Required crafter's caster level for magic items


Rules Questions


Hi,
we have a little dispute in our group regarding some craft issues.
The underlying question:
Can 8th lvl caster craft Dusty Rose Prism?

Rules question:
Can crafter bypass caster level requirement (the one which is written in item description as requirement) by increasing craft DC by 5?

If caster cannot could you please show in the rules (or FAQ, errata, etc.) where it is written that such caster lvl requirement is mandatory requirement as it is for spells for potions.

The way how I see it:
1)There are 2 types of requirements: mandatory and nonmandatory
2)Mandatory are:feat and spells for potions and wands
3)Non-mandatory are all other requirements
4)Non-mandatory requirements can be ignored by increasing DC


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can ignore the caster level requirement.

FAQ for Magic. Item Creation

The only required things you need are the feat and the spell for spell-trigger or spell completion items.


Seriously, if, example, pure wizard has 9 level, he can craft an ioun stone, even if there is requirement "Special: creator must be 12th level"? He can bypass it by just adding +5 DC to craft item?


As far as I know, yeah.


Yeah its a very crappy rule. Since PFS doesnt allow crafting and this is a home group, a GM is well in their rights to forgo this rule and have it where u cannot bypass requirements at all. Usually GMs dont allow said rule so it can follow WPL.

But yes it is allowed sadly. Its there so magic items can easiely be crafted.


Ashkar wrote:
Seriously, if, example, pure wizard has 9 level, he can craft an ioun stone, even if there is requirement "Special: creator must be 12th level"? He can bypass it by just adding +5 DC to craft item?

By RAW/RAI, then absolutely. For groups that have plenty of time for crafting and who also recieve WBL amount of treasure, the crafting feats are very good, so you might want to homebrew it a little.


Crafting generally skews WBL anyways as it allows Crafters to essentially get double the value for their WBL(and the party, if the crafter helps out the party with his crafting). You kind of have to be careful with it or your powerlevel skyrockets out of proportion.


Yeah, I certainly will houserule it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Required crafter's caster level for magic items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.