*Spoiler* Question about Queen Ileosa


Curse of the Crimson Throne

Liberty's Edge

I noticed that it says that the Queen's regeneration doesn't work against Serithtial, but in the Crown of Fang's description it says that only Serithial, a holy avenger, or a paladin's smite can do lethal damage to her. Would that mean that all other damage is considered non-lethal?

Also I was curious if people still used Serithial's weapon shifting abilities from the book. I noticed that they left that part out of the newer artifacts book.


I think this change was made to make the Crown of Fangs setting neutral.

Think about it. If you decided to use the Crown of Fangs in your home game, and had Paizo not made the change to the artifact, any wearer would be invulnerable if you didn't also bring Serithtial along with it.

Now the real question is what description are you going to use in the Curse of the Crimson Throne? I'm going to stick with the old description and only allow Serithtial do the deed.


I've made it so that any damage from Serithtial doesn't regenerate, and only Serithtial's damage can take Ileosa to fully lethal. Other weapons can do lethal damage, but they can't finish her off.

Liberty's Edge

Puna'chong wrote:
I've made it so that any damage from Serithtial doesn't regenerate, and only Serithtial's damage can take Ileosa to fully lethal. Other weapons can do lethal damage, but they can't finish her off.

That's what I was thinking. Everyone else can help but you would need Serithial to finish her. The group lacks a paladin so whether or not the smite or holy avenger will kill her doesn't come in to play. I was just unclear if anyone else could hurt her or if other weapons do non-lethal damage.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Regen no longer causes damage to differentiate between lethal and nonlethal. Now hitting something with the thing that overcomes the regeneration simply turns it off for 1 round. All other damage is still lethal, the creature just won't die if its regeneration is active.


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Christopher is correct, the text about lethal damage in the Crown of Fangs description in Artifacts & Legends is an artifact of the wording from the Adventure Path module, referring to the regeneration rule of D&D v.3.5. Worded correctly for the Pathfinder PRG, the text should read:

Artifacts & Legends wrote:
[...] Only the blade Serithtial (see page 61), a holy avenger, or a paladin’s smite evil ability can suppress the wearer's regeneration. [...]

Liberty's Edge

Sounds legit to me. Thanks guys.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Curse of the Crimson Throne / *Spoiler* Question about Queen Ileosa All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Curse of the Crimson Throne