Story Summoner - Summon Arcana Question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So I've been taking a look at the new Story Summoner Archetype from "The Harrow Handbook" and found I have a question about it's Summon Arcana ability.

Does this ability allow you to apply multiple templates to the same summon? Say, you choose to summon a Celestial Dire Rat. Will the template from the card be applied on top of that? Giving you the chance of summoning a Celestial Fiendish Dire Rat. Or does it replace it?


"If a card has more than one alignment—such as a lawful evil or chaotic good card—the summoner can choose which template to apply to the summoned creature."

Normally, when you summon monsters that have a Neutral alignment, you add the fiendish or celestial template (depending on if your character is evil or good, or your choice if your character is neutral). If the monster you summon already has an alignment, then it does not gain the celestial or fiendish template.

It seems to me as though this ability would allow you to add the celestial template to a good-aligned monster that you summon (assuming you drew a card that says "good alignment), or add the fiendish template to an evil-aligned monster.

I could be wrong though, the wording of that ability seems a bit wonky.. it's also after midnight though, so......


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Here's my understanding of Summon Arcana.

Say you're a Chaotic Evil Summoner and start to cast Summon Monster IV to summon a neutral Dire Wolf. You grab your Harrow Deck and draw The Empty Throne card. The Empty Throne is the Lawful Good card of Crowns. Normally, with you being CE, you would slap the Fiendish or Entropic Template on top of the Dire Wolf. However since you drew a LG card, you could instead choose to put Resolute or Celestial onto the Dire Wolf.

Also a Chaotic Evil Summoner who drew a LG card could choose to summon a monster that's Lawful or good like Hound archon instead of having stick to an evil monster like a Babau.


I know this is thread necromancy but where in the rules does it say a summoner has to summon creatures of his alignment? I know summoning a Babau makes it an evil spell but I thought only clerics where restricted by alignment spells. Is this an error or am I missing something?


Winfred wrote:
I know this is thread necromancy but where in the rules does it say a summoner has to summon creatures of his alignment? I know summoning a Babau makes it an evil spell but I thought only clerics where restricted by alignment spells. Is this an error or am I missing something?

A quote from the rules : Summon Monster marked with an "*" are summoned with the celestial template, if you are good, and the fiendish template, if you are evil. If you are neutral, you may choose which template to apply to the creature.

So it depends on your alignment. This is of course only for the creatures that would be getting a template. It defaults to your alignment.

Also a necro of only 2 months is nothing on this forum, So don't worry about it.


I'm in the process of creating a Story summoner. And I didn't think the rules was that complicated until I went on these forums looking for an answer to my question: If I summon a celestial tiger and draw an evil card can I have a Fiendish Celestial Tiger?

The text: "(...)a story summoner can use a complete harrow deck he owns as an additional focus component for his summon monster spell-like ability. When he does so, the summoner draws a random card from the deck and applies a simple template to the summoned monster based on the card's alignment (...).", feels straight forward. When you summon you can choose to draw a card and add a template no matter what you summon.

I have searched for the restriction in the summoning of the summoner but unable to see where it says that a LG summoner can't summon a Babau. If someone knows where please show me.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Story Summoner - Summon Arcana Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.