could a fighter with the mutation warrior template and a Vestigial arm wield a great sword use a shield?


Rules Questions

51 to 60 of 60 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

theeeen what can you do with it?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Pendagast wrote:

theeeen what can you do with it?

RAW?

Anything that you can do with a normal arm, as long as it does not grant an additional attack.

It doesn't lessen your base number of attacks, reduce your Int/Wis/Cha to 1, or force you to make saves every round not to insert your fist into your arse.

So, use a shield, retrieve an item, load a gun, or whatever.


It also lets you threaten with a reach weapon and normal range by wielding two different weapons.
I think the "biggest" benefit would be for dual pistols or hand crossbows. Letting you reload them and get more shots off.
Hold things so as to have them on hand and not use a move action to retrieve them.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Chess Pwn wrote:

It also lets you threaten with a reach weapon and normal range by wielding two different weapons.

Well, you can do that without extra arms, already.

Dark Archive

I was wondering how this works if anyone would explain it to me, and you can dual wield long bows as longs as you take a level in the kasatha ranger archetype from people of the stars(in reference to an earlier post I saw)


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Pendagast wrote:

theeeen what can you do with it?

RAW?

Anything that you can do with a normal arm, as long as it does not grant an additional attack.

It doesn't lessen your base number of attacks, reduce your Int/Wis/Cha to 1, or force you to make saves every round not to insert your fist into your arse.

So, use a shield, retrieve an item, load a gun, or whatever.

wait i thought thats what the OP wanted to do…

USE the extra arm to wield a shield.

Hes not getting extra attacks, he's using his two normal arms for the great sword and the vestigial to wield a shield… which gives him nothing more than say an animated shield would have.


Chess Pwn wrote:

It also lets you threaten with a reach weapon and normal range by wielding two different weapons.

I think the "biggest" benefit would be for dual pistols or hand crossbows. Letting you reload them and get more shots off.
Hold things so as to have them on hand and not use a move action to retrieve them.

''

Yea I had the idea for a gunslinger with extra arms like stryker from the 90s comics ( I used to get him confused with cable all the time, thinking it was cable who had the extra arms)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Pendagast wrote:

wait i thought thats what the OP wanted to do…

USE the extra arm to wield a shield.

Hes not getting extra attacks, he's using his two normal arms for the great sword and the vestigial to wield a shield… which gives him nothing more than say an animated shield would have.

They can do that.

Grand Lodge

The best I've seen someone use this is combining alchemist and titan mauler barbarian. Get four arms and equip them as follows:

Arm 1: greatsword
Arm 2: lucerne hammer
Arm 3: composite longbow and buckler
Arm 4: empty

The trick is: Don't try to do two weapon fighting. Just use whatever weapon is right at the time. Spend all those feats on stuff like combat reflexes and ranged combat instead.

You now have great melee, threaten with reach, can fire arrows without switching or dropping weapons, enjoy a shield bonus as long as you're not shooting arrows, and have an arm free to retrieve items, load your bow, throw bombs, etc. You can deal slashing, piercing, or bludgeoning damage as needed.

Oh, and one more thing: mutagen and rage bonuses stack. At 5th level, you could rock this build with a +8 strength bonus on demand.

Sovereign Court

Vestigial Arm wrote:
The arm does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round, though the arm can wield a weapon and make attacks as part of the alchemist’s attack routine (using two-weapon fighting).

I am not sure I am getting how this line works. Do you take TWF penalties any round you use the Vestigial Arm to attack?

51 to 60 of 60 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / could a fighter with the mutation warrior template and a Vestigial arm wield a great sword use a shield? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.