Calculating CR of an NPC with character class levels


Rules Questions


I thought, if I made an NPC of say, Witch level 4, that would be CR 4. But that can't be right, because that would make one level 4 character, a fair fight for a TEAM of level 4 characters.

Please help, I've always been confused by this stage of creating encounters. :)


Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

From looking up examples from different classes, it appears that in Pathfinder a 4th level witch from a standard power race would be CR 3 (class level minus 1), and a 4th level adept would be CR 2 (class level minus 2). I do not recall seeing this explicitly spelled out anywhere, but every official NPC stat block I have seen seems to follow that pattern.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Gamemastering wrote:
Adding NPCs: Creatures whose Hit Dice are solely a factor of their class levels and not a feature of their race, such as all of the PC races detailed in Races , are factored into combats a little differently than normal monsters or monsters with class levels. A creature that possesses class levels, but does not have any racial Hit Dice, is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –1. A creature that only possesses non-player class levels (such as a warrior or adept) is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –2. If this reduction would reduce a creature's CR to below 1, its CR drops one step on the following progression for each step below 1 this reduction would make: 1/2, 1/3, 1/4, 1/6, 1/8.

Also note that the PCs are expected to win.

"Normal" challenge fights are not meant to be "fair". They are, in fact, heavily weighted in the PCs favour.

For fair fights read THIS and THIS.


http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/gamemastering.html wrote:


Adding NPCs: Creatures whose Hit Dice are solely a factor of their class levels and not a feature of their race, such as all of the PC races detailed in Races, are factored into combats a little differently than normal monsters or monsters with class levels. A creature that possesses class levels, but does not have any racial Hit Dice, is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –1. A creature that only possesses non-player class levels (such as a warrior or adept) is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –2. If this reduction would reduce a creature's CR to below 1, its CR drops one step on the following progression for each step below 1 this reduction would make: 1/2, 1/3, 1/4, 1/6, 1/8.


Thanks everyone, that's cleared things up a lot! Great links too, I'll have a proper read when I get time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Calculating CR of an NPC with character class levels All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions