>>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

4,301 to 4,350 of 6,818 << first < prev | 82 | 83 | 84 | 85 | 86 | 87 | 88 | 89 | 90 | 91 | 92 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Maneuvermoose wrote:
May I ask you the same questions I just asked Tacticslion and James Jacobs? What is a question? How do you know when you have seen a question? Why are questions overpowered? Why aren't questions overpowered? Is this sentence a question? Are you going to make posts that aren't questions for yourself? Are you going to make posts that are questions for yourself? Why is everyone asking so many questions? Are we still in character? Will you answer my question if I answer yours? Why is nobody answering anyone's questions? Was that enough questions? Was that too many questions? Would doves cry?

Yes.

A question is an expression, generally in language, intended to acquire information.

In English, a ? is usually a helpful clue, though generally if you see something that makes you think the person is requesting information, chances are it's a question.

Questions are overpowered for the same reason divination is overpowered: Knowledge is power.

Questions aren't overpowered for the same reason people pick divination as an opposition school: Who cares about info, it's all about action!

Yes, that sentence is a question.

I've made posts that aren't questions for myself in this thread, and they're generally answers to questions in the thread.

They are asking so many questions because the thread title, while not a question, is an imperative, and the imperative is requesting questions.

We are still in character because we are always in character, changing our masks as we move through social interactions with different people.

I'll answer your question even if you don't answer mine.

I think some people are answering some people's questions, so the question has a false premise.

Only you know if it was enough questions.

It probably wasn't too many questions.

Avian eyes have moisture ducts like our tear ducts, so I'd say yes. They also have a nictating membrane, which is pretty cool.

Paizo Employee Designer

BigP4nda wrote:
Mark, I would like to some insight on this post I made regarding spell combat and two weapon fighting. Please check it out when you've got the time.

I believe that the first sentence in the description of the full attack action you quoted is the location of the text you were looking for that explains TWF is limited to the full attack action; you're right that it isn't in the TWF description you quoted.

Paizo Employee Designer

Corvin84 wrote:

Hi Mark,

My question is:

Archmage Seance Boon is applicable on multiple darts like magic missile? (Example: 2 darts, 1d4+1+2, 1d4+1+2) or Fiery Shuriken on the same/multiple target?

Based on what it says, it should be once per target, not once per dart, so if you have three scorching rays and fire them all at one guy, +2, but fire them each at a different guy and +2 each.

Paizo Employee Designer

Phoenicopter wrote:

Hey Mark,

I am trying to gain some clarity on "wielding" in regards to the kineticist.
Could you tell me if my interpretation is RAW?

The kineticist is not wielding a kinetic blast.

Quote:
"Kinetic blasts count as a type of weapon for the purpose of feats such as Weapon Focus. The kineticist is never considered to be wielding or gripping the kinetic blast (regardless of effects from form infusions; see Infusion), and she can't use Vital Strike feats with kinetic blasts."

With kinetic blade, you are using an SLA to create a weapon in your hand that deals altered damage and damage type. You are not wielding a blast. The blast was the creation of the blade. You are now wielding a weapon (ie a light weapon) for the duration of the SLA, which is why you can use feats like weapon finesse and piranha strike.

Quote:
"You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a nonreach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter. "

Kinetic blade doesn't work with spellstrike since spellstrike is a full round action and not a full-attack.

Quote:
"You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade. "

Kinetic blade doesn't work with weapon versatility, since the feat affects the damage type that your weapon deals, and kinetic blade already alters the weapon's damage and damage type to that of your kinetic blast. (kinetic blast doesn't work either, since you can't grip or wield a blast)

Quote:
"When wielding a weapon with which you have Weapon Focus, you can shift your grip as a swift action so that your weapon deals bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage instead of the damage type normally dealt by that weapon."

I appreciate any insight.

Thank you,
Phoenicopter

That's pretty close, yeah. Mostly it's just that the energy is an extension of yourself, so for instance someone couldn't disarm you, like normally if you were gripping or wielding something. The weapon is still the blast (and so Weapon Focus [kinetic blast] applies).

Paizo Employee Designer

wingermage wrote:

Hi Mark,

My question is:

Dose the shadow subtype eidolons(form blood of shadows page 11) get access to natural attack evolution such as bite,claws,sting and gore?the book didn't mention this.

