Arcane Pool vs. Arcane reservior


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

So is there a reason I can't use feats for these interchangeably? I don't understand the need to reinvent the wheel and call it a 2 dimensional spheroid.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
lastknightleft wrote:
So is there a reason I can't use feats for these interchangeably? I don't understand the need to reinvent the wheel and call it a 2 dimensional spheroid.

How about the fact that there is no rules support for such use? Unless you're playing PFS, the person you need to ask is your home GM.


The fundamental reason is because they are two different things that happen to have a similar name. In theory, yeah, you could probably combine Extra Arcane Pool, Extra Panache, Extra Grit, Extra Arcane Reservoir (if/when it exists), and Extra Chicken Dinners into the same "You get +2 of whichever of these you have". But an Arcane Pool point is no closer to an Arcane Reservoir point than a Panache point is.

Sovereign Court

really a pool of points used to modify your spells as you cast them. This seems to me to be calling a bloodragers power Extreme Anger and saying whelp now we need to create a bunch of feats and traits to modify extreme anger. To bad there isn't something thematically similar that we could have pulled from.

I guess then let me rephrase my statement, what kind of balance issues might a game encounter if a DM allowed the feats that modify arcane pool modify arcane reservoir.


The Arcane Pool is not used to modify spells as you cast them. It is used to fuel Magus special abilities and nothing else; none of which modify spells (there ARE Magus abilities that modify spells, but none of them use the Arcane Pool). Hence the point: the Arcane Pool and Arcane Reservoir have basically nothing in common save the name. Contrast to the Bloodrager and Barbarian, who use the same core mechanism of Raging, and as such both can use the Extra Rage feat. There is no difference between their Rages, so there's no reason for the feats to not cross-apply.

All of that said, to my knowledge there is exactly one feat that modifies the Arcane Pool; Extra Arcane Pool. Creating an Extra Arcane Reservoir feat is unlikely to break anything.

We also have one magic item that modifies the Arcane Pool (Ring of Arcane Mastery) and one trait (Arcane Revitalization). The latter should most definitely not be applied to the Arcane Reservoir, because it makes less than no sense to do so and would be fairly useless-- if an Arcanist is regularly landing critical hits I am going to be very confused as to what he's doing. The magic item would need to be heavily reworked, because its abilities are very much Magus based-- it calls out two Magus arcanas by name. Could it be rebuilt for the Arcanist? Yeah, if you really wanted to. Would it make sense for an Arcanist to use it without that rework? Only if your Arcanist is suicidal enough to want to use crappy touch attacks or is willing to ignore the special abilities of the ring (admittedly the latter is not a terrible idea even for a Magus).

So. Based on the current grand total of one feat for the Arcane Pool? You're fine, go make Extra Arcane Reservoir and move on. But based on all available ways to make modifications to the Arcane Pool? No. Some things would need to be restructured, and some basically can't work.


kestral287 wrote:
The fundamental reason is because they are two different things that happen to have a similar name. In theory, yeah, you could probably combine Extra Arcane Pool, Extra Panache, Extra Grit, Extra Arcane Reservoir (if/when it exists), and Extra Chicken Dinners into the same "You get +2 of whichever of these you have". But an Arcane Pool point is no closer to an Arcane Reservoir point than a Panache point is.

Wish Granted.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Pool vs. Arcane reservior All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.