Conjuration specialist


Rules Questions


Quick question:

I know that when I level up I don´t have to chose a Conjuration spell. But what are the rules when I prepare my spells?
Must one of the spell be of the Conjuration school? The rules says:

"Each arcane school gives the wizard a number of school powers. In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot."

Why I ask is in Hero Lab you must prepare a Cojuration spell in the bonus slot, but is seems to me that the rules say "can" and not "must".

Asmo


The bonus slot can only be used for your specialty. "Can" in this case means you do not have to memorize the spell if you choose not to. It does not mean you can use it for another school.


On a related note: next session we will reach level 4, and I´m going to increase my INT to 18.
Would that give me one bonus 1 level spell and 1 bonus 2 level spell,(and 2 regular 2 level spells) for a total of 4 spells?

Asmo


At level 4 with an 18 Intelligence you would have:
Level 0: 4
Level 1: 5 = 3 (base) +1 (bonus from intelligence) +1 (specialization)
Level 2: 4 = 2 (base) +1 (bonus from intelligence) +1 (specialization)


So.. is that a yes or no to my question?


Your question was a bit confusing (lacked specificity) so I answered the best I could.

What I wrote is how many spells per day that you have as a level 4 Wizard with an 18 intelligence.

Were you asking about something other than spells per day?


Ok, I´ll try again: when I level up, I will raise my INT to 18. I´m assuming that it will affect how many new spells I get when I level up.

I think that I will get one new first level spell to add (because of 18 INT), two new second level spells (two new spells when I level up), and one second level spell (because of 18 INT).

Do I get 4 new spells to add to my spellbook when I reach level 4 and raise my INT to 18?

Asmo


No 2 new spells pr level. The bonus spells have nothing to do with spells in the book.

Silver Crusade

The bonus spells from the chart for high ability scores are the number of extra spells you can prepare per day (for a wizard). They are not additional spells you add to your spellbook (for a wizard) for levelling up.

Gauss wrote:


A level 4 Wizard with an 18 Intelligence can prepare each day:
Level 0: 4
Level 1: 5 = 3 (base) +1 (bonus from intelligence) +1 (specialization)
Level 2: 4 = 2 (base) +1 (bonus from intelligence) +1 (specialization)
edited slightly

And you learn 2 spells at each level for free.


They are correct, each time you level you only get 2 spells. Intelligence has nothing to do with that.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

when you prepare spells, you have a free extra slot for spells in your school and only for that school.

i'm pretty sure that is what you were asking.


It's true that it is "can" and not "must".

You are welcome to leave that slot empty if you prefer.

You can prepare a conjuration spell there. You cannot prepare any other kind of spell there.

There are two ways in which you "get spells" when you level up:
1. The number of spells you can cast per day increases.
2. You learn two new spells automatically.

The two new spells can be of any level you can cast, and are not affected by your intelligence.

The number of spells you can cast per day increases, but just in the usual way: Add the spells on the chart to the bonus spells from high int.

If you're thinking like sorcerer known spells, this is different. Wizards can know every spell on the wizard list, if they have enough time and money.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

Wizard - Spellbooks:
Quote:

A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic).

This means that as a Level 1 Wizard with 17 Int, you should have started with this in your spellbook:
Every 0-Level (Cantrip) from the wizard spell list.
6 1st-level spells (3+INT)

At 2nd level, you should have added 2 more 1st level spells
At 3rd level, you should have added 2 more spells (of either 1st or 2nd level)

When you advance to 4th level, you can add 2 more spells (of either 1st or 2nd level).

In addition to these 'free' spells, you are able to copy spells from other wizard's spellbooks or from scrolls, if they are able to be comprehended by you (less than or equal to your int score-10).

These are just the spells that are written down in your spellbook - these are the spells you 'know'. This has nothing to do with how many you can cast in a day.

Wizard - Spells:
Quote:

A wizard casts arcane spells drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list presented in Spell Lists. A wizard must choose and prepare his spells ahead of time.

To learn, prepare, or cast a spell, the wizard must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a wizard's spell is 10 + the spell level + the wizard's Intelligence modifier.

A wizard can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day. His base daily spell allotment is given on Table: Wizard. In addition, he receives bonus spells per day if he has a high Intelligence score (see Table: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells).

A wizard may know any number of spells. He must choose and prepare his spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying his spellbook. While studying, the wizard decides which spells to prepare.

This means that at 1st level with 17 int, you can prepare:
4 0-Level (3 from level, 1 from spec)
3 1-Level (1 from level, 1 from spec, 1 from INT)

At 2nd level:
5 0-Level (4 from level, 1 from spec)
4 1-Level (2 from level, 1 from spec, 1 from INT)

At 3rd level:
5 0-Level (4 from level, 1 from spec)
4 1-Level (2 from level, 1 from spec, 1 from INT)
3 2-Level (1 from level, 1 from spec, 1 from INT)

At 4th level:
5 0-Level (4 from level, 1 from spec)
5 1-Level (3 from level, 1 from spec, 1 from INT)
4 2-Level (2 from level, 1 from spec, 1 from INT)

The spells granted by the school specialization can only be filled with a spell from that school.


Thanks for the answers!

Another one: we have found a wand of Lightning Bolt (my guess,I´ve not been able to identify it yet). Lightning Bolt belongs to my opposition school, so I wonder what the rules are regarding this? I´ve been reading the rules (p. 458 of the Core Rule book), but i´m not sure if I´m understanding the rules.

- Can I use the wand,even if it´s from my opposition school? Perhaps with some penality?

- Do I have to make some check? Spellcraft or Use Magic Device, or somesuch?

My wizard is currently lelvel 4, so she can´t cast Lightning Bolt yet.

Asmo


Asmo wrote:

Thanks for the answers!

Another one: we have found a wand of Lightning Bolt (my guess,I´ve not been able to identify it yet). Lightning Bolt belongs to my opposition school, so I wonder what the rules are regarding this? I´ve been reading the rules (p. 458 of the Core Rule book), but i´m not sure if I´m understanding the rules.

- Can I use the wand,even if it´s from my opposition school? Perhaps with some penality?

- Do I have to make some check? Spellcraft or Use Magic Device, or somesuch?

My wizard is currently lelvel 4, so she can´t cast Lightning Bolt yet.

Asmo

You can use the wand normally.


Want to really blow your mind, read this for your conjurer.

Treantmonk's Guide to Pathfinder Wizards

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Conjuration specialist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.