Crafting Arcane Bond


Rules Questions


If my Arcane Bond is an item, such as a Ring, as I understand it I can craft it as if I had the feat Craft Ring, but I've always had problems understanding the nuances of crafting items at its most basic level, and Arcane Bond messes with those rules a bit.

Do I have to meet the level requirements necessary to enchant it with a particular ability?

Do I have to be able to cast the spell (or have access to it via scroll, etc.) required for crafting that ability?

Can I enchant the ring with multiple abilities, such as combining a Ring of Sustenance with a Ring of Invisibility and then with a Ring of Swimming (for instance)?


Crafting a magic item requires you have the appropriate craft feat (ring), since you have the bonded item (ring) you automatically qualify for crafting it (this particular ring only). Any other requirement can be bypassed at a penalty to the increase in craft DC. For every requirement you do not meet the DC goes up by +5. If there is another caster or a scroll with the spell willing to assist you, then you can use them to meet 1 prerequisite (except the crafting feat itself).
I assume you already know you cannot create other magic rings with the bonded item craft ability as you do not actually have the feat.
I think you should be able to add multiple abilities, but they might not work in tandem (one or the other effect can activate at a time?). It works with weapons that they can work in tandem though, so I am not certain, I am not certain if there is a cap either.


Guardianlord wrote:

Crafting a magic item requires you have the appropriate craft feat (ring), since you have the bonded item (ring) you automatically qualify for crafting it (this particular ring only). Any other requirement can be bypassed at a penalty to the increase in craft DC. For every requirement you do not meet the DC goes up by +5. If there is another caster or a scroll with the spell willing to assist you, then you can use them to meet 1 prerequisite (except the crafting feat itself).

I assume you already know you cannot create other magic rings with the bonded item craft ability as you do not actually have the feat.
I think you should be able to add multiple abilities, but they might not work in tandem (one or the other effect can activate at a time?). It works with weapons that they can work in tandem though, so I am not certain, I am not certain if there is a cap either.

So I need to meet the level requisite and the spell requisite or suffer a -5 penalty to the craft DC each time. I assume that penalty applies to the Spellcraft check which I will have to make regardless, or does it being a bonded item affect that too?

Does anyone know if I can apply multiple abilities to the ring? Magic Weapons (for instance) exist with multiple abilities but there are no standard magic rings which do, not that I know of...


"A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat."

So you must be 7th level to forge a bonding ring since the feat prerequisite is 7th level.


Arcane bond changes the need for feats but otherwise does not change the crafting rules.


Mojorat wrote:
Arcane bond changes the need for feats but otherwise does not change the crafting rules.

What are the 'crafting rules' for giving multiple abilities to a bonded object?


The most expensive ability in an item is crafted at normal cost and every additional ability at normal cost x 1.5.

Quote:
If the item is one that occupies a specific place on a character's body, the cost of adding any additional ability to that item increases by 50%. For example, if a character adds the power to confer invisibility to her ring of protection 2, the cost of adding this ability is the same as for creating a ring of invisibility multiplied by 1.5.

Edit: I should have said that the most economical way to craft an item with multiple abilities is to craft the most expensive ability first at normal cost, with other abilities at 150% normal cost. The example given in the CRB shows Invisibility added onto a Ring of Protection +2, which can be done but is more expensive than the reverse, adding Protection +2 to a Ring of Invisibility.


Zog of Deadwood wrote:

The most expensive ability in an item is crafted at normal cost and every additional ability at normal cost x 1.5.

Quote:
If the item is one that occupies a specific place on a character's body, the cost of adding any additional ability to that item increases by 50%. For example, if a character adds the power to confer invisibility to her ring of protection 2, the cost of adding this ability is the same as for creating a ring of invisibility multiplied by 1.5.
Edit: I should have said that the most economical way to craft an item with multiple abilities is to craft the most expensive ability first at normal cost, with other abilities at 150% normal cost. The example given in the CRB shows Invisibility added onto a Ring of Protection +2, which can be done but is more expensive than the reverse, adding Protection +2 to a Ring of Invisibility.

Thanks, that's exactly what I was looking for.

I imagine the character will want to continuously 'upgrade' his bonded item, and it would seem that he can do so at 75% normal cost (150% for additional ability x 50% for bonded object).


Not sure where you are getting the half cost from?


Lifat wrote:
Not sure where you are getting the half cost from?

Because adding abilities to a bonded item works like crafting, and crafting cost is half the base cost of the item.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Wiggz wrote:
Guardianlord wrote:

Crafting a magic item requires you have the appropriate craft feat (ring), since you have the bonded item (ring) you automatically qualify for crafting it (this particular ring only). Any other requirement can be bypassed at a penalty to the increase in craft DC. For every requirement you do not meet the DC goes up by +5. If there is another caster or a scroll with the spell willing to assist you, then you can use them to meet 1 prerequisite (except the crafting feat itself).

I assume you already know you cannot create other magic rings with the bonded item craft ability as you do not actually have the feat.
I think you should be able to add multiple abilities, but they might not work in tandem (one or the other effect can activate at a time?). It works with weapons that they can work in tandem though, so I am not certain, I am not certain if there is a cap either.

So I need to meet the level requisite and the spell requisite or suffer a -5 penalty to the craft DC each time. I assume that penalty applies to the Spellcraft check which I will have to make regardless, or does it being a bonded item affect that too?

Does anyone know if I can apply multiple abilities to the ring? Magic Weapons (for instance) exist with multiple abilities but there are no standard magic rings which do, not that I know of...

Basically here's how the rules go.

Pretend you don't have the arcane bond feature And instead substitute the item craft feats that would be appropriate for your arcane bond item. Now pretend you're crafting a standard magic item and follow all of the normal procedures, requirements, spell craft dc adjustments, costs etc. When you're done forget about the pretend feats and put in the arcane bond designation back.

Basically ALL the arcane bond feature does is let you pretend you have the magic item creation feat(s) you need to get the enchantment done. Everything else, you're still on the hook for as per standard, including DM approval for whatever monstrosity you're going to create. And you get to whip one spell out your library once per day.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crafting Arcane Bond All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.