UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune?


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge 2/5

Would a wand of Crafter's Fortune be applicable for day job checks for someone that would need to UMD it?

The Exchange

Yes. IIRC: You can apply Crafter's Fortune to Day Job checks if you have that spell active by the end of the session so you can roll a UMD check at the end of the session/get a friendly mage to cast it on you, then your Day Job has a +5. Hooray.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Anyone else have any input on this? I don't even see a reference to crafter's fortune in the FAQ so I'm not sure where to corroborate this.

Dark Archive 2/5

It would be a waste of gold to buy a wand for this reason.

Grand Lodge

claudekennilol wrote:
Would a wand of Crafter's Fortune be applicable for day job checks for someone that would need to UMD it?

As I understand it, the day job check represents a week of work, so if you're willing to spend six charges (presuming you make six successful UMD rolls) on that wand for that bonus, I'd be happy to give it to you.

Grand Lodge

Nebten wrote:
It would be a waste of gold to buy a wand for this reason.

It depends on the situation. If you're playing in PFS and the +5 can give you the best possible outcome. (150gp) then the wand will pay itself off at the end of 5 sessions. Only 1 casting required. I have seen a few alchemist in PFS use the spell on their check at the end of the night so it is legal.

If you seek a reference you can find it in the "Organized play Guide" it is a free download. It specifically calls the spell out as being one of the few way to increase your check.

OPG:
"Permanent bonuses from equipment, feats, racial
bonuses, and traits affect your Day Job check as they would
any check for the rolled skill, but temporary bonuses
such as those granted by spell effects, other than crafter’s
fortune, do not contribute, as the duration over which
the Day Job check is made is undefined and represents
a longer amount of time than a spell’s duration would
permit the bonus to remain. You may take 10 on a Day Job
check, but you may not take 20 nor can you aid another."

Also if you want to start earning gold of the wand from the start you can spend 2 prestige points and get a level one wand for free.

Also although you cannot take 10 on a UMD check there is no penalty for failure when activating a wand or other spell trigger item and may continue to attempt the check until you succeed assuming you are not pressured to do so. The DC is only 20 so just make sure you are training in it and you are good to go.

4/5

Richard McGuffin wrote:
Also although you cannot take 10 on a UMD check there is no penalty for failure when activating a wand or other spell trigger item and may continue to attempt the check until you succeed assuming you are not pressured to do so. The DC is only 20 so just make sure you are training in it and you are good to go.

That last bit isn't quite accurate.

Use Magical Device wrote:

Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

Special: You cannot take 10 with this skill. You can't aid another on Use Magic Device checks. Only the user of the item may attempt such a check.

Grand Lodge

GinoA wrote:
Richard McGuffin wrote:
Also although you cannot take 10 on a UMD check there is no penalty for failure when activating a wand or other spell trigger item and may continue to attempt the check until you succeed assuming you are not pressured to do so. The DC is only 20 so just make sure you are training in it and you are good to go.

That last bit isn't quite accurate.

Use Magical Device wrote:

Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

Special: You cannot take 10 with this skill. You can't aid another on Use Magic Device checks. Only the user of the item may attempt such a check.

Good point. I guess I missed that. Thanks.

::walks off to have friendly chat with player from the other weekend.::

Silver Crusade 5/5 5/55/5 **** Venture-Captain, Germany—Bavaria

The Guide does mention Crafter's Fortune, so it should work. A wand might be a nice way to convert PP into GP.

Dark Archive 4/5 5/5 ****

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

However, a wand of Crafter's Fortune will be at level 1. A day job check takes an indeterminate amount of time, so would take an indeterminate number of charges. I believe that this is how it has been ruled already, that you cannot use a wand (or potion, or scroll) for the day job check.

At least one other person would agree with the above assessment, but I thought there might have been a ruling on this (but cannot find it).

5/5 5/55/55/5

Silbeg wrote:

However, a wand of Crafter's Fortune will be at level 1. A day job check takes an indeterminate amount of time, so would take an indeterminate number of charges. I believe that this is how it has been ruled already, that you cannot use a wand (or potion, or scroll) for the day job check.

At least one other person would agree with the above assessment, but I thought there might have been a ruling on this (but cannot find it).

Don't listen to THAT moron! :)

Grand Lodge 2/5

Silbeg wrote:

However, a wand of Crafter's Fortune will be at level 1. A day job check takes an indeterminate amount of time, so would take an indeterminate number of charges. I believe that this is how it has been ruled already, that you cannot use a wand (or potion, or scroll) for the day job check.

At least one other person would agree with the above assessment, but I thought there might have been a ruling on this (but cannot find it).

That's what I thought, too, but couldn't find anything definitive.

Dark Archive 4/5 5/5 ****

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Silbeg wrote:

However, a wand of Crafter's Fortune will be at level 1. A day job check takes an indeterminate amount of time, so would take an indeterminate number of charges. I believe that this is how it has been ruled already, that you cannot use a wand (or potion, or scroll) for the day job check.

At least one other person would agree with the above assessment, but I thought there might have been a ruling on this (but cannot find it).

Don't listen to THAT moron! :)

Yeah, I can't believe I find myself agreeing with him :P

However, I will say that this is how I would rule it as a GM, and how I have played it as a player... you can only use the spell if you can cast it yourself (which it was why my Wizard got the spell as soon as he could!).

