Flurry of blows. How much str to damage?


Rules Questions


Is it like TWF, but without Double Slice?

So monk level 1, with 18 strength,

(1) flurrying with a two handed monk weapon, or unarmed, or any combo:
I attack at -1 BAB,
I add 4str damage to the first attack,
and 2str damage to the second attack?

(2) And without flurrying, with a two handed monk weapon:
I attack at +0 BAB
I add 6str damage to that single attack?

Is there a feat *like* Double Slice that monks can take?

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Just your regular Strength modifier during a Flurry. Not halved, and not x1.5

When you are doing anything other than a Flurry you go by the standard rules.

Sovereign Court

Nefreet wrote:

Just your regular Strength modifier during a Flurry. Not halved, and not x1.5

When you are doing anything other than a Flurry you go by the standard rules.

^ This.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

*phew*

It took me three edits to finish that, and you quoted me just at the right time!


So monk's flurry of blows ~ TWP + Double Slice?

Edit. paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/feats.html#_double-slice

Sovereign Court

Sanjiv wrote:

So monk's flurry of blows ~ TWP + Double Slice?

Edit. paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/feats.html#_double-slice

Yes, except that you still won't have double slice for the purposes of qualifying for feats.

EDIT: Also, I know that feel, Nefreet. ^^;

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Double Slice doesn't do much for a Monk, unless your Monk decides to take Two-Weapon Fighting, and use it, but I don't see a strong reason to do that.

Double Slice wrote:

Benefit: Add your Strength bonus to damage rolls made with your off-hand weapon.

Normal: You normally add only half of your Strength modifier to damage rolls made with a weapon wielded in your off-hand.

When a Monk uses Flurry of Blows there is no "off-hand".


You need an "off-hand" to use Two-Weapon fighting in the first place. Thus if you have no "off-hand" you can't use Two-Weapon fighting.
You might not be able to use flurry of blows either, depending on how you interpret "as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat".

Dark Archive

Rikkan wrote:

You need an "off-hand" to use Two-Weapon fighting in the first place. Thus if you have no "off-hand" you can't use Two-Weapon fighting.

You might not be able to use flurry of blows either, depending on how you interpret "as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat".

Except the FAQ states that you can make a flurry of blows with only one weapon.

FAQ link

Quote:

Monk Flurry of Blows: When I use flurry of blows, can I make all of the attacks with just one weapon, or do I have to use two, as implied by the ability functioning similarly to Two-Weapon Fighting?

You can make all of your attacks with a single monk weapon. Alternatively, you can replace any number of these attacks with an unarmed strike. This FAQ specifically changes a previous ruling made in the blog concerning this issue.

So, you do not need an "off-hand" to use Flurry of blows. It can all be with one weapon.


Sanjiv wrote:

So monk's flurry of blows ~ TWP + Double Slice?

Edit. paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/feats.html#_double-slice

It is even better than that. Flurry of blows gets full power attack damage on each hit, something that double slice doesn't do (it only handles strength damage).

Also, if you are 2handing, you still get 1.5x power attack damage on each hit.

The advantages of the flurry of blows is subtle, but they are still rather powerful in the right hands.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Flurry of blows. How much str to damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.