Guide to PACG Organized Play - questions thread


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

251 to 285 of 285 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Venture-Lieutenant, Online—ACG aka Hawkmoon269

Kumarei wrote:

Haven't found an answer for this yet, although I'm guessing someone has asked it at some point. If you're playing at home, can you GM and play in an OP scenario? (I'm asking for purposes of character logging)

Actually, I guess this applies to games organized at a retailer as well, although that's something I'm only just starting to think about. Can you play in games that you GM?

Yes, since "GMing" (or really just owning or running the box) doesn't give you an advantage or disadvantage.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You don't really "GM" the card game. You might help out by watching over a group you aren't part of, or maybe you play, but there's no single person who is really any different than the rest.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Andrew L Klein wrote:
You don't really "GM" the card game. You might help out by watching over a group you aren't part of, or maybe you play, but there's no single person who is really any different than the rest.

I thought that might be the case, but wasn't positive since my only OP play so far has been at GenCon, where we had a GM watching over us and recording our results. Wasn't sure if there was a restriction on being an event recorder and player at the same time.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Kumarei wrote:

Haven't found an answer for this yet, although I'm guessing someone has asked it at some point. If you're playing at home, can you GM and play in an OP scenario? (I'm asking for purposes of character logging)

Actually, I guess this applies to games organized at a retailer as well, although that's something I'm only just starting to think about. Can you play in games that you GM?

Absolutely. The only time I've sat out and just ran a game is when the table (size) was too big.

This game really doesn't need a GM or Judge to run it.

Silver Crusade Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Kansas City

Kumarei wrote:
Andrew L Klein wrote:
You don't really "GM" the card game. You might help out by watching over a group you aren't part of, or maybe you play, but there's no single person who is really any different than the rest.
I thought that might be the case, but wasn't positive since my only OP play so far has been at GenCon, where we had a GM watching over us and recording our results. Wasn't sure if there was a restriction on being an event recorder and player at the same time.

At GenCon, we wanted to make sure that we have enough places for players, that's why we did it like that. Occasionally, a volunteer would go and join a table to get it closer to four people or to help out someone with a rough scenario.

At my weekly store game, even though I'm the organizer of the event and I use warhorn to track the event, I'm one of the players each session. Since I'm getting ready to try to start up a new store with PACG, I'm going to try and not play at those, but let more people play.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Texas—Austin aka SetonAlandel

Joshua North wrote:


At my weekly store game, even though I'm the organizer of the event and I use warhorn to track the event, I'm one of the players each session. Since I'm getting ready to try to start up a new store with PACG, I'm going to try and not play at those, but let more people play.

This is what we're doing in my area. We use the "GM" slot to determine a volunteer to bring their box, and 5 players per table.

Silver Crusade 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

One of my organizers compares running the box to being the banker in Monopoly.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So what you're saying is that I need to add Monopoly money to my box.

I like it.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Well people have mentioned house rules on buying and selling gear. This probably isn't what they had mind though...

Silver Crusade 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Or you can buy a location the first time you go there, then the other players have to pay you rent...

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

I'm really liking the way this is going.

We need to get Tanis to make addendums to the guide.

Silver Crusade Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Kansas City

If we sell 1000 gp worth of items, can we go up a level while we're at it?

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Only if cheating is allowed unless we're caught.

And we need some cards to increase difficulty of checks.

Silver Crusade 5/5

Is it sad that I'm thinking up rules for this? If someone can't pay rent, they have to give you a card, or else forego any positive "at this location" benefits.

This can be the Legacy of Fire version. It IS in Katapesh, after all

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Why is it sad?

I think we should have an April Fools version of the game where we incorporate some aspects of Monopoly and Munchkin in. LOL

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I'll talk to you guys later, I'm off to DriveThru Cards to create Pathfinder: Economic Munchdown.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Give Elizabeth and Joshua credit on that one!

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

But of course!!

We'll also have ways to add monsters to your hand much more easily. It's not Munchkin-esque if you can't throw a role-burying monster at your opponent's face.

Silver Crusade 5/5

Your opponent/fellow adventurer. I'm really thinking the combination of competitive and cooperative could make for an interesting game. The person with the most money "wins," but you have to win the scenario too.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

NyteJKL wrote:

Thanks zeroth_hour.

That really needs to be clarified in the next version. I understand these are rules on top of the base game rules, but the way it is worded makes it seem that the process is different and this guide takes precedent. I also understand I may be "holy over-parsing", but since OP has to be by the rules, you can't not help over parse.

The rules you're talking about are from the "New Character" section. Don't apply them to anything other than new characters.

We don't explicitly talk about it for characters that aren't new because the standard rules
are in effect.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
NyteJKL wrote:

Thanks zeroth_hour.

