Does Ricochet Shot (the spell) apply to bows? I see no reason that it wouldn't, because to me bows count as 'projectile weapons', but I just want to be sure there's not some textual reading where they do not count as such.
If so, then question two:
Let's say we have a +1, shock composite longbow STR + 2, and the bowman has cast gravity bow and is using vital strike when firing arrows. Leaving aside the idea of it being less-than-optimal to not be firing multiple arrows, I just want to see if I'm understanding the rules right for how the damage would play out:
Damage of ordinary shot, gravity bow, vital strike: 2d6 base + 2d6 vital strike + 1d6 shock + 1 magic weapon + 2 str = 5d6 + 3.
Damage of the arrow from Ricochet Shot, which "does not gain the benefit from any enhancement bonuses or magic qualities on the projectile":
1d8 base + 1d8 vital strike + 2 = 2d8 + 2
Is that correct? You lose all of those when using ricochet shot-- the bow's enhancement, the benefit of gravity bow, and shock?
...and a third question: interplay with Arrow Eruption.
Arrow Eruption DOES let you keep the benefit of the bow, and any feats that modified the original killing attack, but not the spell, so:
1d8 base + 1d8 vital strike + 1d6 shock + 1 magic weapon + 2 = 2d8 + 1d6 + 3 ?
And would it make a difference to your damage if the killing arrow that enables you to cast Arrow Eruption was an arrow from your Ricochet Shot, and not the 'original' one you had fired?