Elven dream speaker adding to slumber hex? Official ruling?


Advice

Liberty's Edge

Does anyone know the answer on this?

Grand Lodge

It appears the dreamspeaker racial ability only applies to spells cast, so no it doesn't work. Also, this is better found under the Rules Question section.

PFSRD wrote:
Dreamspeaker: A few elves have the ability to tap into the power of sleep, dreams, and prescient reverie. Elves with this racial trait add +1 to the saving throw DCs of spells of the divination school and sleep effects they cast. In addition, elves with Charisma scores of 15 or higher may use dream once per day as a spell-like ability (caster level is equal to the elf's character level). This racial trait replaces elven immunities.

Slumber is not a spell and it isn't cast.

Though if this is a home campaign you could probably get it houseruled.


I dunno... "sleep effects they cast". Might be some wiggle room there. No official ruling on it that I know of.

I'd like to say right now before the thread gets going. Gees, Grimmzorch. Thanx for opening up this can of worms! I predict a heated debate coming.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Lune wrote:

I dunno... "sleep effects they cast". Might be some wiggle room there. No official ruling on it that I know of.

I'd like to say right now before the thread gets going. Gees, Grimmzorch. Thanx for opening up this can of worms! I predict a heated debate coming.

Ah...no.

If we want to apply "cast" as a identifier...what components are used? V, M, S? Does he make concentration checks?

I play a witch and as much as it would be nice, just don't see it.

Home game/house rule sure.


Hexes are defined as "magic tricks," that use up a standard action, but do not provoke an attack of opportunity. Casting spells does provoke. Based purely off of this, I would say a hex is not "cast." It's a pretty semantic argument, but in the case of rules that are, at times, very semantic, judgements must be made based off of little things like this.


MendedWall12 wrote:
Hexes are defined as "magic tricks," that use up a standard action, but do not provoke an attack of opportunity. Casting spells does provoke.

Magic tricks? They're classified and defined as supernatural abilities. Though they've some rough spots(silly cackle hex facts...).


Hexes are not cast, and they are not spells, so it does not apply.

Liberty's Edge

Rerednaw wrote:
Lune wrote:

I dunno... "sleep effects they cast". Might be some wiggle room there. No official ruling on it that I know of.

I'd like to say right now before the thread gets going. Gees, Grimmzorch. Thanx for opening up this can of worms! I predict a heated debate coming.

Ah...no.

If we want to apply "cast" as a identifier...what components are used? V, M, S? Does he make concentration checks?

I play a witch and as much as it would be nice, just don't see it.

Home game/house rule sure.

Sorry I didn't mean to open up a can o worms just looking for things to ad for my Witch.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Elven dream speaker adding to slumber hex? Official ruling? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.