Owen is the one to ask on Player Companions, but if it's like the other subtypes, if it doesn't say it has it, then it doesn't.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
AlgaeNymph wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
MusicAddict wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
MusicAddict wrote:
Was that a "Mounted Fury" archetype that I spotted when you were showing off the magical child picture?
Good eye! Yes, it's basically Zorro.
I will also admit that just now, in an attempt to get a really nice screenie of the magical child artwork to just point out how much it reminds me of a certain time manipulating magical girl to my pathfinder skype group, I actually got a fairly clear screenshot of a good chunk of the two pages. Without saying what it can do, that familiar actually seems fairly impressive.
It's pretty impressive. Much like with Chosen One (the previous magical girl-ish paladin archetype), Luna can be a silvanshee now; I mean clearly she isn't just a regular cat!

Isn't Luna lawful god? Now Artemis I can see as a silvanshee (assuming they can have white fur). Sailor Venus would probably be a better fit for Golarion anyway given how dark the place can get.

Speaking of getting dark, with the upcoming Curse of the Crimson Throne hardcover, have you given any thought to PCs based on these four? I'm sure it'd be...breathtaking.

Certainly Zaheer has Wings of Air and Suffocation, P'li had Explosion, Ming-Hua had kinetic whips that she used in place of her arms, and Ghazan was an Earth/Fire focused on AoE and crowd control based form infusions.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:

Saw this on the UI Errata thread and it was an interesting question so I figured I'd repost here.

JoelF847 wrote:
p. 9, 11-12 - does the vigilante ability dual identity, and social talents quick change and immediate change allow for switching to the vigilante identity including donning or removing armor which is part of that identity? If so, does this mean the vigilante can don or remove their armor faster than the normal rules allow? In particular, how does this interact with heavy armor, which can only be hastily donned without assistance, since the vigilante must be out of sight from other creatures to preserve the vigilante's secret. While the standard vigilante doesn't have heavy armor proficiency, the heavy training vigilante talent grants the proficiency.
What are your thoughts on this?

They wouldn't actually get you out of your armor faster, so presumably if you're in the business for a very slow-to-remove armor, your armor has removable decals or components that leave you with equal protection afterwards but none of the key identifying features. If your social identity wouldn't be caught dead in armor to begin with, it makes things trickier for you and you should consider hat of disguise or glamered in a pinch.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Gisher wrote:

Mark, this came up in another thread.

A Morningstar is a Piercing and Bludgeoning weapon so it can't be used just as a Bludgeoning weapon or just as a Piercing weapon.

UE wrote:
Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; rather, all damage caused is considered to be of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

The rules for underwater combat tell us that Piercing weapons (which this is) use their normal 'to hit' scores and deal damage normally. The rules also tell us that Bludgeoning weapons (which this is) suffer a -2 penalty 'to hit' and only deal half damage. (I'm assuming the cases where the character isn't using Freedom of Movement but is standing with firm footing or swimming.)

For a Kunai, which is Piercing or Bludgeoning, I think this could be resolved by having the player declare which sort of damage she wanted to deal. But the Morningstar doesn't offer that choice. I'm pretty sure this is too rare a situation to justify a FAQ, so I was wondering how you might go about resolving the contradiction.

Huh, yeah, it's not IF(X) THEN Y, ELSEIF(A) THEN B. It uses two IFs instead. I don't think it can properly resolve itself, so the question is whether to be permissive or restrictive there. Maybe permissive since underwater penalties are really annoying? I agree with the "or" weapons.

The Exchange

Mark Seifter wrote:
wingermage wrote:

Hi Mark,

My question is:

Dose the shadow subtype eidolons(form blood of shadows page 11) get access to natural attack evolution such as bite,claws,sting and gore?the book didn't mention this.

Owen is the one to ask on Player Companions, but if it's like the other subtypes, if it doesn't say it has it, then it doesn't.

thanks.Their basic form has bite,tail and claws.Maybe the author just forgot to put forward what natural attack evolution they can have.

Paizo Employee Designer

The NPC wrote:

Mr. Mark Seifter,

Would you allow a companion creature such as an eidolon or Promethean alchemist's homunculus to exchange feats for the variable multi class option?

Theoretically, one would need a class before one could multiclass, and it's sort of a character option rather than a creature option, and I think it might lead to weird situations. That being said, it's not a bad way to add some class-related stuff to a monster (since putting actual class levels on a monster often leads to weird CR stuff anyway).

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Athel wrote:

Hey Mark. Hoping I could get your thoughts on a matter concerning undercasting, learning new spells, and "replacing" spells.

