Inner Sea Gods - Boon conflicts / errata

Rules Questions

The Exchange

39 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

OK. So there's been a bazillion threads this week on issues with the Deific Obedience Boons. So I'm going to post the questions (for Paizo), FAQ it, and move on.

1. Can the second level ability "Aligned Class" of the Evangelist Prestige Class be used to increase the features gained from a Prestige Class the character has taken earlier?


Aligned Class (Ex): Evangelists come from many different backgrounds, and they show an unusual range of diversity. At 2nd level, the evangelist must choose a class she belonged to before adding the prestige class to be her aligned class. She gains all the class features for this class, essentially adding every evangelist level beyond ist to her aligned class to determine what class features she gains. She still retains the Hit Dice, base attack bonus, saving throw bonuses, and skill ranks of the prestige class, but gains all other class features ofher aligned class as well as those of the evangelist prestige class.

Could a Sorcerer 5 / Dragon Disciple 1 / Evangelist 2 choose Dragon Disciple as her aligned class?

2. Are some of the spell-like abilities granted by the Deific Obedience boon showing the wrong number of uses per day?

Calistria - Sentinel wrote:

1: Lucky Strike (Sp) divine favor 1/day, align weapon (chaotic only) 2/day, or keen edge 1/day

Should divine favor be 3/day?
Irori - Sentinel wrote:

1: Masterful Warrior (Sp) true strike 1/day, false life 2/day, or haste 3/day

Should the uses per day of true strike and haste be reversed?

3. Some boons may allow "doubling up" of ability scores bonuses to a specific action in combination with other mechanics. Is this correct or a misreading?

Calistria - Exalted wrote:

3: Protective Grace (Ex) You may add your Charisma bonus to your AC while wearing light or no armor. This bonus applies against touch attacks. Any condition that would cause you to lose your Dexterity bonus to AC also causes you to lose your Charisma bonus to AC.

If a character already has an ability such as the Lore Oracle's Sidestep Secret revelation that allows her to use her Charisma modifier to Armor Class in place of Dexterity, would these stack for a net of 2x Charisma to AC when wearing light or no armor?
Desna - Evangelist wrote:

2: Starlit Caster (Su) Over time you have learned to focus your magical power to better damage agents of evil. You add your Charisma bonus on your concentration checks, as well as on your caster level checks to overcome spell resistance.

Does a caster that already adds Charisma to concentration checks (like a sorcerer or oracle) add double her Charisma bonus after receiving this boon?
Erastil - Evangelist wrote:

3: Faithful Archer (Ex) You are particularly skilled at using Erastil's favored weapon. When using a longbow, you add your Wisdom bonus on attack and damage rolls against targets within 30 feet.

If a character already may use Wisdom in place of Dexterity for attack rolls (such as a Zen Archer Monk or via the Guided Hand feat) could the character use double her Wisdom bonus on attack rolls against targets within 30 feet?

4. Are Pharasma's Exalted and Evangelist boons reversed? Pharasma's section has the Exalted boons followed by the Evangelist boons. For every other deity the Evangelist comes first. Are the entire layout blocks reversed or just the headers?

Are the boons correct for the existing headers or should Preserver be the first boon for Evangelist and Quietude for Exalted?

The Exchange

Addendum: As a few people have told me there are indeed several other FAQ candidates among the boons. But most of those fall into an "edge case" which requires a very specific set of circumstances. My intention was to post the more general FAQ items. The individual boon questions probably deserve their own posts.

Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Developers are less likely to answer FAQed post when you lump all the questions into a single post. You should spread them out over multiple posts and have them collect FAQ clicks independently.

What Raving Dork said. I think that was one of the things they listed in the "How to make a FAQ request" thread.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies, Representative - D20 Hobbies

This is a good "Errata list" thread and a bad "FAQ thread".

Ravingdork wrote:
Developers are less likely to answer FAQed post when you lump all the questions into a single post. You should spread them out over multiple posts and have them collect FAQ clicks independently.

This. However, it's worth noting that you can do each one as a separate post in the same thread, and that spreads it out enough to make it work for them.

I clicked the FAQ button anyway

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inner Sea Gods - Boon conflicts / errata All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.