Question about Rings of Wizardry?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I was wondering if wearing multiple Rings of Wizardry stack? AKA could you wear 2 Rings of Wizardry I for 4 xs the number of first level spells? It does not say anywhere that I could find if this would work or not, I was just wondering what the community thought about it. We have two Wizards in our party and each has a ring, one of them bought the farm last game and the player wants to bring in a different type of character instead of us having him raised. The DM is kind of new and not sure how this would work. Her internet was down so I said that I would post this question. We know that ultimately it is up to the Dm but she wanted to see what other more experienced DM's thought before she makes up her mind. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You're in unknown territory. There is no rules text that addresses this. Or rather, your GM has equal backing to rule either way. And I don't think we need an FAQ on this.


Not 4X. Each would add back the number. Thus, if you could cast 5 1st level spells and wore one ring, then you'd have 10. Two rings= 15, not 20.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The standard rule is that two doublings equal a triple. so you'd get 3x the slots total.


I don't believe you can. You can wear different level rings. And really, that's probably better. Get one second and one first level ring of wizardry. I wouldn't allow it

The reason is the text which says: "The wearer’s arcane spells per day are doubled for one specific spell level."

If you wear one, it's doubled. If you wear two, it's still doubled.

Keep in mind that a wizard could never get double 5 spells doubled to 10 because it only doubles the base spells per level, not the bonus for high intelligence. And the wizard gets four first level spells at 7th level -- doubled then to eight -- plus intelligence modifier.

"Bonus spells from high ability scores or school specialization are not doubled."


Just out of curiosity, why do you want/need that many 1st level spells anyway?

Liberty's Edge

TyrKnight wrote:

I don't believe you can. You can wear different level rings. And really, that's probably better. Get one second and one first level ring of wizardry. I wouldn't allow it

The reason is the text which says: "The wearer’s arcane spells per day are doubled for one specific spell level."

If you wear one, it's doubled. If you wear two, it's still doubled.

If a fighter had a feat that let him do double damage and he rolled a crit with his scimitar would you tell him it didn't count because he already did double damage?


ShadowcatX wrote:
TyrKnight wrote:

I don't believe you can. You can wear different level rings. And really, that's probably better. Get one second and one first level ring of wizardry. I wouldn't allow it

The reason is the text which says: "The wearer’s arcane spells per day are doubled for one specific spell level."

If you wear one, it's doubled. If you wear two, it's still doubled.

If a fighter had a feat that let him do double damage and he rolled a crit with his scimitar would you tell him it didn't count because he already did double damage?

Bad analogies aside, the clear distinction is addressed above. The ring only doubles regular spell slots, not bonus spell slots. I don't think there's any RAW argument that spell provided by the Ring of Wizardry I would be doubled by another. Add to this, the fact that bonuses of the same type general don't stack, and it seems pretty apparent that you can't use both.


"If you wear one, it's doubled. If you wear two, it's still doubled."

"...bonuses of the same type general don't stack..."

Kinda what I was trying to say. Your way is perhaps more basic. It's been a long day. And a longer one tomorrow.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
ShadowcatX wrote:
TyrKnight wrote:

I don't believe you can. You can wear different level rings. And really, that's probably better. Get one second and one first level ring of wizardry. I wouldn't allow it

The reason is the text which says: "The wearer’s arcane spells per day are doubled for one specific spell level."

If you wear one, it's doubled. If you wear two, it's still doubled.

If a fighter had a feat that let him do double damage and he rolled a crit with his scimitar would you tell him it didn't count because he already did double damage?

A keen weapon and improved critical don't stack.


Diego Rossi wrote:


A keen weapon and improved critical don't stack.

Because they say they don't.

Follow the normal rules for applying this kind of effect with the double double = triple rule... Take the base, add the same amount, then add the same amount again.

If you have 4, that'd be 4+4+4= 12 + bonus

You only get two rings, if someone wants to use em both and 40k gold to simply triple their 1st level spells per day... ha, let em.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Remy Balster wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


A keen weapon and improved critical don't stack.

Because they say they don't.

Follow the normal rules for applying this kind of effect with the double double = triple rule... Take the base, add the same amount, then add the same amount again.

If you have 4, that'd be 4+4+4= 12 + bonus

You only get two rings, if someone wants to use em both and 40k gold to simply triple their 1st level spells per day... ha, let em.

It was about the example he made, not about the ring of wizardry.

Taking in consideration the gp cost of a ring of wizardry and the opportunity cost of wearing a second ring of wizardry instead of a ring of protection, I have no problem with the wizard tripling his first level spells.

Dark Archive

blope wrote:
Just out of curiosity, why do you want/need that many 1st level spells anyway?

My character already has a Ring of Wizardry I. My adventuring partner also had one but he died. I figured might as well put his on since I dont have any other rings. Not spending money for another one just being opportunistic


Malhavocblackthorne wrote:
blope wrote:
Just out of curiosity, why do you want/need that many 1st level spells anyway?
My character already has a Ring of Wizardry I. My adventuring partner also had one but he died. I figured might as well put his on since I dont have any other rings. Not spending money for another one just being opportunistic

Hrm, sell it to Raise him?

Grand Lodge

Remy Balster wrote:
Malhavocblackthorne wrote:
blope wrote:
Just out of curiosity, why do you want/need that many 1st level spells anyway?
My character already has a Ring of Wizardry I. My adventuring partner also had one but he died. I figured might as well put his on since I dont have any other rings. Not spending money for another one just being opportunistic
Hrm, sell it to Raise him?

Original post says that the player of the dead Wizard didn't want him raised, he wanted to play something else entirely.

While the extra 1st level spells aren't going to be terribly unbalancing, it might work better for the party to sell the spare ring for funds for some more... generally useful items for everyone in the party.

Or save it for that cohort Wizard...


kinevon wrote:
Original post says that the player of the dead Wizard didn't want him raised, he wanted to play something else entirely.

Ha, all the more reason to do it!

>.>
<.<

Liberty's Edge

Diego Rossi wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
TyrKnight wrote:

I don't believe you can. You can wear different level rings. And really, that's probably better. Get one second and one first level ring of wizardry. I wouldn't allow it

The reason is the text which says: "The wearer’s arcane spells per day are doubled for one specific spell level."

If you wear one, it's doubled. If you wear two, it's still doubled.

If a fighter had a feat that let him do double damage and he rolled a crit with his scimitar would you tell him it didn't count because he already did double damage?
A keen weapon and improved critical don't stack.

That has nothing to do with the question I asked.

Dark Archive

Remy Balster wrote:
Malhavocblackthorne wrote:
blope wrote:
Just out of curiosity, why do you want/need that many 1st level spells anyway?
My character already has a Ring of Wizardry I. My adventuring partner also had one but he died. I figured might as well put his on since I dont have any other rings. Not spending money for another one just being opportunistic
Hrm, sell it to Raise him?

Will probably sell it when we get somewhere I can but we are in the middle of a dungeon about a hundred miles from civilization right now. I was wondering for the shortterm gain it it was stackable.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Rings of Wizardry? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.