If a player fails an bane check, do the other players in the same location take damage also?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I was wondering, if the active player fails a check against a bane (monster). Do the others in the same location take the same amount of damage or they roll their die and if they succeed they do not receive damage but the monster is still undefeated.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Not unless the bane in question says that's what happens.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Only the active player is the one encountering the bane, so (typically) only that character will take damage. Exceptions to this rule will specifically call out something different. For instance, in Rise of the Runelords, monsters with the Giant trait will typically damage all characters at the same location.

Regardless, other characters don't interact with the bane (again, unless the bane specifies otherwise).


First World Bard wrote:
Regardless, other characters don't interact with the bane (again, unless the bane specifies otherwise).

Another character can interact with the bane if there are multiple checks to defeat, or acquire for boons. If there 2+ sequential checks ("THEN"), the character encountering it must attempt at least 1, but the other check can be attempted by someone else.


thanks alot! :D


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Flat the Impaler wrote:
First World Bard wrote:
Regardless, other characters don't interact with the bane (again, unless the bane specifies otherwise).
Another character can interact with the bane if there are multiple checks to defeat, or acquire for boons. If there 2+ sequential checks ("THEN"), the character encountering it must attempt at least 1, but the other check can be attempted by someone else.

I thought about that caveat, but was afraid it would muddle things if I put it in the same post. Thanks for mentioning that separately!


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Ok. So I'll muddle a bit too...

You take damage for failing a check to defeat a monster. It is even part of the check sequence.

"Attempting a Check wrote:


Determine which die you’re using.
Determine the difficulty.
Play cards and use powers that affect the check (optional).
Assemble your dice.
Attempt the roll.
Take damage if you fail a check to defeat a monster.

The character that takes damage is the character that failed the check. And the character that failed the check is the character that attempted the check. So if the bane is a monster, if you character attempts the check and fails, your character takes the damage.

In that sense, it doesn't matter who encountered it, at least not directly. Yes, if the monster has only 1 check to defeat, then who encountered it matters because the character that encountered it has to be the one to attempt the check. But the real reason you take the damage is because you attempted the check.

As others have said, some monsters will have powers that apply the damage to everyone. But that is the exception, not the rule.

Good luck on your adventure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / If a player fails an bane check, do the other players in the same location take damage also? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion