Divine Source: How does it work?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Mythic Adventures wrote:
You can grant divine spells to those who follow your cause, allowing them to select you as their deity for the purposes of determining their spells and domains. Select two domains upon taking this ability. These domains must be alignment domains matching your alignment if possible, unless your alignment is neutral. You grant access to these domains as if you were a deity. Creatures that gain spells from you don't receive any spells per day of levels higher than your tier; they lose those spell slots. In addition, you can cast spells from domains you grant as long as their level is equal to or less than your tier. Each day as a spell-like ability, you can cast one spell of each level equal to or less than your tier (selecting from those available to you from your divine source domains). If you're a cleric or you venerate a deity, you may change your spell domains to those you grant others. At 6th tier and 9th tier, you can select this ability again, adding one domain and two subdomains to your list each time and adding their spells to the list of those that you can cast.

1) Does the mythic character himself gain access to these domains and their associated domain powers?

2) Can a neutral aligned character select any two domains he wishes, or do they still have to be alignment domains?
3) Can the original 2 domains you choose be subdomains?
4) Can the user of this ability choose to venerate himself as a deity and therefore grant himself domains? Or can he only grant other people domains?
5) What does "you may change your spell domains to those you grant others" mean? Does it mean you can still only have 2 domains, or does it mean you can change the domains you give others? Wording here seems really clunky.

My 2 copper... seems like a pretty solid ability either way. Especially if you can grant yourself domains. Possibly bordering on overpowered.


1) If you are a class that has domains as a class feature, once you take this mythic ability, you can change your domain (or domains) to one of those you grant to your worshipers. You only will gain the domain power if you have the abiltiy of domains.

2) Any neutral character (NG, LN, N, CN, NE) gets to choose one (or two) domains. A true neutral character gets to choose any two domains it wants, since their aren't any Neutral domains.

3) Looking at subdomains in the APG, you only need to pick a domain as the subdomains come along with the ride. The last sentence is premised on the mythic character not picking an alignment domain (since each alignment domain has three subdomains associated with them). I say this because a Neutral character could be generous and pick all 4 alignment domains.

4) Yes, by taking a class that includes the casting of spells from a domain as a class feature. You already have access to the domains as per the sixth and seventh sentences of the ability.

5) See 1).

Yup. Pretty good. If you are a mythic cleric, and can grant domains, you can change your domains to those you grant.

Lantern Lodge

A True Neutral character can choose any two domains he wants? That seems a little overpowered IMO. But maybe that's the way it was designed. I'm also not really seeing any verbage in the ability that implies the character actually gets the domain powers, since it says he grants others the domains.

Lantern Lodge

Looking for other opinions on this. Can a N Cleric pick any 2 domains he wants and grant them to himself? Would this grant 4 domains total or replace the original domains?

Dark Archive

I would say a N cleric would still have to take 2 domains that his god had. You only grant access to 2 domains even if they are different ones then the ones you have from your god. How I read the cleric switching the domains is that he does not have to give access to the alignment domains but the other 2 that he has from his god.

I.E. a NG cleric of Sarenrae that has the Fire and Sun domains could choose the Good, Fire, or Sun domains for his first domain to give access to. Then he could choose any domain that he wanted to but I would limit it to Sarenraes domain and special domains that associates with that character. This is my own view on it and it could be wrong.


brad2411 wrote:

I would say a N cleric would still have to take 2 domains that his god had. You only grant access to 2 domains even if they are different ones then the ones you have from your god. How I read the cleric switching the domains is that he does not have to give access to the alignment domains but the other 2 that he has from his god.

I.E. a NG cleric of Sarenrae that has the Fire and Sun domains could choose the Good, Fire, or Sun domains for his first domain to give access to. Then he could choose any domain that he wanted to but I would limit it to Sarenraes domain and special domains that associates with that character. This is my own view on it and it could be wrong.

Since Divine Source is basically about becoming a god (and every character regardless of class can take it) that would be a pretty bad nerf for clerics. Why should a divine spellcaster who is becoming a god in his own right be worse off than a barbarian or rogue?

Dark Archive

Mainly because a cleric still worships another deity. It is weird to me that you could worship yourself but I guess it could happen.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
brad2411 wrote:
Mainly because a cleric still worships another deity. It is weird to me that you could worship yourself but I guess it could happen.

Well, I wouldn't consider that case to be "worshipping" yourself but just being able to power your own divine spells. Also it would be a bit boring if clerics became copies of their gods, I'd prefer it like with Tempus and the Red Knight, that you become an exarch of your god and take care of parts of his portfolio he neglects.

Scarab Sages

bob_the_monster wrote:
A True Neutral character can choose any two domains he wants? That seems a little overpowered IMO. But maybe that's the way it was designed. I'm also not really seeing any verbage in the ability that implies the character actually gets the domain powers, since it says he grants others the domains.

My true neutral wizard now has dominion over life and death.

He intends for the phrase God wizard to become literal. He just needs to convert the party's cleric.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Divine Source: How does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.