Arcanist and Magical Knack


Rules Questions


Magical Knack: You were raised, either wholly or in part, by a magical creature, either after it found you abandoned in the woods or because your parents often left you in the care of a magical minion. This constant exposure to magic has made its mysteries easy for you to understand, even when you turn your mind to other devotions and tasks.

Benefit: Pick a class when you gain this trait—your caster level in that class gains a +2 trait bonus as long as this bonus doesn't raise your caster level above your current Hit Dice.

Im not sure if this trait works, I added it too my arcanist, but from how I interpret what it does, is to raise your caster level by two but not over your HD? how can I tell if its working

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

It only "works" if you multiclass.

Example: An Arcanist-3 with Magical Knack gains no benefit. An Arcanist-1/Fighter-2 with Magical Knack is counted as though its Arcanist caster level were 3.


thank you

The Exchange

Please note that this doesn't increase your spells known, spell slots, etc.; just the caster level of spells you do cast. (In other words an Arcanist 2/Fighter 2 would cast his spells at CL 4 but can still only cast first level spells, just like an Arcanist 2.


Nefreet wrote:

It only "works" if you multiclass.

Example: An Arcanist-3 with Magical Knack gains no benefit. An Arcanist-1/Fighter-2 with Magical Knack is counted as though its Arcanist caster level were 3.

Or play specific classes with delayed caster levels like Paladin or Ranger.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Arcanist and Magical Knack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.