Can a Wizard 1 / Cleric 1 spontaneously cast prepared wizard spells?


Rules Questions

551 to 558 of 558 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>

Redneckdevil wrote:
BigDTBone wrote:
@redneckdevil: I don't read it as that restrictive. I think if that were the case then a sorcerer 1/ wizard 5 would only get +1 damage to his burning hands because if the sorcerer had cast the spell it would have been 1d4. And wouldn't get to add damage to his fireball at all because the sorcerer can't cast that spell. :-/

The if u are using the spell from the sorcerer spell slot then it would be 1d4 and half of what level wizard added to it. In intensity it states you cast the spell just like in the bloodlines where it doesnt matter who casts the spell, the dmg/dc/etc is based off the class who cast it and the extra damage from intensity woukd be based off half whatever levels he has in wizard.

thats what i was talking about is that the faq lets the bonuses be applied to all spells we cast no matter the class, but it woukd still be based off the class who has the ability.
it woukd make sense no that a +1 sorcerer/+5 wizard that the benefit woukd match (when its not static) based on the level of the wizard?

I think I am following you, but I think that the spell variables (including castability*) are determined by the slot that powers the spell, not by the class which grants the variation. Unless the variation specifically tells you to use a particular method (ie "wizard level" not "caster level"). Because this restriction doesn't exist in spontaneous spells I do not believe the wizard would be limited to swapping what the cleric in him could cast.

This extends beyond this scenario. For intensify, (as an example) if you multi-class fighter 2/ wizard x and you have magical knack trait which increases your caster level ( but not your wizard level) then you would still add x/2 damage not (x+2)/2 damage.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
shallowsoul wrote:

Not sure if anyone has mentioned this but I found something in the PRD under the multiclass section.

Note that there are a number of effects and prerequisites that rely on a character's level or Hit Dice. Such effects are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class. The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total number of class levels that a character possesses of that particular class.

Shhhhh! They're all having way too much fun arguing.

Also, the FAQ on Sorcerer Bloodline abilities contradicts that rule.


How does it all end?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

MechE_ wrote:
I think it's safe to say that this thread has outlived it's usefulness.

I couldn't agree more.

Silver Crusade

Chemlak wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:

Not sure if anyone has mentioned this but I found something in the PRD under the multiclass section.

Note that there are a number of effects and prerequisites that rely on a character's level or Hit Dice. Such effects are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class. The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total number of class levels that a character possesses of that particular class.

Shhhhh! They're all having way too much fun arguing.

Also, the FAQ on Sorcerer Bloodline abilities contradicts that rule.

So let the FAQ take care of the Sorcerer only.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
Maybe I missed it (it's a long thread), but if most of us are agreed on RAI and this debate is simply to clear up RAW, why can the cleric not change other character's prepared spells into cure spells (since the ability says "any prepared spell")?

The people that let the Wizard do it also are happy to let them convert enemy spell slots.

Webstore Gninja Minion

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Removed some posts, locking thread. FAQ it, flag it, and move on.

551 to 558 of 558 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Wizard 1 / Cleric 1 spontaneously cast prepared wizard spells? All Messageboards