"Soothsayer’s Raiment" & extra armor


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Might be a triggy thing but here goes.

The "Soothsayer’s Raiment" contains an oracle revelation, if said revelation were to be "Demonhide", would this count as the bonuses comming from the same source?(Aka both being granted by the armor and so be stackable)

Related question:
If I have a magic armor with energy resistance, and some other bonuses, and walked around with "Demonhide" would i then pick the higher armor bonus and maintain the energy resistance and other bonuses from the armor along with the DR from Demonhide?

Unrelated other question:
What are the most common ways at high levels to gain good energy resistance(Or do they usually drop it?)
I've been told to get energy resistance to all the elements or don't bother.


1. No. Soothsayer's Raiment explicitly lets you use it as a class feature, so it's coming from two different sources.

2. RAW never says anything on it one way or the other as a general rule. RAI, I would expand the restrictions from Bracers of Armor to all doubled-up armor bonuses.

Quote:
Bracers of armor and ordinary armor do not stack. If a creature receives a larger armor bonus from another source, the bracers of armor cease functioning and do not grant their armor bonus or their armor special abilities. If the bracers of armor grant a larger armor bonus, the other source of armor ceases functioning.

Certainly ask your GM before trying it.

3. There are some items that do it, and an armor enchantment is available. There's also a Ring that can make you immune. Some of the Eldritch Heritage options can do it, with Draconic giving the best I believe, though you'll cap at a resistance of 10 (and +4 Natural Armor) for 3 feats.
3a. That's campaign-dependent. Some campaigns you might wind up fighting lots of ice creatures, for example. If you can only get one resistance, Fire is usually the way to go for general use.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Soothsayer's Raiment *IS* armor, specifically +1 chainmail.

The Demonhide oracle mysteries from the Outer Rifts mystery grants an armor bonus.

Armor bonuses do not stack, regardless of source, unless one of those sources states otherwise.

Having read the mystery, I don't understand why Demonhide is not a NATURAL armor bonus (wich would stack with an armor bonus).


SlimGauge wrote:

Soothsayer's Raiment *IS* armor, specifically +1 chainmail.

The Demonhide oracle mysteries from the Outer Rifts mystery grants an armor bonus.

Armor bonuses do not stack, regardless of source, unless one of those sources states otherwise.

Having read the mystery, I don't understand why Demonhide is not a NATURAL armor bonus (wich would stack with an armor bonus).

Probably because it gets up to +12, which is way higher than any other Natural Armor bonus around. Most PCs would kill for half that as Natural Armor.

Scarab Sages

kestral287 wrote:
SlimGauge wrote:


Probably because it gets up to +12, which is way higher than any other Natural Armor bonus around. Most PCs would kill for half that as Natural Armor.

For some races +16 ^^' (if they spend the majority of their favorite class bonus on it)

and at lvl 20 could be on for ~ 22 hours a day. If it had stagged with the +6-7 armor from the chainmail it could have been gone up to + 22-23 AC with DR 5/cold iron.

Though the build i'm considering got a couple of good options for favorite class bonuses:

1) +4 AC and 2 hours of Demon Hide for a total of + 16 to AC and 4 SP/HP
2) +2 Con and 4 sp/hp
3) +3 Int and 2 sp/hp
4) +1 Con and +2 Int(mostly thinking of this or option 1)

Scarab Sages

What do you guys think about "SCARAB BREASTPLATE" and "Demonhide" then?

Lets say I transform the breastplate to a swarm, then activate the demonhide.
Would this cancel the swarm, make the swam unable to return/drop the breastplate, or something else?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

While the Scarab Breastplace is not active, it's just a +3 breastplate made of an exotic material. Such a breastplate provides an armor bonus. Armor bonuses do not stack.

Once you activate the SB, you're not actually wearing it (except for purposes of command, see the item description). During this time, you could activate demonhide and get a benefit from it, since you're not getting any from the breastplate.

The swarm would not be inhibited in any way. They could even return to breastplate form. However, the armor bonuses would still not stack, you'd simply use the better.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Soothsayer’s Raiment" & extra armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.