Orc weapon expertise and orc double axe.


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The orc double axe is the only weapon that can be used with the orc weapon expertise feat. It is a double weapon.
If I use the orc double weapon for two weapon fighting, does it count as one-handed or two-handed?

It's about this part of the orc weapon expertise feat:

defender wrote:
Gain a +1 shield bonus to your AC (or +2 if wielding a two-handed weapon).

It IS a two-handed weapon but used as a one-handed and a light weapon. So which applies?

At the end of my turn I should be able to switch it to two-handed mode (just changing my grip) to deal more damage with Aoos and to get the higher shield bonus. So it is not THAT important unless the GM rules changing grip twice per round is too much.


The double axe is a exotic two handed weapon. I think for the feat it is always a two handed weapon.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

It was worded to accommodate any possible new "Orc" weapons.

Currently, there is only one.

Scarab Sages

Perhaps there will be new Orc weapons in the upcoming Belkzen book, but I doubt it as its a setting book. Still, it's possible the one of the orc NPCs listed has a new shiney.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

My vote, is for Orc Shotput.


I think the feat was intended to be used with any weapon that is mentioned in the racial weapon familiarity, but the actual writing does not do this.

Dark Archive

blackbloodtroll wrote:
My vote, is for Orc Shotput.

Seconded.

Scarab Sages

thorin001 wrote:
I think the feat was intended to be used with any weapon that is mentioned in the racial weapon familiarity, but the actual writing does not do this.

That would make more sense.

Sczarni

Umbranus wrote:

The orc double axe is the only weapon that can be used with the orc weapon expertise feat. It is a double weapon.

If I use the orc double weapon for two weapon fighting, does it count as one-handed or two-handed?

It's about this part of the orc weapon expertise feat:

defender wrote:
Gain a +1 shield bonus to your AC (or +2 if wielding a two-handed weapon).

It IS a two-handed weapon but used as a one-handed and a light weapon. So which applies?

At the end of my turn I should be able to switch it to two-handed mode (just changing my grip) to deal more damage with Aoos and to get the higher shield bonus. So it is not THAT important unless the GM rules changing grip twice per round is too much.

I don't think you even need to shift your grip.

As for the AC question... Personally I'd rule you get the +2 shield bonus because the Orc double axe is always a two handed weapon; even when it's being treated as a 1 handed weapon & light weapon for purposes of TWF penalties, STR mod to damage, and Power Attack.

Expect table variance though - it can be read both ways.


Imbicatus wrote:
Perhaps there will be new Orc weapons in the upcoming Belkzen book

I hope so. Such a cool feat and no and only one bad weapon it works with... what a waste.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Orc weapon expertise and orc double axe. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.