Can we please get an FAQ posted for damage dice increases?


Rules Questions

551 to 553 of 553 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

Mark Seifter wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
pauljathome wrote:
Does this table override specific cases? For example, the Shillelagh spell explicitly states that it would do 2d6 damage but the above formula means it does 1d8 (ouch)
Specific overrides the general. The spell puts it to 2d6, not saying increase it as if large or something like that.

The spell actually says it increases it by two sizes, which it then extrapolates to be 2d6 for medium. This is also what the FAQ says would happen, so no need for specific and general, it just works. :)

EDIT: Ninjaed by a hobbit!

Wouldn't two steps mean that it does 1d10?

Damage Dice Progression Chart wrote:


1d6
1d8
1d10
2d6
2d8
3d6

If it increases by two sizes, then doesn't it move four steps down the chart?

Quote:
If the size increases by one step, look up the original damage on the chart and increase the damage by two steps.
Damage Dice Progression Chart wrote:


1d6
1d8
1d10
2d6
2d8
3d6

Neither of these comes out to be 2d6 to me. Three steps would be 2d6. Unless I am mathing bad.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
WalterGM wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
pauljathome wrote:
Does this table override specific cases? For example, the Shillelagh spell explicitly states that it would do 2d6 damage but the above formula means it does 1d8 (ouch)
Specific overrides the general. The spell puts it to 2d6, not saying increase it as if large or something like that.

The spell actually says it increases it by two sizes, which it then extrapolates to be 2d6 for medium. This is also what the FAQ says would happen, so no need for specific and general, it just works. :)

EDIT: Ninjaed by a hobbit!

Wouldn't two steps mean that it does 1d10?

Damage Dice Progression Chart wrote:


1d6
1d8
1d10
2d6
2d8
3d6

If it increases by two sizes, then doesn't it move four steps down the chart?

Quote:
If the size increases by one step, look up the original damage on the chart and increase the damage by two steps.
Damage Dice Progression Chart wrote:


1d6
1d8
1d10
2d6
2d8
3d6
Neither of these comes out to be 2d6 to me. Three steps would be 2d6. Unless I am mathing bad.

One step at a time; don't try to apply it all at once. 1d6->1d8 because bullet point 1 says to increase by 2 unless the initial is 1d6 or less, which it is. Then 1d8->2d6.

Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

Ah ha! Perfect, thanks Mark!

551 to 553 of 553 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can we please get an FAQ posted for damage dice increases? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.