The details: I'm building an NPC for a game who is a sorcerer with the psychic bloodline. They are 9th level, finalizing their list of spells known. But the interaction between Undercasting Prodigy (from the psychic bloodline) and the mechanics of learning undercasting spells has got me caught on a snag.

Psychic Bloodline wrote:
Undercasting Prodigy (Sp): Starting at 9th level, whenever you gain a new level of spells, you automatically replace any psychic bloodline spells that can be undercast with the highest-level version you can cast in your list of spells known. For example, at 9th level, you would replace mind thrust I, id insinuation I, and ego whip I with mind thrust IV, id insinuation III, and ego whip II, respectively, as spells known.
Undercasting Spells wrote:
Whenever a spontaneous spellcaster adds a spell to his list of spells known that can be undercast, he can immediately learn a spell in place of each lower-level version of that spell he knows. In essence, he loses each earlier version and can replace it with another spell of the same level that is on his spell list.
When Undercasting Prodigy comes into play, do I gain the ability to replace previously-known, undercast, psychic-bloodline bonus-spells with alternative spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list?

The specific rule for the bloodline overrides the general rule in this case, as they have their own unique way of handling the swaps (and it's more favorable too! :) ).

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Risner wrote:

There seems to be confusing on this FAQ:

FAQ on when you count as having a class feature

Some believe that this doesn't cover things such as a Monk 2 / Ninja 2 where Monk isn't high enough to gain a Ki Pool. They believe that the fact they will gain a Ki Pool next level, they still stack with Ninja's Ki Pool.

True? False?

It certainly seems that the FAQ says you don't have a ki pool yet until the level when you gain it.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
captain yesterday wrote:

Let's talk pets.

What was your favorite pet as a kid.

Do you have pets now.

If you could have one exotic pet, no questions asked, what would it be.

Did you ever hear the band Pet.

What's your favorite, or least favorite, as the case may be,, Pet Shop Boys song.

And finally, how would you rate the movie Little Shop of Horrors.

My main pets as a really young kid were snakes, including a ball python named Sama Regius (after the scientific name of ball pythons) although we also had some other unusual pets as well.

I don't have any pets now.

A flying fox might be a pretty cool pet to have.

I haven't heard that band.

I don't know which songs those are.

Feed me Seymour!


Mark Seifter wrote:
Maneuvermoose wrote:
May I ask you the same questions I just asked Tacticslion and James Jacobs? What is a question? How do you know when you have seen a question? Why are questions overpowered? Why aren't questions overpowered? Is this sentence a question? Are you going to make posts that aren't questions for yourself? Are you going to make posts that are questions for yourself? Why is everyone asking so many questions? Are we still in character? Will you answer my question if I answer yours? Why is nobody answering anyone's questions? Was that enough questions? Was that too many questions? Would doves cry?

Yes.

A question is an expression, generally in language, intended to acquire information.

In English, a ? is usually a helpful clue, though generally if you see something that makes you think the person is requesting information, chances are it's a question.

Questions are overpowered for the same reason divination is overpowered: Knowledge is power.

Questions aren't overpowered for the same reason people pick divination as an opposition school: Who cares about info, it's all about action!

Yes, that sentence is a question.

I've made posts that aren't questions for myself in this thread, and they're generally answers to questions in the thread.

They are asking so many questions because the thread title, while not a question, is an imperative, and the imperative is requesting questions.

We are still in character because we are always in character, changing our masks as we move through social interactions with different people.

I'll answer your question even if you don't answer mine.

I think some people are answering some people's questions, so the question has a false premise.

Only you know if it was enough questions.

It probably wasn't too many questions.

Avian eyes have moisture ducts like our tear ducts, so I'd say yes. They also have a nictating membrane, which is pretty cool.

Bravo, sir! Bravo!


Pathfinder Companion, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

For the psychometrist, it says in the first paragraph of his Implements and Focus Powers ability that, "A psychometrist can’t select an implement school more than once", but in the third paragraph it reads, "The psychometrist can select a school he already knows, and in this case, he gains a total of two new focus powers from that school (instead of learning the base focus power from the new school)". Which is correct? I'm leaning towards the second, but I'd appreciate your opinion.

Edit: Also, at 2nd level, since you learn an implement school at that level, but have no other schools, I believe you only get the base focus power for that implement school, and get any others until 6th, 12th, and 18th, ending up with seven total? Barring the use of the Extra Focus Power feat, which is probably a must-have.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Per this faq, draconic bloodline bloodragers gain the benefits of the Dragon Disciple prestige class. Is it an intended interaction for other items/feats that reference sorceror levels, like the Robes of Arcane Heritage to work with bloodrager bloodlines?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber

Here's a non-rules question for you:

Do you play any tabletop RPGs other than Pathfinder? If so, which ones?

