how much non lethal damage does the exhausted condition deal?


Rules Questions


The description of non lethal damage says that things like heat or being exhausted deal non lethal damage, but the exhausted description does not list how much damage is dealt and when it is dealt. Can anyone tell me where the number is?


There's an error somewhere; the exhausted condition, per se, does not deal damage to you.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

You're talking about the following:

Rules wrote:
Dealing Nonlethal Damage: Certain attacks deal nonlethal damage. Other effects, such as heat or being exhausted, also deal nonlethal damage.

I believe they really mean "becoming fatigued or exhausted through exertion (as when forced marching)".

Forced March wrote:
For each hour of marching beyond 8 hours, a Constitution check (DC 10, +2 per extra hour) is required. If the check fails, the character takes 1d6 points of nonlethal damage. A character who takes any nonlethal damage from a forced march becomes fatigued. Eliminating the nonlethal damage also eliminates the fatigue. It's possible for a character to march into unconsciousness by pushing himself too hard.
Exhausted wrote:
Exhausted: An exhausted character moves at half speed, cannot run or charge, and takes a –6 penalty to Strength and Dexterity. After 1 hour of complete rest, an exhausted character becomes fatigued. A fatigued character becomes exhausted by doing something else that would normally cause fatigue.

So if you were to forced march twice and fail the check both times, the second time you'd apply fatigued to an already fatigued character and become exhausted. Becoming exhausted in and of itself didn't do any non-lethal damage, but the forced march check failure did (1d6).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / how much non lethal damage does the exhausted condition deal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.