Important question about the school understanding exploit

Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Can an arcanist select a focused school or an elemental school with the school understanding exploit? can an arcanist take the school understanding or bloodline development exploit more than once?

I can't see anything preventing it, but with the focused school (and I haven't gone through all of the focused schools so this may not apply) if you choose one that doesn't replace the first level ability it won't do anything.

arcane exploits wrote:
By bending and sometimes even breaking the rules of magic, the arcanist learns to exploit gaps and exceptions in the laws of magic. Some of these exploits allow her to break down various forms of magic, adding their essence to her arcane reservoir. At 1st level and every 2 levels thereafter, the arcanist learns a new arcane exploit selected from the following list. An arcanist exploit cannot be selected more than once. Once an arcanist exploit has been selected, it cannot be changed.

Arcanist Exploits can only be taken once (and cannot be replaced)

Shadow Lodge

if the focused school replaces the 1st level 3+int mod/day ability with another 3+int mod ability an arcanist can take it.

If it replaces only the first level constant ability (such as evocation schools enhanced spells, etc.) or only the 8th lvl ability an arcanist can't take it.

I looked at the book and it said it can be taken and the arcanist gains the 3+int mod ability of the school (and by spending 1 resivoir point, the arcanist gains the 1st level constant ability and treats the arcanist's level as the wizard level) meaning that an arcanist can select a focus school!!!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Important question about the school understanding exploit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.