Swashbuckler (ACG) Bonus Feats


Rules Questions


By RAW it says this:

Quote:

Bonus Feats:

At 4th level and every 4 levels thereafter,
a swashbuckler gains a bonus feat in addition to those
gained from normal advancement.

These bonus feats
must be selected from those listed as combat feats.

Swashbuckler levels are considered fighter levels for the
purpose of meeting combat feat prerequisites.

In addition, upon reaching 4th level and every 4
levels thereafter, a swashbuckler can choose to learn a
new bonus feat in place of a bonus feat she has already
learned. In effect, the swashbuckler loses the bonus feat
in exchange for the new one. The old feat cannot be one
that was used as a prerequisite for another feat, prestige
class, or other ability.

A swashbuckler can only change
one feat at any given level, and must choose whether or
not to swap the feat at the time she gains a new bonus
feat for the level.

So does the Swashbuckler levels qualify as Fighter levels for purpose of gaining feats through this Bonus Feats feature only? Or does it affect natural feat progression too?

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Just combat feat prerequisites (however you gain them).

Liberty's Edge

In reference to the above description from the Swashbuckler (ACG) class and bonus feats, I have the following question concerning bonus feats.

From the Corsair Archetype:
"Bonus Feats: In addition to combat feats, a daring infiltrator's bonus feats at 2nd, 10th, and 18th level can come from the following list: "

This would imply that either a typo was made in the class description in the ACG as well as the SRD. I recall reading, although I don't recall the exact wording that like fighters, there is a feat at each level. But, acording to the ACG, there isn't a feat, bonus or otherwise, at 2nd, 6th, 10th, 14th or 18th levels

The description for Corsair implies that ther are indeed bonus feats for at least 2nd, 10th, and 18th levels... so ARE there bonus feats at the skipped levels?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Here's good advice for your whole life: first, assume human error.

Liberty's Edge

Hmmm, not sure that really answers the question, but I'll agree that it's good advice. Thanks.


There are not bonus feats at those levels, which we know from reading the class, so somebody screwed up-- human error.


My argument on daring infiltrator is that they are replacing Charmed Life with a bonus to bluff a major downgrade IMO

but it mentions bonus feats at the levels you would normally get uses of charmed life

i think it was meant to give the player bonus feats at those levels in addition to the bonus to bluff in place of charmed life


I will restate my previous advice.


Secret Wizard wrote:
I will restate my previous advice.

#1 this would still be human error because it wasnt clearly stated in this direction either

but why does it always have to be (not just you but all over the place on these forums) a huge case of "we can't have nice things" and the "human error" always is against the player not for


Because it isn't unheard of that there might be an archetype that trades something you like (Charmed Life) for something you don't, and you wish there was some compensation for that.

It's not the case of Slashing Grace where the lack of light weapons being mentioned seems like an obvious flub.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbuckler (ACG) Bonus Feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.