Inquisitions and domains


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Can a Inquisitor take both a domain and an inquisition?


Not when they only get one as a base inquisitor. If you have a level of cleric as well, you could take one domain and one inquisition, as one of your "normal" cleric domains has to match the inquisitors.

Interestingly, a level of druid would let you take a domain that didn't match your inquisition, since the cleric language isn't inclusive of druid domains, and I would guess that applies to any class other than cleric that could grant a domain.

Sczarni

Non-multiclassed Inquisitors get their pick of only one Domain or one Inquisition.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I searched but couldn't find a definitive answer on this one....

SRD wrote:
Each domain grants a number of domain powers, depending on the level of the inquisitor. An inquisitor does not gain the bonus spells listed for each domain, nor does she gain bonus spell slots. The inquisitor uses her level as her effective cleric level when determining the power and effect of her domain powers. If the inquisitor has cleric levels, one of her two domain selections must be the same domain selected as an inquisitor. Levels of cleric and inquisitor stack for the purpose of determining domain powers and abilities, but not for bonus spells.

So the easy answer is that if my cleric3 takes 2 levels of Inquisitor, the domain powers of the common domain that I chose as a cleric is treated as level 5.

Also easy, if my Inquisitor6 with the luck domain takes 1 level of cleric (also with luck) then my Luck powers are at level 7.

Now the hard part.....is the reverse true? my Inq8 of Pharasma takes one cleric level and picks up the Repose domain. is the REPOSE power considered level 9?

- since the same wording/passage doesn't exist in the cleric description my initial reaction was no, its only the "inquisitor domain" that is affected by the stacking.
- but then I reread the phrase "but not for bonus spells". Of course not for bonus spells, Inquisitors don't ever get bonus spells. Putting that phrase in there is to qualify how the stacking of the Inquisitor levels does and does not affect spells......which lead me to believe that maybe the wording should be in the cleric description also? Meaning Id reverse my example: My level 1 cleric with the repose domain takes 8 levels of Inquisitor, and since the Inq levels stack with the cleric levels the effective power is 9th level.

I can certainly see the argument both ways (but since Im the INq8 looking to take the Cleric1 Im biased). Yet another case where an extra phrase or so would have helped with those last 2 sentences:

If the inquisitor has cleric levels, one of her two domain selections must be the same domain selected as an inquisitor. Levels of cleric and inquisitor stack for the purpose of determining domain powers and abilities of the common level, but not for bonus spells.

OR

If the inquisitor has cleric levels, one of her two domain selections must be the same domain selected as an inquisitor. Levels of cleric and inquisitor stack for the purpose of determining domain powers and abilities of all domains, but not for bonus spells.

thoughts?

Scarab Sages

I'm of the opinion cleric and inquisitor levels should stack for the purposes of all domain powers. There is a lot of overlap between the classes already. Even with giving two domain/inquisition powers, you are giving up more by taking a dip into cleric than you gain.

Liberty's Edge

Deylinarr wrote:


Now the hard part.....is the reverse true? my Inq8 of Pharasma takes one cleric level and picks up the Repose domain. is the REPOSE power considered level 9?

The way I've played it is yes, the reverse is true. Since you don't get the domain powers twice the Inquisitor and cleric stack for all purposes of determining what the powers are as is indicated in the wording in the inquisitor. Also as indicated in the wording of the inquisitor you would not get the bonus spells as of the higher level.

So to use your example you go Cleric 8 levels then choose Inquisitor for 1. The repose domain is your "shared" domain. In this case your domains granted powers are at 9th level, but your cleric casting only has access to domain spells up to the 8th level.

If the domains gave different powers for the different classes then I would see them not stacking, but since that's not the case they should combine. I just believe that the text isn't included in the Cleric write up since Inquisitor wasn't available when they were created.

Liberty's Edge

Deylinarr wrote:


Now the hard part.....is the reverse true? my Inq8 of Pharasma takes one cleric level and picks up the Repose domain. is the REPOSE power considered level 9?

I am not 100% sure that I have got your question right, but here is my reply:

In Pathfinder the order in which you get your abilities don't matter for stacking them. It is irrelevant if you have taken 8 levels as an inquisitor and then 1 as a cleric or 1 as a cleric and then 8 as an inquisitor.
"Levels of cleric and inquisitor stack for the purpose of determining domain powers and abilities, but not for bonus spells." mean that you take all your levels as a cleric and all your levels as inquisitor and you stack them together to determine the level of your domain powers. It is C+I, not "if you do C and then you do I add them together".


Thanks all for the quick responses, sounds like my initial thought of "its missing from cleric b/c Inquisitor didn't exist back then" is vindicated.

Diego, the only reason I thought the order mattered is to illustrate the difference between the 'shared' and the 'not shared' domain.

an Inq8 with Heresy picks up Cleric1 with Heresy and Repose, its an easy answer that Heresy goes up to 9th. The question really focuses around what happens to REPOSE in this case. The way Inq is worded I was interpreting it as both Heresy and Repose would both go up to 9th, and it sounds like others were as well.

It could be interpreted as pretty darn powerful - if every Inq takes 1 level of cleric they can get 2 domains at full progression minus the spells - but RAW it works..... if as Imbicatus says youre willing to pay the 'price' a dip will cost your Inquisitor.

Thanks again!

