Dystheistic Cleric?


Lost Omens Campaign Setting General Discussion


This may seem crazy (cause it is) but is it possible for a cleric to believe in divine power, yet not worship the actual gods?

EDIT: I realized I put this in the wrong forum (or maybe not, I'll let the moderators decide... but I was reading in the campaign setting forum, and I guess in a way this could be seen as a setting question OR a rules question... so I went ahead and flagged it, will let the Paizo staff make the call if they think it should be moved or stay here.)

Liberty's Edge

Not in Golarion, where a Cleric is defined as the spellcaster type (and is the only such spellcaster) that absolutely requires a deity.

Per the corebook? Sure. Clerics of concepts are explicitly allowed in the core game.

Webstore Gninja Minion

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oracles fill the "cleric without a god" concept, but if you're using just the Core Rulebook, then yes, you can have a cleric that doesn't worship a deity. (It's specifically called out in their class.)


Yeah, I know about oracles, I'm a big fan of them just was wondering because I am looking at an idea for a mythic cleric that doesn't see the gods as anything special.


Deadmanwalking wrote:

Not in Golarion, where a Cleric is defined as the spellcaster type (and is the only such spellcaster) that absolutely requires a deity.

Per the corebook? Sure. Clerics of concepts are explicitly allowed in the core game.

Hmm, well that's true and yeah I am sort of playing in the Golarion setting, although the character isn't from Golarion herself (she's from Alpha Centauri). I decided to just stick with her being a magus. If I ever do go divine, I'll do oracle probably (or maybe not... her Charisma sucks... she'd need to have her friend tattoo her with a cloak of charisma or something lol)


Deadmanwalking wrote:

Not in Golarion, where a Cleric is defined as the spellcaster type (and is the only such spellcaster) that absolutely requires a deity.

Per the corebook? Sure. Clerics of concepts are explicitly allowed in the core game.

Oh? I only saw the corebook part. Where does it say the Golarion setting is different?

Liberty's Edge

JaC381 wrote:
Deadmanwalking wrote:

Not in Golarion, where a Cleric is defined as the spellcaster type (and is the only such spellcaster) that absolutely requires a deity.

Per the corebook? Sure. Clerics of concepts are explicitly allowed in the core game.

Oh? I only saw the corebook part. Where does it say the Golarion setting is different?

Various places (I think it's mentioned in the Inner Sea World guide for example, though I could be wrong), but where I mostly got it was from James Jacobs (who, as creative director, gets to decide that sort of thing about Golarion) on these very forums.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

For Pathfinder Society, clerics need a deity. The Golarion setting implies you need a deity, though it doesn't specifically call it out as I recall.

For non-Golarion settings, the cleric by written rule can stay with concept rather than deity powered. If it's not Pathfinder Society, it's likely best to just ask your GM if t is permitted or not (home game rules trump written ones, except for PFS or similar shared events).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Lost Omens Campaign Setting / General Discussion / Dystheistic Cleric? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion