You know you're in for a treat when you get to the table and...


Pathfinder Society

101 to 131 of 131 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
The Exchange 5/5

Mark Stratton wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:
Will Johnson wrote:
You never hear this at the table anymore, "Yikes! I didn't realize how big fireball really is. Sorry!"
I have. I've also heard it when I break out the 40ft radius template for entangle and the druid players eyes go wide.

This. Right here.

And sometimes it's not even the area of the spell, but the shape. I can't tell you how many times at one of my tables a caster has uttered "uh oh" when realizing this his or her cone spells (color spray, burning hands) ended up getting at least one other party member.

Caster: "Oh, no, I can totally get the bad guys and miss my entire party."

Me (putting down spell template, which clearly includes at least one other party member, no matter the spell's point of origin): "How?"

Caster: "Uh oh."

Me: Reflex saving throws, please.

It happens far too often for my tastes.

sorry - I just realized that I was quoting you out of context, here's the post I was concerned with.

Bolding above is mine and is the part that concerns me.

now for one of mine - I can't tell you how many times I have had someone say something like, "that's Jo's fighter? I thought it was a bad guy!" when I have pointed out they are spelling/shooting/flanking a fellow PC. We just correct the action and move on.

5/5

In my experience, the spells that don't do any HP damage tend to be the most powerful/have the most devastating effect.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Northern

nosig wrote:

The only time I can recall having lost a PC to "friendly fire" it was due to a Color Spray that dropped our front Line Tank - leaving my Cleric covering his body to prevent a coupe... so I guess the fact that the spell didn't due damage was ok? After all...

"Color Spray doesn't kill characters, so I let it go. Same with Entagle. So, those types of spells, I let them fire off as normal."

That is correct. The spell did not damage or kill the character.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Northern

nosig wrote:
Mark Stratton wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:
Will Johnson wrote:
You never hear this at the table anymore, "Yikes! I didn't realize how big fireball really is. Sorry!"
I have. I've also heard it when I break out the 40ft radius template for entangle and the druid players eyes go wide.

This. Right here.

And sometimes it's not even the area of the spell, but the shape. I can't tell you how many times at one of my tables a caster has uttered "uh oh" when realizing this his or her cone spells (color spray, burning hands) ended up getting at least one other party member.

Caster: "Oh, no, I can totally get the bad guys and miss my entire party."

Me (putting down spell template, which clearly includes at least one other party member, no matter the spell's point of origin): "How?"

Caster: "Uh oh."

Me: Reflex saving throws, please.

It happens far too often for my tastes.

sorry - I just realized that I was quoting you out of context, here's the post I was concerned with.

Bolding above is mine and is the part that concerns me.

now for one of mine - I can't tell you how many times I have had someone say something like, "that's Jo's fighter? I thought it was a bad guy!" when I have pointed out they are spelling/shooting/flanking a fellow PC. We just correct the action and move on.

I clarified this in a later post.

5/5

So you wouldn't consider it PVP if one player sundered another player's armor in the first round against the scenario's boss because no HP damage was done? Because Color Spray can be far more devastating in the middle of combat than losing one's armor.

5/5

If it isn't pvp I think that quite easily falls under the don't be a dick rule. The colour spray thing might as well depending on the situation. If it's your opening spell in a fight and you are risking knocking another player unconscious for the entire fight I might give them a chance to veto or ask them to cast something different. If it is in the midst of a pitched battle and it may be the groups one chance of survival probably less so.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Northern

Here's the main part of the rule (I say it's the main part because it begins, "In short...") which is akin to saying, "In summary" or whatever:

"In short, you can never voluntarily use your character to kill another character—ever."

Kill. That's the word that is used throughout the section. Kill.

Now, does it fall into the "don't be a d*ck rule"? I think it can, sure, I wouldn't argue with that. But the rule, as written, seems clear to me that the prohibition is against killing a character.

Now, if they want to rewrite it to prevent this other stuff I am totally okay with that. But the rule as written, and as it appears to be intended from that section, seems to prohibit killing, and nothing else.

YMMV.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

2 people marked this as a favorite.

If I grapple, pin and hog-tie your PC and let the mook CdG him, did I kill your PC?

If I cast hold person on your PC and he gets shredded, did I kill him?

If I catch the cleric in my color spray and he can't get to you in time for breath of life because he's stunned for 1 round, did I kill you?

If I catch you in the edge of my fireball, and then the monster's full attack drops you to negative CON when you would have still been standing if you'd started at full HP, did I kill you?

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

I think that last one actually happened to my bard.

Grand Lodge 3/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

When you run a Mod with minimal Prep time and no one notices because they all had lots of fun.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Northern

Jiggy wrote:

If I grapple, pin and hog-tie your PC and let the mook CdG him, did I kill your PC?

If I cast hold person on your PC and he gets shredded, did I kill him?

If I catch the cleric in my color spray and he can't get to you in time for breath of life because he's stunned for 1 round, did I kill you?

If I catch you in the edge of my fireball, and then the monster's full attack drops you to negative CON when you would have still been standing if you'd started at full HP, did I kill you?

To me, the answer to all of those questions is no. The one exception I do make is the last one - that does damage, and I consider that directly akin to killing. But hey, I can see it the other way, too. YOu didn't kill him with your fireball, so no, you didn't violate the rule.

I think it would be better to clarify the rule, honestly.

Scarab Sages 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
nosig wrote:
Ferious Thune wrote:
pauljathome wrote:
The Morphling wrote:
There is a complete lack of understanding by most GMs regarding the "PvP" rules. I've had a GM flat out tell the Alchemist they can't throw bombs into combat, even with Precise Bombs, because they "might miss" and splash on other players.

The rules are (deliberately, I presume ) fairly open to GM interpretation.

Up here, we generally interpret them as "the target has veto power over things that can harm it done by fellow PCs". We tell that to new players. I have NEVER seen a case where there has been an issue. One player will ask the other player if they're OK being fireballed OR a player will volunteer that they're fine being fireballed because they have evasion.

Just having them rule means it never comes up :-)

That's the way I've generally seen it go, too. Often, the player whose character might suffer damage is the one trying to convince the one dealing the damage that it's ok. "Go ahead and throw the fireball, I've got Fire Resistance/Evasion/etc."

My ninja was recently the subject of a Dominate Person (yeah, ninja saving throws). The first thing I did was turn the the player of the Sorcerer (who I nearly killed in the first round of the Dominate) and told him to do what he had to to stay alive. Several Black Tentacles later, both of us lived, though it was close for us both, too. If it came down to one or the other, I'd rather have seen my character killed while dominated than to have her kill a party member.

I know a sorcerer who routinely asks other party members (those with low Will saves for sure) if they would like him to cast Dominate Person on them right after the mission briefing. That way anyone Dominating them later "will have to fight me for control of you, and I have a grate opposed CHA check".

Even worse, I got I think 4 shots at the save. First save failed (used my reroll earlier), 2nd save when ordered to attack party member failed, 3rd save after protection from evil was cast failed, 4th save after the PC Sorcerer went invisible to force the BBEG to order me to attack someone else failed. At least I kept failing my Escape Artist checks against the Black Tentacles' grapple.

To get back on topic

... and you get dominated, everyone just rolls with it, no one gets upset, and the scenario turns out to be a lot of fun!

Liberty's Edge

Jiggy wrote:

If I grapple, pin and hog-tie your PC and let the mook CdG him, did I kill your PC?

If I cast hold person on your PC and he gets shredded, did I kill him?

If I catch the cleric in my color spray and he can't get to you in time for breath of life because he's stunned for 1 round, did I kill you?

If I catch you in the edge of my fireball, and then the monster's full attack drops you to negative CON when you would have still been standing if you'd started at full HP, did I kill you?

This IS all Player Versus Player. Simply because YOU did not do the damage, you made it easily available to orchestrate the damage or killing of another player by aiding the enemy. Actively acting against another player is a situation, that is the deffinition of, Player Versus Player, because as a player, you are against another player.

The Exchange 5/5

wow....
clearly PvP is going to be YMMV.

If I cast flesh to stone on your PC, is that PvP? Your not (technically) dead... just a bit "stoned".

Grand Lodge

Jiggy wrote:

If I grapple, pin and hog-tie your PC and let the mook CdG him, did I kill your PC?

If I cast hold person on your PC and he gets shredded, did I kill him?

If I catch the cleric in my color spray and he can't get to you in time for breath of life because he's stunned for 1 round, did I kill you?

If I catch you in the edge of my fireball, and then the monster's full attack drops you to negative CON when you would have still been standing if you'd started at full HP, did I kill you?

To get back on topic:

When I sit down to what is supposed to be a fun, entertaining and joyful time and no one derails it to game theory and hypothetical hyperbole.

and not just at Nosig either. This is supposed to be a nice, happy thread. Can't we have nice things once in awhile?

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

nosig wrote:


If I cast flesh to stone on your PC, is that PvP? Your not (technically) dead... just a bit "stoned".

Until you fail the save to survive coming back.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Schrodinger's PvP! ;)

The Exchange 5/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Andrea Brandt wrote:
Jiggy wrote:

If I grapple, pin and hog-tie your PC and let the mook CdG him, did I kill your PC?

If I cast hold person on your PC and he gets shredded, did I kill him?

If I catch the cleric in my color spray and he can't get to you in time for breath of life because he's stunned for 1 round, did I kill you?

If I catch you in the edge of my fireball, and then the monster's full attack drops you to negative CON when you would have still been standing if you'd started at full HP, did I kill you?

To get back on topic:

When I sit down to what is supposed to be a fun, entertaining and joyful time and no one derails it to game theory and hypothetical hyperbole.

and not just at Nosig either. This is supposed to be a nice, happy thread. Can't we have nice things once in awhile?

lol! true... ok let me see one...

Walking into the shop and being drafted to run a table for the lady and her 13 year old daughter who just walked in and said - "what kind of game is this? how do you play?". They've never even seen a RPG before, and the organizer figured you were be the best to teach the beginers how much fun it is to play.

Then, a 5 days later having to teach them how to level PCs - because they have played 3 games and are starting thier 4th (played on Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday and leveling to play on Sunday).

Guess I did a good job of introducing them to the game huh? :)

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Washington—Seattle aka Taenia

2 people marked this as a favorite.

When you are running a hard mode and a game developer is playing at your table and asks," I am not sure if this works, but..."

Lantern Lodge 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Bringing this back.

...when you're playing a level 1 replayable, the aasimar player jokes "so, everyone's here to grandfather?" And the other six(!) players simultaneously say some variation of "nope."

...when someone dies and the first post-combat discussion is "how can we get him/her back?"

...when after a battle you look to your companions, beaten, bloodied, exhausted, and victorious.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

...it is a social scenario!
...and the gm has scheduled two tables so everyone can play!
...and all the roleplayers are at your table!

The Exchange

---when everyone at the table is already figuring out how much their split of a resurrection is going to cost without anyone bringing it up.


NOG the Demoralizer wrote:
---when everyone at the table is already figuring out how much their split of a resurrection is going to cost without anyone bringing it up.

Yes. Though if you've just gotten to the table and they're doing this, it may be cause for concern. ;)

Silver Crusade

Jason Hanlon wrote:
NOG the Demoralizer wrote:
---when everyone at the table is already figuring out how much their split of a resurrection is going to cost without anyone bringing it up.
Yes. Though if you've just gotten to the table and they're doing this, it may be cause for concern. ;)

We kinda hinted at it before I played Bonekeep. Didn't do the exact math or anything, but we were talking about how it was a higher than normal paying scenario, so sharing the cost of a single raise dead wouldn't be too bad, if it ended up being necessary.

Shadow Lodge

5 people marked this as a favorite.
The Morphling wrote:
There is a complete lack of understanding by most GMs regarding the "PvP" rules. I've had a GM flat out tell the Alchemist they can't throw bombs into combat, even with Precise Bombs, because they "might miss" and splash on other players.

That seems like a rare exception rather than the rule and a misinterpretation which would leave 9 of 10 players saying "WTF".

If you agree with me favorite this post. That way Morphling can show a post with 20-30 some favorites to the GM in question (hopefully in private or here on the internet).

Sovereign Court

When someone looks at you and says, "We really need a..." Followed up by describing the exact character you were planning on playing.

When you sit down and note that all four of the staple archetypes are at the table: Melee Fighter, Rouge/Ranger-type, Offensive Caster, and dedicated Support/Healer. Even better when there are two other players, each playing an extra melee Fighter and an extra caster. (This happened, and was by far one of the best PFS sessions I ever played!)

Someone says, "I'm here to make sure you all live."

The Exchange

Jason Hanlon wrote:
NOG the Demoralizer wrote:
---when everyone at the table is already figuring out how much their split of a resurrection is going to cost without anyone bringing it up.
Yes. Though if you've just gotten to the table and they're doing this, it may be cause for concern. ;)

Yes, I suppose that would mean I was playing one of Kyle's adventures.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Nevada—Las Vegas aka kinevon

Brigg wrote:
Someone says, "I'm here to make sure you all live."

Huh. When I run one of those PCs, my statement is usually, "I'm here to try and keep you alive."

Bad things happen. At low levels, sometimes they can happen so fast that there is nothing to be done to keep someone alive.

Bad Things(tm) can happen:
My PC with a low AC, 17 at 7th level, wound up adjacent to an NPC with multiple attacks. All of them hit. It wouldn't have been so bad, but the next-to-last hit left my PC at 3 hit points, and the final attack was a confirmed crit. Straight from conscious to dead dead. No one in the party; no clerics, oracles, inquisitors, etc.; had any way to do a Breath of Life.

Silver Crusade

Jayson MF Kip wrote:
...when after a battle you look to your companions, beaten, bloodied, exhausted, and victorious.

...when after a battle I look to my companions, all of them safe, healthy, undefiled, and still victorious.

Dark Archive Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Seattle aka forudd blackheart_1

1 person marked this as a favorite.

...when the players from last years special want to play at your table agian this year and and at the end of the slot you all decide to make it a yearly tradition

...when you sit down at a table with GM who's natorious for playing a certian NPC

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

...when the enemy doesn't have See Invisibility.

...when I go into battle with trusted companions at my back.

...when we return from a profitable adventure and there are no squables over who gets to keep what from the loot.

101 to 131 of 131 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / You know you're in for a treat when you get to the table and... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.