Can a magus gain the passive benefits of a Swashbucker Deed from Arcane Deed?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, I have been seeing a lot of people on the boards talking about how Arcane Deed can give a Magus a huge damage boost by picking up Precise Strike. However, part of the wording of Arcane Deed makes me wonder if it really works that way.

Arcane Deed wrote:

Arcane Deed (Ex): When a magus takes this arcana, he can

pick any one deed from the swashbuckler class feature as long as that deed can be used by a swashbuckler of his magus level. The magus can use that deed by using points from his arcane pool as the panache points required for that deed. A magus can take this arcana multiple times, each time gaining a new deed. The magus must have the flamboyant arcana (see below) to select this arcana.

Arcane Deed doesn't say anything about gaining the passive effects of a Swashbucker Deed. It doesn't even say that the Magus really gains the dead. All it says is that you can use a point from your arcane pool in place of a panache point to use the deed. Maybe this was intended to place a limit on what deeds a magus could really benefit from?

Yea, I may just be reading into the rules too much, but I figured I should draw attention to this to see if it needs to be put in the FAQ.

EDIT: I just thought of something else. There is nothing in either Arcane Deed or Flamboyant Arcana that gives the Magus a swashbuckler level when using the deeds. So presice strike would give the magus a +0 damage bonus as written anyway....

Another Edit: Just so you know, I am asking this partly because I play in PFS. We often have to follow the rules as written regardless of the intent until the FAQ says otherwise. Because of that, the writting is a bit problematic here.

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Obviously the Magus treats his Magus Level as his swashbuckler level, and everything else works exactly the same.

If you get a Passive Deed, it works as long as you have the required amount of Arcane "Panache" Points in your pool.

This is not a FAQ-worthy question, it is obvious.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah almost all Deeds reference 'the swashbuckler' not 'the magus' which some might argue means none of them work. This is obviously the wrong interpretation. I know we all bow at the altar of RAW, but let us not read as if we were mentally deficient rhesus monkeys, because we are not. Use the magus level as the swashbuckler level until they add a single errata line to make it completely RAW legal.

Regards,
DRS


DRS3 wrote:

Yeah almost all Deeds reference 'the swashbuckler' not 'the magus' which some might argue means none of them work. This is obviously the wrong interpretation. I know we all bow at the altar of RAW, but let us not read as if we were mentally deficient rhesus monkeys, because we are not. Use the magus level as the swashbuckler level until they add a single errata line to make it completely RAW legal.

Regards,
DRS

I'd preffer it if you don't say it in an insulting way. The problem is that I play in PFS and I have to follow the rules RAW as written. Not as intended.

This might be obvious enough that we will be able to get away with it, but then again we might not. I could run into GMs that say that I don't get my damage bonus, and I'll have a wasted Arcana choice because of it.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It's obvious they should have clarified it and I hope it gets FAQ'd. Until then, yes, really bad GMs might be a total jerk to you in PFS - sorry about that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Look, it's really simple. You can use arcane points as the panache required for the deed. Do you have at least 1 arcane point? Then you're considered to have 1 panache for the purpose of precise strike. Nothing says you have to spend panache as part of the deed.

And if arcane deed doesn't give you a swashbuckler level for the purpose of the deed, guess what? Every single deed is entirely useless, because they all reference 'the swashbuckler.' The intent is obvious.


Matrix Dragon wrote:
DRS3 wrote:

Yeah almost all Deeds reference 'the swashbuckler' not 'the magus' which some might argue means none of them work. This is obviously the wrong interpretation. I know we all bow at the altar of RAW, but let us not read as if we were mentally deficient rhesus monkeys, because we are not. Use the magus level as the swashbuckler level until they add a single errata line to make it completely RAW legal.

Regards,
DRS

I'd preffer it if you don't say it in an insulting way. The problem is that I play in PFS and I have to follow the rules RAW as written. Not as intended.

This might be obvious enough that we will be able to get away with it, but then again we might not. I could run into GMs that say that I don't get my damage bonus, and I'll have a wasted Arcana choice because of it.

You know what? If a GM at a PFS event says 'no' to it feel free to reference my post if you feel it was insulting. It wasn't intended as such, but I understand written words can't provide inflection clues to make that obvious. I was going for a sense of the ridiculous.

This hyper literal RAW worship gets on my nerves. It's like slashing someone's tires and then when you are arrested you argue innocence on the basis that the knife did the slashing. I believe in that case you are going to be found guilty.

Regards,
DRS


DRS3 wrote:
Matrix Dragon wrote:
DRS3 wrote:

Yeah almost all Deeds reference 'the swashbuckler' not 'the magus' which some might argue means none of them work. This is obviously the wrong interpretation. I know we all bow at the altar of RAW, but let us not read as if we were mentally deficient rhesus monkeys, because we are not. Use the magus level as the swashbuckler level until they add a single errata line to make it completely RAW legal.

Regards,
DRS

I'd preffer it if you don't say it in an insulting way. The problem is that I play in PFS and I have to follow the rules RAW as written. Not as intended.

This might be obvious enough that we will be able to get away with it, but then again we might not. I could run into GMs that say that I don't get my damage bonus, and I'll have a wasted Arcana choice because of it.

You know what? If a GM at a PFS event says 'no' to it feel free to reference my post if you feel it was insulting. It wasn't intended as such, but I understand written words can't provide inflection clues to make that obvious. I was going for a sense of the ridiculous.

This hyper literal RAW worship gets on my nerves. It's like slashing someone's tires and then when you are arrested you argue innocence on the basis that the knife did the slashing. I believe in that case you are going to be found guilty.

Regards,
DRS

Sorry, I guess I took it the wrong way XD

In any case, I guess part of the reason why I was asking this question (aside from PFS problems) because I was trying figure out if Paizo really intended to give classes like the magus such a random and easy to get damage boost, or if something in the wording meant that they didn't intend it that way. Ah well, I guess they would have to do some darastic FAQing and Erata to take it back now, slight vagueness or not.

Lantern Lodge

To change the subject to a semi-related question:

Could Arcane Deed allow a magus to take an Archetype's deeds, or just the vanilla Swashbuckler? An Inspired Blade is still a swashbuckler, after all. Inspired Strike could be great for a Magus (auto threaten on a crit?), even though it requires a rapier (and thus doesn't give anything nice to that army of Dervish Dancers).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a magus gain the passive benefits of a Swashbucker Deed from Arcane Deed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.