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
wraithstrike wrote:

Mark while I FAQ'ing a topic another poster brought up the fact that the CRB says that for every 2 points by which an ability score increases that ability score gets a +1 bonus.

The FAQ says that temporary increases to ability scores effect the same stats and rolls as a permanent increases.

Because ability score increases normally come in multiples of 2 such as belts of giant strength this is normally a nonfactor.

However inherent bonuses to an ability score could increase your temporary strength from 13 to a 14. If 24 hours has not passed you now have a temp score of 14, but you are not getting a +2 modifier because the ability increase was did not go up by 2. 24 hours later. I understand that 14 will be permanent, but that means the FAQ saying temporary and permanent ability scores are not affecting stats and rolls in the same way is not accurate.
Can you look into this on your end or do I have to FAQ thr FAQ?

I think the general status quo of the permanent vs temporary FAQs is a little confusing and could use a follow-up at some point if it gets enough FAQs. As to inherent bonuses, assuming they remain limited to instantaneously and irrevocably raising the stats with wish or a tome, they probably could count as permanent right away without causing too much trouble.

Paizo Employee Designer

Ferious Thune wrote:

Mark,

I'm playing my first Arcanist in PFS, and I'm trying to figure a few things out. I see in this thread where you've previously said Runestones and Spell Lattices are what an Arcanist uses to add spell slots and prepared spells. When you run things, how do you address these questions?

Can an Arcanist use a Ring of Spell Knowledge to add a prepared spell?

Can an Arcanist use a Mnemonic Vestment to cast a spell as if it was prepared?

And, most importantly, how many actions does it take to use Quick Study in combat? The Exploit says the Arcanist needs access to her spell book. Does that mean she would need to spend a move action to take out her spell book, then a full round action to use Quick Study (effectively making it a two round ability)? Or is it just a single full round action as long as she has her spell book on her person?

Thanks!

Both of those items seem to make the spell a spell known, but since they don't make the spell one of an arcanist's spells prepared, I think an arcanist could almost use the items but still couldn't cast the spell (I suppose she could write it down in her spellbook, though, for the ring, or swap to preparing it off the ring with Quick Study).

As to Quick Study, it doesn't really say what it means by being able to reference the spellbook. Taking out the book and putting it back would usually be at least two move actions (that provoke AoOs) on their own, so perhaps it would be a two-round affair where you take it out and start the FRA on round 1, and finish the FRA and put it back on round 2. Only Jason probably knows for sure.

Paizo Employee Designer

Joana wrote:

It seems to be a common house rule to assume that PCs are "always" taking 10 on certain skills in appropriate settings, i.e., Perception when traveling, Sense Motive when dealing with NPCs, etc., and to ask for a roll only in response to certain trigger events.

This bugs me from a logical point of view, because it means that a PC can be dramatically worse at a skill when they're specifically trying to invoke it than when they're multitasking. My preferred method is to assume the PCs are "taking 1" unless they have a good reason to be Perceptive or Sensing Motive; that insures they can't possibly do worse by trying.

Do you think this is reasonable, or can you persuade me that Passive skill use as Taking 10 makes more sense than I think it does? (The other alternative, I suppose, is to use the PC's Take 10 result if they roll lower than 10, but then you might as well just be rolling a d10 and giving them a +10 bonus.)

I think that if someone isn't even trying to do the skill, they just don't get a check at all (for instance, not sneaking and Stealth checks, or Perception checks against a Disguise, which you usually can't roll just for seeing someone in a disguise). That said, there isn't always an obvious DC to use to see if someone hears a not-sneaking character that takes into account the size, clankiness, etc, so using a very low roll (like 1, 0, or even a negative number) added to Stealth modifier to ballpark the DC isn't too bad at the low end, though it can lead to incredibly stealthy characters successfully stealthing when they don't even want to do so, so in this case, it's possible you might want to use a static DC with a potential to make it easier if the character is extra loud.

Another option entirely is to consider using the passive/active variant in Ultimate Intrigue's Skills in Conflict section where for each opposed roll, the active character rolls and the defending character takes average, so there's always going to be some variance, but not as much.

