FAQ-Clarification: Scribing Spells


Pathfinder Society

Silver Crusade 1/5

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Greetings,

while it is common knowledge in these messageboards that everyone can "buy" spells between scenarios by paying half the scribing costs (as stated in the FAQ), many other players don't.

Part of this might be the wording in the FAQ - in January 2013 Mike said he wanted to delete the word "Rare", but I guess he just forgot because he was away from the office for a week.

Also, I was under the impression that this FAQ entry overruled the usual "PCs may not take gold off each other" rule.

So, can we have this change now? Something a little clearer like "In the instance of a NPC wizard charging a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks, this fee is equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). Rare and unique spells do not change the fee in PFS.
All characters have the opportunity to do that during downtime between scenarios."

I'm unsure about the last sentence, but I would welcome turning this into a real clarification and not just a something people on these boards can refer to as their secret knowledge. ;)

(How can I make sure the right person [Mike Brock, for example] sees this post? Hitting the FAQ button?)

5/5 5/55/55/5

Blackbot wrote:
Also, I was under the impression that this FAQ entry overruled the usual "PCs may not take gold off each other" rule.

It doesn't. Aram Zey can charge you library fees because he's an NPCS. Bobs wizard cannot charge you, he CAN let you look for free, or trade spellbook access.

Silver Crusade 1/5

I know that now. Sorry, I did not make myself clear enough: FOR SOME TIME I was under the impression that this is how it should be handled - though I found out that I was wrong. ;)

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Blackbot wrote:
while it is common knowledge in these messageboards that everyone can "buy" spells between scenarios by paying half the scribing costs

This is also incorrect. PFS does not offer a discount on scribing spells into your book. The cost is the same as listed in the CRB.

Silver Crusade 1/5

You can buy access for half the scribing costs.

I am aware that you still have to pay the scribing costs (if you are not a witch) on top of that.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Ah. Your original post was unclear on that matter; you simply stated "half".

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

FAQ edited for clarity:
Can I scribe spells from another PC's spellbook into my own? What about gaining spells via scrolls found during an adventure?

Players are welcome to exchange spells with each other during an adventure. They must still follow all the normal rules as put forth in the Core Rulebook and their class descriptions (for instance, an alchemist can scribe from a wizard, but not vice-versa) and they must not bog the session down. In this instance, there is no fee charged for access, but normal ascribing costs must be paid.

Similarly, scrolls found during an adventure can be used to add spells to spellbooks and similar class features (such as a witch's familiar), using the normal rules for doing so. Scrolls used in this way during an adventure do not need to be purchased, but are still consumed as normal. In this instance, normal ascribing costs must still be paid.

With either method, the GM should sign off on the spells gained (after witnessing successful skill checks, note that the spellcaster can Take 10 for this Spellcraft check) on affected players' chronicle sheets. All other methods of gaining new spells (such as by gaining a level or purchasing access to an NPC's spellbook) function as described in the Core Rulebook and relevant class descriptions.

In the instance of copying spells from an NPC wizard or other spellbook user's spellbook, they will charge a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks, and this fee, as per the CRB, is equal to half the normal cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). Rare and unique spells do not change the fee in PFS.

Above is my attempt to make an update to the FAQ for clarity

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / FAQ-Clarification: Scribing Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society