Ring of spell storing: Save DCs?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Two questions:

1. What are the save DCs for a spell from a ring of spell storing?
2. When it says the caster level is the minimum, is that just for found items, or does that apply also when casting new spells in from a known caster?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

1) It doesn't say, so it's entirely the GM's call.
2) The rule is phrased in absolute terms without qualification; spells stored in the ring have the minimum caster level, no exceptions.


1. It doesn't specifically say, but it appears that it is intended to be treated like a scroll so it should use the lowest possible ability score to determine DC
2. Any spell cast from a ring of spell storing functions at minimum caster level.


Interesting. So in general, best used for spells where you don't care much about save DC or level-dependent effects. But this is not necessarily a problem, as the game is full of interesting spells where those traits don't matter so much.


Quote:
A ring of spell storing contains up to 5 levels of spells (either divine or arcane, or even a mix of both spell types) that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell.
Quote:
A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than 5.

In addition one of the requirements for making the ring is the spell 'Imbue with spell ability'.

Quote:
The transferred spell's variable characteristics (range, duration, area, and the like) function according to your level, not the level of the recipient.

This give me two different ways I would play it.

1) The weak way. All spells cast into the ring are at their minimum caster level and stat requirement to cast (like scrolls).

2) The powerful way. All spells cast into the ring use the imbuers caster level and DC. Spells in the ring when the ring is first found are cast at the minimum caster level and stat requirement to cast the spell (like scrolls).

For a 50,000gp item, I'd go with #2.


I note that Imbue with Spell Ability also says nothing about DC.


It does say all the Variable characteristics. DC is variable depending on your INT and feats. Just like range/duration/area are variable depending on your caster level (and possibly feats).


It says that variable characteristics vary with your level. It doesn't say anything about any other aspects that aren't governed by caster level.


RAW it seems to treat spells stored in the ring like spells in scrolls, but again this is just coming from the fact that it mentions minimum caster level.

I believe that the intent is to have the minimum caster level and DC for spells stored in the ring when you find it in loot and then, later, it uses the CL and DC of the guy (who is usually a party member so you know the CL and DC) who put the spell in the ring.


That was our conclusion, and is how our GM is planning to run it.


Two relevant quotes that at least suggest you're going about this wrong:

"For a randomly generated ring, treat it as a scroll to determine what spells are stored in it."

"A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than 5. Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the ring of spell storing."

For a randomly generated ring, use the scroll rules. However when a spellcaster casts a spell into the ring I don't see any reason it wouldn't be at the DC and caster level of the caster themselves. I agree the rules don't make it perfectly clear, but absent more specific text, found rings of spell storing are as scrolls, but when I spellcaster puts the spell in it is the caster level and DC of that spell as cast. It's an expensive item no need to nerf it by interpreting it in the weakest way possible.


Use the general rules unless specified otherwise.


dragonhunterq wrote:
Use the general rules unless specified otherwise.

This does specify otherwise. A spellcaster is placing the spell in the ring.


Really? I'm not seeing anything even remotely like this:

CRB, staves wrote:

Using Staves: Staves use the wielder's ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells. Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of a staff if it's higher than the caster level of the staff.[/url]

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Ring of spell storing: Save DCs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.