Lantern Lodge 3/5

@Silbeg,

Dido on that ruling. It is likely a GM would only allow Crafter's Fortune, if you can cast it yourself, each day.

The main problem about UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune is that there is no fix amount of time in-between scenarios.
Therefore, any number of charges from 1 charge to 1000+ charges could/would have to be spent.

I would strongly advise against trying to UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune, as it would fall heavily into part of table variation. The GM would have to decide how many charges qualifies for the time between scenarios and if your UMD is not high enough to succeed on a roll of 1, then the GM would have to have you roll for each "day" you use the wand.

Worse, if the GM don't allow you to use the wand, you would have bought a wand that is effectively useless... And NO GM likes to be told "But the last GM allowed it." =_=

Grand Lodge 2/5

Secane wrote:
I would strongly advise against trying to UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune, as it would fall heavily into part of table variation. The GM would have to decide how many charges qualifies for the time between scenarios and if your UMD is not high enough to succeed on a roll of 1, then the GM would have to have you roll for each "day" you use the wand.

No UMD is high enough to succeed on a wand on a roll of 1.

5/5

I agree it does not work, as the indeterminate time matters in a vague way. If you had an at-will item of crafter's fortune you'd be golden of course.

As for the value of it, most of the time at higher bonuses taking 10 is better than rolling. Here's the benefit at different (pre-CF) bonuses:
+15 : 50 -> 75 (+25gp)
+20 : 75 -> 100 (+25gp)
+25 : 100 -> 150 (+50gp)

So until you get a +25 bonus, you're only gaining 25 gp per day job. Since you only get 33 day jobs before retirement (excluding going slow advancement, which rarely works out for gold), you're barely eking out the value of the wand.

claudekennilol wrote:
No UMD is high enough to succeed on a wand on a roll of 1.

That is not correct. +19 is sufficient.

UMD wrote:
Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

Dark Archive 4/5 5/5 ****

claudekennilol wrote:
Secane wrote:
I would strongly advise against trying to UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune, as it would fall heavily into part of table variation. The GM would have to decide how many charges qualifies for the time between scenarios and if your UMD is not high enough to succeed on a roll of 1, then the GM would have to have you roll for each "day" you use the wand.
No UMD is high enough to succeed on a wand on a roll of 1.

The only thing a 1 does on UMD is cause the item to not work for that person for 24 hours, if that is a failed roll. UMD is a skill, and skills do not auto-fail on a 1, nor do they auto-succeed on a 20.

4/5

claudekennilol wrote:
Secane wrote:
I would strongly advise against trying to UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune, as it would fall heavily into part of table variation. The GM would have to decide how many charges qualifies for the time between scenarios and if your UMD is not high enough to succeed on a roll of 1, then the GM would have to have you roll for each "day" you use the wand.
No UMD is high enough to succeed on a wand on a roll of 1.

If you're talking about automatic successes and failures, the wording is very specific when it comes up. It's always written like:

"Automatic Misses and Hits: A natural 1 (the d20 comes up 1) on an attack roll is always a miss. A natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20) is always a hit. A natural 20 is also a threat—a possible critical hit (see the attack action)."

The same wording is used for saving throws and stabilizing while dying.

There is no such statement in the Skills chapter, so rolling a 1 or a 20 has no effect on a skill check other than adding a 1 or 20 to your bonus to create a result. No auto success or failure with skills. (Based on dice rolls. Having a bonus high enough leads to auto success, or a bonus too low can lead to auto failure.)

Grand Lodge 2/5

Except in the case with UMD and wands where a 1 is an automatic failure and you can't even attempt to activate that wand for 24 hours...

Grand Lodge 4/5

claudekennilol wrote:
Except in the case with UMD and wands where a 1 is an automatic failure and you can't even attempt to activate that wand for 24 hours...

Except as has been pointed out to you repeatedly in this thread already, this isn't the case. A 1 on a UMD check is not an automatic failure, and the cannot attempt again clause only applies if you roll a 1 and fail, not just roll a 1.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Jeff Merola wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
Except in the case with UMD and wands where a 1 is an automatic failure and you can't even attempt to activate that wand for 24 hours...
Except as has been pointed out to you repeatedly in this thread already, this isn't the case. A 1 on a UMD check is not an automatic failure, and the cannot attempt again clause only applies if you roll a 1 and fail, not just roll a 1.

Indeed, Majuba quoted the actual text from the CRB for UMD a few posts back, and it says that a 1 only locks you out of using a wand again for 24 hours, if -- and only if -- a 1 fails.

As a skill, there is no automatic failure or success.

Just like, if you have a -1 Perception (goblins, I am looking at you) and the Rogue has a Stealth skill of +10 or better, and takes 10 on sneaking, there is no possible way for you to notice that Rogue, as long as he follows the rules for being stealthy (cover and such).

Grand Lodge 2/5

Oh alright, I didn't know that line said you "if you fail".

5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

I agree that using a wand on a day job check wouldn't work.

You'd have to spend 1 charge per day, but the time used for the day job is not determined, so you would have to spend an undetermined amount of charges, which is not possible.

Either you can activate Crafter's Fortune each day without expending permanent resources, or you can't use it on the day job check.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / UMD a wand of Crafter's Fortune? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society