Paizo Employee Designer

Luthorne wrote:

For the psychometrist, it says in the first paragraph of his Implements and Focus Powers ability that, "A psychometrist can’t select an implement school more than once", but in the third paragraph it reads, "The psychometrist can select a school he already knows, and in this case, he gains a total of two new focus powers from that school (instead of learning the base focus power from the new school)". Which is correct? I'm leaning towards the second, but I'd appreciate your opinion.

Edit: Also, at 2nd level, since you learn an implement school at that level, but have no other schools, I believe you only get the base focus power for that implement school, and get any others until 6th, 12th, and 18th, ending up with seven total? Barring the use of the Extra Focus Power feat, which is probably a must-have.

Looks like you can take it again, but it's true that it says both.

I think you get more than seven. Let's assume you pick divination, enchantment, illusion, transmutation in that order and are level 18. You have:

Divination's base and three others (4) + enchantment's base and two others (3) + illusion's base and one other (2) + transmutation's base (1) = 10.

Paizo Employee Designer

shadowhntr7 wrote:
Per this faq, draconic bloodline bloodragers gain the benefits of the Dragon Disciple prestige class. Is it an intended interaction for other items/feats that reference sorceror levels, like the Robes of Arcane Heritage to work with bloodrager bloodlines?

The FAQ only applies to the prestige class, not any of those other things.

Paizo Employee Designer

Haladir wrote:

Here's a non-rules question for you:

Do you play any tabletop RPGs other than Pathfinder? If so, which ones?

Nowadays my tabletop gaming has drastically dropped from the amount I once played, since people at the office are really busy. However, I've played a fair number of other tabletop RPGs over the years and read even more that I haven't had a chance to play. Games I've played for longer campaigns include FATE, Mutants and Masterminds, and D&D of various editions, with a variety of others as one-shots (sometimes more than one one-shot). Some time soon, I'm going to run Mouseguard 2E for Linda as a one-shot (should also be good practice for something she's cooking up for Paizocon too).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Are there any plans to release more VMC options? I would love to see a Kineticist option. The best thing about it is that they give single class-locked characters, like casters and such, more options to versify. It's a shame it's not legal in PFS...

Btw, did you see my post about Dragon Style? There were quit a bit of conventions, so I thought you may have missed it.


Pathfinder Companion, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mark Seifter wrote:
Luthorne wrote:

For the psychometrist, it says in the first paragraph of his Implements and Focus Powers ability that, "A psychometrist can’t select an implement school more than once", but in the third paragraph it reads, "The psychometrist can select a school he already knows, and in this case, he gains a total of two new focus powers from that school (instead of learning the base focus power from the new school)". Which is correct? I'm leaning towards the second, but I'd appreciate your opinion.

Edit: Also, at 2nd level, since you learn an implement school at that level, but have no other schools, I believe you only get the base focus power for that implement school, and get any others until 6th, 12th, and 18th, ending up with seven total? Barring the use of the Extra Focus Power feat, which is probably a must-have.

Looks like you can take it again, but it's true that it says both.

I think you get more than seven. Let's assume you pick divination, enchantment, illusion, transmutation in that order and are level 18. You have:

Divination's base and three others (4) + enchantment's base and two others (3) + illusion's base and one other (2) + transmutation's base (1) = 10.

Ah, looking at it more closely, you're right, somehow I parsed that as only getting one extra for an implement school you already had access to. Much nicer than I had assumed...though definitely means that, presuming you can take it again, doing so is probably not the best choice, since while you get a second when you choose it, at future levels you're getting one less power from another school...

Still, thanks!

Scarab Sages

Mark Seifter wrote:
Ferious Thune wrote:

Mark,

I'm playing my first Arcanist in PFS, and I'm trying to figure a few things out. I see in this thread where you've previously said Runestones and Spell Lattices are what an Arcanist uses to add spell slots and prepared spells. When you run things, how do you address these questions?

Can an Arcanist use a Ring of Spell Knowledge to add a prepared spell?

Can an Arcanist use a Mnemonic Vestment to cast a spell as if it was prepared?

And, most importantly, how many actions does it take to use Quick Study in combat? The Exploit says the Arcanist needs access to her spell book. Does that mean she would need to spend a move action to take out her spell book, then a full round action to use Quick Study (effectively making it a two round ability)? Or is it just a single full round action as long as she has her spell book on her person?

Thanks!

Both of those items seem to make the spell a spell known, but since they don't make the spell one of an arcanist's spells prepared, I think an arcanist could almost use the items but still couldn't cast the spell (I suppose she could write it down in her spellbook, though, for the ring, or swap to preparing it off the ring with Quick Study).

