Unsanctioned Knowledge: can I take it more than once?


Rules Questions


I've seached and couldn't find an answer, so if it's out there, I apologize in advance.

The general rule of feats is you can't take them more than once unless it says you can. Does this apply to Unsanctioned Knowledge as well?

Arguments for: it gives you a different bonus (spells) each time, and you can generally take feats that grant slight different bonuses each time ( Weapon Focus(different) or Skill Focus (different), and this feat can easily be understood as Unsanctioned Knowledge (spells w, x, y, z) or even US (bard - specific spells) preventing you from choosing from the same list more than once.

Arguments against: nowhere does it say you can.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You pretty much answered your own question. It does not say it can be taken multiple times, so it cannot.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

chaoseffect wrote:
You pretty much answered your own question. It does not say it can be taken multiple times, so it cannot.

+1

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Bjørn Røyrvik wrote:

I've seached and couldn't find an answer, so if it's out there, I apologize in advance.

The general rule of feats is you can't take them more than once unless it says you can. Does this apply to Unsanctioned Knowledge as well?

It applies to ANY feat maDde now, in the past, and in the future, by Paizo, any first, second, or third party. (I've got a copy of the 40th printing from 2053 delivered via TARDIS and that rule's still there :)

No feat can be taken more than once UNLESS SPECIFICALLY EXEMPTED IN THE DESCRIPTION OF THE FEAT ITSELF.


I have always felt that what you do in the privacy of your own home was up to you. I say talk to your group.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
donnald johnson wrote:
I have always felt that what you do in the privacy of your own home was up to you. I say talk to your group.

Usually when someone comes up with a question like this in this venue, it's because they've been there, and were less than happy with the answer they got, and are of the opinion that the message board is some form of appeal.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

LazarX wrote:
been there ... less than happy with the answer ... the message board is some form of appeal.

Sad but true


donnald johnson wrote:
I have always felt that what you do in the privacy of your own home was up to you. I say talk to your group.

True, but this is the rule forum, not the house rule or advice area, so you will get the actual rule if you come here to ask.


Thanks for the responses.
I'd already allowed the paladins to take UK more than once, and I'll allow them to keep it, but I like to know how the rules are intended to work, even if I throw them out the window.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unsanctioned Knowledge: can I take it more than once? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.