Grapple Rules with the Monster Grab Ability


Rules Questions

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 4

Hey there!

I am not confused, but I am posting to get a second opinion and to see if someone knows of a reference that I couldn't find with a search.

So here's the deal:

Druid is able to wildshape and take the universal monster Grab ability. This grants a +4 circumstance bonus to maintain a grapple.

The Core Rule Book says that when you maintain a grapple you get a +5 bonus. No type of bonus is mentioned.

So the wildshaped druid gets a +9 bonus to maintain a grapple?

(I'm aware of size restrictions, for simplicity let's assume the druid has the size to grapple his/her opponent)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Correct. +4 to CMB to start, +9 to maintain the next and following rounds. Neither bonus applies to CMD vs. Escape attempts. The +4 bonus is not limited to creatures of equal size, only the free attempt to grapple.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes.

Grab: Creatures with the grab special attack receive a +4 bonus on combat maneuver checks made to start and maintain a grapple.

Grapple: If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds.

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 4

Okay, thank you!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple Rules with the Monster Grab Ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.