(Hopefully) Simple Question About One Spell / Effect Having Multiple Overlapping Areas


Rules Questions


Do effects like Fire Storm that let you create multiple areas with the spell, can you overlap them and have the spell hit the same area multiple times?

Similarly, would something like the

Rapustin Must Die:
troops' Fusillade ability, that lets them create four lines that each require a save and do 6d10+6 damage
work the same way (whether the answer is yes or no that they can overlap), or would it be different? If it is different, why?


No.


As a general rule, an effect only influences a target once per use barring special rules or explanation. So even if you were to overlap areas the effect wouldn't hit repeatedly. You essentially are "wasting" the effect if you overlap them.
There are rules about spell stacking in the core book that might shed some light on it for you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / (Hopefully) Simple Question About One Spell / Effect Having Multiple Overlapping Areas All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.