As to Quick Study, it doesn't really say what it means by being able to reference the spellbook. Taking out the book and putting it back would usually be at least two move actions (that provoke AoOs) on their own, so perhaps it would be a two-round affair where you take it out and start the FRA on round 1, and finish the FRA and put it back on round 2. Only Jason probably knows for sure.

I guess I was hoping this line from the Arcanist meant adding a spell known adds a spell prepared for them: "Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster instead affect the number of spells an arcanist can prepare." Is that just meant for things like the Epanded Arcana feat? Even having the ring work like you suggest, giving access to prepare a spell through Quick Study, would help. I'll ask locally and see how the GMs would rule. Most likely I'll just avoid the items, as I don't like to invest in too many things that are subject to table variation.

How you suggest running Quick Study is how I've been doing it. I'll stick with that and start planning to pick up Gloves of Storing at some point.

Thanks for the help figuring it out!


Mark, what is the great question alluded to in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy book series, to which The Answer is 42?


Why don't kineticists gain immunity or at least resistance to their element? Or even a utility talent that augments their defense so they gain something like resist energy 4 for every point of burn they spend on their defense.


Tels wrote:
Why don't kineticists gain immunity or at least resistance to their element? Or even a utility talent that augments their defense so they gain something like resist energy 4 for every point of burn they spend on their defense.

Several of the elements got utility talents for that? Heat/Cold/Aerial Adaptation where they get a corresponding energy resistant 2 x amount of burn accepted so far.


Any chance of an FAQ Friday this week?

Paizo Employee Designer

Ashram wrote:
Any chance of an FAQ Friday this week?

Emerald City Comiccon means not this time. I'm foreseeing that we should have one next week, though, maybe even launching the Intrigue FAQ page, though we'll see.


Mark Seifter wrote:
Gisher wrote:

Mark, this came up in another thread.

A Morningstar is a Piercing and Bludgeoning weapon so it can't be used just as a Bludgeoning weapon or just as a Piercing weapon.

UE wrote:
Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; rather, all damage caused is considered to be of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

The rules for underwater combat tell us that Piercing weapons (which this is) use their normal 'to hit' scores and deal damage normally. The rules also tell us that Bludgeoning weapons (which this is) suffer a -2 penalty 'to hit' and only deal half damage. (I'm assuming the cases where the character isn't using Freedom of Movement but is standing with firm footing or swimming.)

For a Kunai, which is Piercing or Bludgeoning, I think this could be resolved by having the player declare which sort of damage she wanted to deal. But the Morningstar doesn't offer that choice. I'm pretty sure this is too rare a situation to justify a FAQ, so I was wondering how you might go about resolving the contradiction.

Huh, yeah, it's not IF(X) THEN Y, ELSEIF(A) THEN B. It uses two IFs instead. I don't think it can properly resolve itself, so the question is whether to be permissive or restrictive there. Maybe permissive since underwater penalties are really annoying? I agree with the "or" weapons.

Thanks for the feedback. My thought was to turn to physics as the tiebreaker. Piercing weapons would generally be better underwater because they are usually thrust rather than swung, and they generally present a very small cross-section along that axis of motion. In shape and method of wielding a morningstar seems much more similar to a mace than, say, a spear. So I thought maybe it should be treated as a bludgeoning weapon in this weird case. But I doubt this situation will ever come up.


Who would I need to talk to about getting a Kickstarter advertisement included in Paizo shipments like the ones I get with mine?


Mark Seifter wrote:
BigP4nda wrote:
Mark, I would like to some insight on this post I made regarding spell combat and two weapon fighting. Please check it out when you've got the time.
I believe that the first sentence in the description of the full attack action you quoted is the location of the text you were looking for that explains TWF is limited to the full attack action; you're right that it isn't in the TWF description you quoted.

The point I was making was that extra attacks from TWF and Natural Attacks were treated exactly like Iterative attacks, so as far as rulings go, if iterative attacks are allowed, then TWF and natural attacks should as well. But I was guided to a post that explicitly stated that you guys did NOT want Spell Combat and TWF working together. Even though I don't agree with it, it's clear that's how it is supposed to be. Simply adding the sentence "You cannot use two weapon fighting with this ability." like there is on a lot of other abilities would've prevented that whole misunderstanding.


Batman vs. Punisher vs. Iron Man vs. Hawkeye vs. Green Arrow, five man battle royale of Marvel and DC's most well known non-powered characters.

