Crafting Items and Caster level

Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Lets say I want to craft a Belt of Giant Strength +2.

It has a Caster Level of 8 and a requirement of Craft Wonderous Item and Bull's Strength.

Lets say I meet those requirements but I'm 6th level. Can I craft the belt?

In the rules it says that if you don't meet a requirement to make a magic item, you can bump up the DC by 5.

So if I'm 6th level, can I just bump up the DC to make the item form 13 to 18? Or do I have to be 8th level to make it?

You can make it, you just increase the check DC by 5.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The crafting rules tell you that you can ignore ANY requirement for an extra 5 on the DC. The only requirement you can't ignore is the basic crafting feat.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

That caster level is not a requirement. It is only an example cl for found treasure. You can create the belt with a level of 3, which is the minimum level for the required spell.

Unless the caster level is in the requirements, you don't have to be that level. +1's to armor and weapons for example, require you to be the bonus x 3 caster level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crafting Items and Caster level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.