Raging blood - bloodline power always on?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The feat states that you gain a 1st level bloodrager bloodline power and that you can enter a lesser bloodrage in addition to that.
That reads as if the bloodline power is always on. Not only during the lesser bloodrage. Is that correct?

Raging Blood wrote:


Your blood boils with latent energy, filling you with an intense fury.

Prerequisite(s): Eldritch Heritage or sorcerer bloodline class feature.

Benefit: You gain the 1st-level bloodrager bloodline power for your bloodline. In addition, you gain the ability to enter a state similar to (but less powerful than) a bloodrager's bloodrage. You can enter this lesser bloodrage twice per day, for up to 4 rounds. During this lesser bloodrage, you gain a +2 morale bonus to Strength and Constitution, and no morale bonus on Will saving throws. Otherwise, this benefit is the same as the bloodrage class feature.

If you have more than one bloodline, you choose the bloodline this applies to upon taking the feat.


it does use the words "in addition", which i did not catch the first time. thats interesting.


That is my main point of confusion. Because in addition can be read in a way that both abilities are not directly tied. Which would lead to the bloodline power being constant.


If you gain the a bloodrager bloodline power without bloodrage, it is unusable. The in addition is just giving you a nerfed means of accessing the bloodrager power without multiclassing.


Calth wrote:
If you gain the a bloodrager bloodline power without bloodrage, it is unusable. The in addition is just giving you a nerfed means of accessing the bloodrager power without multiclassing.

Where do you read that? One could interpret it that way, but as written that is not the case.


It functions the same as the bloodrage class feature. To the best of my knowledge, all the powers include something like "while bloodraging" in order to use them. It doesn't grant a special exception to that, so you need to bloodrage to use them, in this case, lesser bloodrage.


I'm reviving this thread because I'm curious about the wording of this feat as well. So for example, some bloodrage powers include the necessity to bloodrage in their description:

Abyssal Claws (Su) wrote:
At 1st level, you grow claws while bloodraging. These claws are treated as natural weapons, allowing you to make two claw attacks as a full attack, using your full base attack bonus. These attacks deal 1d6 points of damage each (1d4 if you are Small) plus your Strength modifier. At 4th level, these claws are considered magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage resistance. At 8th level, the damage increases to 1d8 points (1d6 if you are Small). At 12th level, these claws become flaming weapons, which deal an additional 1d6 points of fire damage on a hit.

While other abilities don't mention it in their description:

Celestial Angelic Attacks (Su) wrote:
At 1st level, your melee attacks are considered good-aligned weapons for the purpose of bypassing damage reduction. Furthermore, when you deal damage with a melee attack to an evil outsider, you deal an additional 1d6 points of damage. This additional damage stacks with effects such as align weapon and those granted by a weapon with the holy weapon special ability.

Would the feat make the second example permanent since it doesn't specifically ask for the character to be bloodraging?


Look at page 16-17 of Advanced Class Guide:

Bloodrager Bloodlines
When a bloodrager enters a bloodrage, he often takes on a physical transformation influenced by his bloodline and powered by the magic that roils within him. Unless otherwise specified, he gains the effects of his bloodline powers only while in a bloodrage; once the bloodrage ends, all powers from his bloodline immediately cease, and any physical changes the bloodrager underwent revert, restoring him to normal.


-Grijm- wrote:

Look at page 16-17 of Advanced Class Guide:

Bloodrager Bloodlines
When a bloodrager enters a bloodrage, he often takes on a physical transformation influenced by his bloodline and powered by the magic that roils within him. Unless otherwise specified, he gains the effects of his bloodline powers only while in a bloodrage; once the bloodrage ends, all powers from his bloodline immediately cease, and any physical changes the bloodrager underwent revert, restoring him to normal.

As a counterpoint I guess I would argue that this restriction specifically says "When a bloodrager..." instead of "When a character with a bloodrager bloodline...". So RAW it seems that this tidbit only applies to people with Bloodrager levels. RAI you're probably right that they didn't intend for people to gain permanent benefits from this feat, but RAW the lack of this specification in the Celestial bloodline power makes its effects permanent.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
-Grijm- wrote:
Unless otherwise specified...

I saw that too but haven't found a power that is 'otherwise specified' so I wasn't sure if there are any permanent bloodline or bloodrager powers. Is there any that are 'otherwise specified' or was that just to make room for future use?

(Edit) - I guess there's some 20th level bloodline powers like elemental body that are always on

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Raging blood - bloodline power always on? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.