A Question Regarding The Shaman and the Witch


Rules Questions


I must admit I really do endorse pretty much everything in the new book. I think it is totally awesome.

But I have some sort of a feeling about the Shaman - that his hexes (not the ones bound to spirits) simply outshines those of the witch.
I've notice he could take any witch hex, I was wondering if it was vice-versa?

I didn't see anyone mention it yet, and I failed to notice something of the sort in the book.

Even if doesn't exist, I think I might houserule it in, what do you guys think?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I haven't gotten to the point of reading the final shaman thoroughly, but I was worried about this during the second playtest. The witch is probably my favorite 9th level caster, and if it is true that the shaman outshines the witch, I don't think it would be impractical to let them take hexes from one another.


Snallygaster wrote:
I haven't gotten to the point of reading the final shaman thoroughly, but I was worried about this during the second playtest. The witch is probably my favorite 9th level caster, and if it is true that the shaman outshines the witch, I don't think it would be impractical to let them take hexes from one another.

My point exactly.

The Shaman can select any Witch Hex, but he does not gain access to Major and Grand hexes (If I understood correctly).

Even though, he has access to his Spirit hexes, which offer something of the sort.
My point being, I think the Shaman and the Witch are interchangeable and are basically two different aspects of the same class, and I really do enjoy it. (The Shaman is basically my favorite new class, fluff-wise)

I just think that as the Shaman can select any Witch hex he wants, the Witch should be able to choose the hexes the Shaman can pick and that are not bound to a Spirit. (A Shaman has a lot of hexes not tied to Spirits, and they are generally good and very flavorable.)


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

My understanding is that a shaman can only pick one witch hex because unless noted otherwise, a hex may only be picked once.


Quote:
A shaman can select from any of the following hexes or from any of the hexes listed in the description of her chosen spirit. A shaman cannot select a hex more than once unless noted otherwise.

Listed under this is....

Quote:
Witch Hex: The shaman selects any one hex normally available through the witch’s hex class feature. She treats her shaman level as her witch level when determining the powers and abilities of the hex. She uses her Wisdom modifier in place of her Intelligence modifier for the hex. She cannot select major hexes or grand hexes using this ability. The shaman cannot select a witch hex that has the same name as a shaman hex.

Looks to me like the Shaman can only take one witch hex.


Splendor wrote:
Quote:
A shaman can select from any of the following hexes or from any of the hexes listed in the description of her chosen spirit. A shaman cannot select a hex more than once unless noted otherwise.

Listed under this is....

Quote:
Witch Hex: The shaman selects any one hex normally available through the witch’s hex class feature. She treats her shaman level as her witch level when determining the powers and abilities of the hex. She uses her Wisdom modifier in place of her Intelligence modifier for the hex. She cannot select major hexes or grand hexes using this ability. The shaman cannot select a witch hex that has the same name as a shaman hex.
Looks to me like the Shaman can only take one witch hex.

Well, according to logic he already gets most of the hexes a Witch get anyways, that's what I meant.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Question Regarding The Shaman and the Witch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.