They have one hour to prepare and do not know who they will battle exactly. The field is, let's say Death Valley at midnight on a cloudless night with a full moon, all approaching from opposite ends of the desert.

They are allowed only as much equipment as they can carry or wear, so Iron Man does not have access to like 372 suits when he needs to change styles.

What is the order of elimination? Who survives to the end? Why?

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Redbeard the Scruffy wrote:

Batman vs. Punisher vs. Iron Man vs. Hawkeye vs. Green Arrow, five man battle royale of Marvel and DC's most well known non-powered characters.

They have one hour to prepare and do not know who they will battle exactly. The field is, let's say Death Valley at midnight on a cloudless night with a full moon, all approaching from opposite ends of the desert.

They are allowed only as much equipment as they can carry or wear, so Iron Man does not have access to like 372 suits when he needs to change styles.

What is the order of elimination? Who survives to the end? Why?

You gave them an hour to prepare. Batman only needed 15 minutes. He spent 15 minutes getting his sleep for the day, 2 minutes deducting who he would be combating, 30 seconds eating a Bat-cookie and another 15 minutes putting together the gear/information and strategy he would need to win. He used the extra time to brood about justice.

Batman wins.
The order is Punisher, Green Arrow, Hawkeye, Ironman.

Batman leaked a video to Ironman of the Punisher badmouthing Pepper. Convinced Hawkeye that Green Arrow worked for Hydra, and then took out Hawkeye and Ironman from behind when they were mid forearm grab cementing their team-up to take Batman down.

But I'd like to see Mark's answer too. ^.^

Scarab Sages

I've got a question involving the Hunter Animal Focus ability, Planar Focus and Tremor Boots.

If I were to use Animal Focus combined with Planar Focus to gain the Earth Elemental aspect, which grants me a burrow speed, would I be able to use Tremor Boots while burrowing, which grant tremorsense?

The boots say you must be "standing on solid ground". Which is why I wondered if burrowing would count for that.

Paizo Employee Designer

BigP4nda wrote:
Who would I need to talk to about getting a Kickstarter advertisement included in Paizo shipments like the ones I get with mine?

I'm actually not sure about who that would be. While the warehouse staff deal with packages, I doubt they are the ones who make that call. Maybe ask customer service? They tend to know a lot themselves and know who to ask if they don't know.

Paizo Employee Designer

Redbeard the Scruffy wrote:

Batman vs. Punisher vs. Iron Man vs. Hawkeye vs. Green Arrow, five man battle royale of Marvel and DC's most well known non-powered characters.

They have one hour to prepare and do not know who they will battle exactly. The field is, let's say Death Valley at midnight on a cloudless night with a full moon, all approaching from opposite ends of the desert.

They are allowed only as much equipment as they can carry or wear, so Iron Man does not have access to like 372 suits when he needs to change styles.

What is the order of elimination? Who survives to the end? Why?

My answer was going to be similar to Lorewalker:

Basically, Batman already has contingency plans to take out all other supers, so during the hour of "preparation," he's already ready. Since he doesn't know who he will battle according to the set up, if he can't deduce who it is using his detective skills, he's ready for everyone anyway. He might as well spend the hour setting up particularly elaborate contingencies against the most likely opposition (sabotaging Tony's suit, etc). Then, when the actual fight happens, he can just trigger the contingency plans and win.

Paizo Employee Designer

Lorewalker wrote:

I've got a question involving the Hunter Animal Focus ability, Planar Focus and Tremor Boots.

If I were to use Animal Focus combined with Planar Focus to gain the Earth Elemental aspect, which grants me a burrow speed, would I be able to use Tremor Boots while burrowing, which grant tremorsense?

The boots say you must be "standing on solid ground". Which is why I wondered if burrowing would count for that.

It looks like perhaps technically it doesn't work, though it seems like if the boots are in contact with the ground, it probably should.

Scarab Sages

Mark Seifter wrote:
Lorewalker wrote:

I've got a question involving the Hunter Animal Focus ability, Planar Focus and Tremor Boots.

If I were to use Animal Focus combined with Planar Focus to gain the Earth Elemental aspect, which grants me a burrow speed, would I be able to use Tremor Boots while burrowing, which grant tremorsense?

The boots say you must be "standing on solid ground". Which is why I wondered if burrowing would count for that.

It looks like perhaps technically it doesn't work, though it seems like if the boots are in contact with the ground, it probably should.

That's about what I expected, thank you for your answer!