Scarab Sages

Deylinarr wrote:


It could be interpreted as pretty darn powerful - if every Inq takes 1 level of cleric they can get 2 domains at full progression minus the spells - but RAW it works..... if as Imbicatus says youre willing to pay the 'price' a dip will cost your Inquisitor.

Thanks again!

It actually more powerful than that: If they also take the feat channeling scourge, all inq levels count as cleric levels for channel energy.

Sovereign Court

Imbicatus wrote:
Deylinarr wrote:


It could be interpreted as pretty darn powerful - if every Inq takes 1 level of cleric they can get 2 domains at full progression minus the spells - but RAW it works..... if as Imbicatus says youre willing to pay the 'price' a dip will cost your Inquisitor.

Thanks again!

It actually more powerful than that: If they also take the feat channeling scourge, all inq levels count as cleric levels for channel energy.

My 2 copper...

Inquisitor levels stack with Cleric levels for purposes of domain powers. But if the Inquisitor takes a domain, then he doesn't get an Inquisition (a huge loss for most Inquisitors).

A cleric can select 2 domains, then take levels as an Inquisitor and select an Inquisition. But if that is the case, I believe her effective level for determining domain powers would stay at 1st. The text of Inquisitor specifies that you get either an Inquisition or a Domain. So your levels only stack for domain powers if you actually select a domain (which, rather than a 3rd domain, must be one of the original 2).

Otherwise, why would any Inquisitor every pick a domain over an inquisition? Wouldn't make sense, plus there'd be no reason to play a full cleric other than spell progression.

Re: Channeling Scourge... It only works when channeling negative energy. Granted, most Clerics in Society play pick negative energy.


taldanrebel2187 wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
Deylinarr wrote:


It could be interpreted as pretty darn powerful - if every Inq takes 1 level of cleric they can get 2 domains at full progression minus the spells - but RAW it works..... if as Imbicatus says youre willing to pay the 'price' a dip will cost your Inquisitor.

Thanks again!

It actually more powerful than that: If they also take the feat channeling scourge, all inq levels count as cleric levels for channel energy.

My 2 copper...

Inquisitor levels stack with Cleric levels for purposes of domain powers. But if the Inquisitor takes a domain, then he doesn't get an Inquisition (a huge loss for most Inquisitors).

A cleric can select 2 domains, then take levels as an Inquisitor and select an Inquisition. But if that is the case, I believe her effective level for determining domain powers would stay at 1st. The text of Inquisitor specifies that you get either an Inquisition or a Domain. So your levels only stack for domain powers if you actually select a domain (which, rather than a 3rd domain, must be one of the original 2).

Otherwise, why would any Inquisitor every pick a domain over an inquisition? Wouldn't make sense, plus there'd be no reason to play a full cleric other than spell progression.

Re: Channeling Scourge... It only works when channeling negative energy. Granted, most Clerics in Society play pick negative energy.

Cleric/Inquisitors have a maximum of 2 domains/inquisitions, there is no way to have three, as the selection language for inquisitors applies both ways. Also, many domains are significantly stronger than inquisitions. There are only a couple of inquisitions worth taking, and those are mostly for face skills, in general they are pretty underwhelming.

Sovereign Court

I'd agree. I think the error is that some of the Inquisitor/Cleric dip builds end up taking 2 domains and 1 inquisition, which is technically not legal.


"I'd agree. I think the error is that some of the Inquisitor/Cleric dip builds end up taking 2 domains and 1 inquisition, which is technically not legal."

Many Cleric archetypes gain only a single domain. In the case of a one domain cleric/inquisitor:
1) How many domains can be taken?
2) Can a domain and an inquisition be taken?


My research, and Hero Lab tell me 1) one and 2) no, which is not the answer I was looking for. On the other hand, when you stack a bunch of domain eligible classes and archetypes within Hero Lab the results seem, unreliable.

Which brings about question 3.
3) When a Cleric has two Archetypes that both allow only a single domain, does the Cleric get one domain or zero? Hero Builder seems to think zero, unless I'm doing something wrong with my Cloistered Cleric/Divine Strategist. It doesn't seem right that a two Archetype Cleric should get zero Domains.


Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Should Hero Lab even be allowing that combination of archetypes? Both archetypes alter your Domains class feature, after all.


1.) 1

2.) No, an inquisition is just another name for a domain with no bonus spells, just because it has a different name you dont gain some sort of special benefit. You get 1 Domain or Domain-like ability period if you are a cleric archetype with 1 domain/inquisitor.

3.) That is not a valid combination of archetypes. Only variant channeling is a possibility for a second archetype, and it doesnt work with all other archetypes. No other 2 cleric archetypes can be combined. Hero Lab is not a rules source. Edit: Sorry, ignore the variant channeling, the d20pfsrd is wrong on that, as it isnt an archetype. That means there are no combinable cleric archetypes.


Got it. So if I can't have Travel Domain and Conversion Inquisition (Wisdom replaces Charisma for Bluff, Diplomacy and Intimidate) for my 2nd level Divine Strategist Dwarf, is there another way (multi-class ok) to accomplish the conversion from an 8 Charisma to instead use the 16 Wisdom? That's a +4 shift that I will have to forgo.


Looking at the X to Y guide(check Guide to class guides in the advice forum) you can get Wis added to Bluff and Diplomacy with the infiltrator archetype for inquisitor. Creed of humility feat adds wis to diplomacy. Thats all I could find.


Drat. I was going for an Intimidate build.

Thanks for the reference to the doc. Didn't know that existed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inquisitions and domains All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions