantasies of having a supernatural Randy Savage join the Ghostbusters crew for some zany escapades.

...unless I make him a tetori monk...


Ghost touch net, they can't even brake out. Might be able to escape though.


Get a ghost touch lasso, possibly 2-3 people with them.

Drag the ghost over to your cleric.

Have the cleric cast Magic Circle against Evil.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRt0SG-hepU

Just remember not to cross the lassos.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ghostly Fisticuffs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.