That really needs to be clarified in the next version. I understand these are rules on top of the base game rules, but the way it is worded makes it seem that the process is different and this guide takes precedent. I also understand I may be "holy over-parsing", but since OP has to be by the rules, you can't not help over parse.

The rules you're talking about are from the "New Character" section. Don't apply them to anything other than new characters.

We don't explicitly talk about it for characters that aren't new because the standard rules
are in effect.

Both v1.2 and 2.0 of the guide indicate to refer back to the New Character section though when rebuilding your deck. With 2.0, it specifically indicates:

PFSACG OP Guide 2.0, Page 8 wrote:
After upgrading your deck, when rebuilding the rest of your character deck, choose extra cards, if needed, from your Class Deck. Follow the hierarchy in the “New Characters” section, above.


Vic Wertz wrote:

The rules you're talking about are from the "New Character" section. Don't apply them to anything other than new characters.

We don't explicitly talk about it for characters that aren't new because the standard rules are in effect.

...except for the rule on page 9 of the Guide 2.1, which tells you to use the hierarchy from "New Characters", which doesn't let you skip. (That's in a different subsection.)

I made a suggestion for that in this thread: PACG - Building new characters and deck upgrade questions.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

@Parody, wow didn't even realize a v2.1 was released. Don't think I got the email that normally indicates an update was done. Just downloaded it. Thanks.

Grand Lodge

So in playing this past weekend, we have several people who replayed some scenarios and we noticed this inconsistency in the Guide and we didn't see any posts on it in regards to tier feats:

Tier Feats: A character gains feats on his character card
through the successful completion of scenarios. These
scenarios can be from any season or adventure that is legal
for the character to play. A character gains one skill feat after
successfully completing one scenario, one power feat after
successfully completing two scenarios, and one card feat
after successfully completing four scenarios. Completing
the same scenario multiple times does not count as progress
towards these tier feats. You can gain only one feat of each
type in each tier, unless instructed otherwise.

(From page 6 of the guide)

replaying scenarios
You may replay any Adventure Card Guild scenario
as many times as you like, as long as you are of the
appropriate tier (see “New Advancement System: Tiers”
above.) Your character may only gain the reward from
a given scenario, adventure, or adventure path once.
However, you may upgrade your deck each time you
complete the scenario, and completing the same scenario
multiple times counts toward your feat advancement.

(Page 9 of the guide)

Was this discussed someplace else and we are just missing it? We weren't sure which one was correct, but I made a quick house rule that the first paragraph from page 6 sounded more like what Paizo was going for here.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Aviar wrote:

Was this discussed someplace else and we are just missing it? We weren't sure which one was correct, but I made a quick house rule that the first paragraph from page 6 sounded more like what Paizo was going for here.

It has been discussed on these boards and on the venture officers board (which is why I can't link it) as a discrepancy in the guide. And you are correct, the "does not count" is the right one. Page 9 needs (and is on the list for) an edit.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Kyra Tier 1 pregen. Wooden Armor. Is this supposed to be Wooden Shield? If no, which set has this card please? Thanks!

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Rerednaw wrote:
Kyra Tier 1 pregen. Wooden Armor. Is this supposed to be Wooden Shield? If no, which set has this card please? Thanks!

No, it's Wooden Armor. It's in the cleric deck.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The pregens for Guild play are all built using the respective class decks, as that is all you are allowed to build you Guild deck from.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Aha...I have all the base sets, scenarios and add-ons. The Class Decks have been on hold. Man $400 of ACG and cannot play, LOL. Guess I will have them ship separately.

Thanks!


Not sure what your situation is, but you don't need class decks to play the Organized Play scenarios at home if you aren't reporting the characters. (Obviously you wouldn't use pregens in this situation.) But if you are reporting, then you do.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Rerednaw wrote:
Kyra Tier 1 pregen. Wooden Armor. Is this supposed to be Wooden Shield? If no, which set has this card please? Thanks!

Actually, I think the Skull 'n' Shackles Character Add-On Deck has this one, for what it's worth.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

If you take a card feat and there is no valid card matching the card hierarchy (all cards of that type are above your tier), does that mean that you go into scenarios short a card until you reach the required tier? Specifically, if a tier 1 monk takes a card feat for spells, does that leave her with a low deck until she reaches tier 3 (when monks get their first card deck spell - Cure)?

Venture-Lieutenant, Online—ACG aka Hawkmoon269

It would seem so.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
It would seem so.

Yes. If there are no cards remaining in your deck that are your tier level or lower, you are short those cards. So taking that spell card feat as a monk earlier than 3 will leave you with a hole in your deck. Plan accordingly.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Organized Play Coordinator

I want to confirm Theryon's post that the Guide is going under revision. Ask your questions and post what you think needs clarified so that we can address it in the new version.

:D

251 to 285 of 285 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Guide to PACG Organized Play - questions thread All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society