I'm just trying to find a good 'according to the book' way to navigate underground. Obviously other burrowing creatures can do it, even those without tremorsense, which wouldn't detect non-moving material anyway.
Burrow is just so very sadly rules-lite in Pathfinder.

Any advice?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Mark, I have a APG question. There was a 9 post thread about this subject 5 years ago but no definitive agreement.

Per the APG: Pole Fighting (Ex): At 2nd level, as an immediate action, a polearm master can shorten the grip on his spear or polearm with reach and use it against adjacent targets. This action results in a –4 penalty on attack rolls with that weapon until he spends another immediate action to return to the normal grip. The penalty is reduced by –1 for every four levels beyond 2nd. This ability replaces bravery."

My question is: if he shortens the grip, can the fighter still threaten 10 ft away or is he only limited to threatening 5 ft when he shortens his grip?

Thx


DmRrostarr wrote:

Mark, I have a APG question. There was a 9 post thread about this subject 5 years ago but no definitive agreement.

Per the APG: Pole Fighting (Ex): At 2nd level, as an immediate action, a polearm master can shorten the grip on his spear or polearm with reach and use it against adjacent targets. This action results in a –4 penalty on attack rolls with that weapon until he spends another immediate action to return to the normal grip. The penalty is reduced by –1 for every four levels beyond 2nd. This ability replaces bravery."

My question is: if he shortens the grip, can the fighter still threaten 10 ft away or is he only limited to threatening 5 ft when he shortens his grip?

Thx

Bolded parts are my emphasis

It requires you to spend another immediate action in order to "return to normal grip", meaning you would have to shift your grip back in order to use it like a normal polearm weapon. While it is not explicitly stated that is the case, I think it's safe to say that's the intention. I'll let Mark provide a better confirmation.


Pathfinder has been around for about 7 years now, and Paizo has notably grown more comfortable with the Pathfinder system and rulings. My question is if there is any talk about a possible "reworking" in the process? Basically going back and redoing the core rulebook to address all of the years of errata and FAQ, strip away unnecessary terms, simplify rulings, and essentially clean up the entire system now that Paizo has had plenty of experience with it and has had time to establish more concrete rulings.

My main concern is the level of complexity there is between what terms mean what, what actions fit into what, and the ever so popular RAI vs RAW. With many feats referencing terms that aren't used any more, some feats overstepping others, classes having better and clearer descriptions for abilities, etc.

EDIT: I guess you could call this Pathfinder 2.0 or 2E


Just noticed something.

Multiplying Damage wrote:
Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.

If you were to multiply the original result by 2 twice it would actually be 4 times, not 3.

(6*2)+(6*2) = 24 = 6*4


Pathfinder Companion, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
BigP4nda wrote:

Just noticed something.

Multiplying Damage wrote:
Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.

If you were to multiply the original result by 2 twice it would actually be 4 times, not 3.

(6*2)+(6*2) = 24 = 6*4

I believe the point is that the multiplier is treated as if it were bonus damage to the origina damage. So when you double the original result, and double it again, both are added to the original damage once, not the original damage twice.

So if the original damage equals X, and the damage in excess of the original damage equals Y, and therefore X = Y, doubling it once is X + Y which is equal to X * 2, but you don't go X + Y + X + Y because you only dealt the original damage once, and it is instead X + Y + Y, or X * 3.

Right?


Luthorne wrote:
BigP4nda wrote:

Just noticed something.

Multiplying Damage wrote:
Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.

If you were to multiply the original result by 2 twice it would actually be 4 times, not 3.

(6*2)+(6*2) = 24 = 6*4

I believe the point is that the multiplier is treated as if it were bonus damage to the origina damage. So when you double the original result, and double it again, both are added to the original damage once, not the original damage twice.

So if the original damage equals X, and the damage in excess of the original damage equals Y, and therefore X = Y, doubling it once is X + Y which is equal to X * 2, but you don't go X + Y + X + Y because you only dealt the original damage once, and it is instead X + Y + Y, or X * 3.

Right?

Correct.

Paizo Employee Designer

5 people marked this as a favorite.

Aaaaaaaand Ultimate Intrigue FAQ is live! Just like for Occult, it comes with several speedy answers to top Intrigue questions.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Excellent. Thank you! ^_^


Thanks, Mark!

4,301 to 4,350 of 6,818 << first < prev | 82 | 83 | 84 | 85 | 86 | 87 | 88 | 89 | 90 | 91 | 92 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.