Is Telekenisis a personal (you) Spell when cast in Combat Maneuver Option?


Rules Questions


In the description of the spell it does not identify explicitly the targets of the spell -- simply stating "see text."

The caster selects one of three versions of the spell: Sustained Force, Combat Maneuver, and Violent Thrust. By reading the description I would think that the Combat Maneuver version should have a target of "you." The text seems to identify a target "Alternatively, once per round, you can use telekinesis to perform..."

Am I reading this correctly? Can I cast Telekenisis CM (Combat Maneuver) on my familiar? If so, whose INT and DEX is used to resolve the CMB stuff?

Note: I think this would be very powerful. You can cast TK on your familiar and then continue to cast spells. Your TK would last a long time on the familiar (up to twice your level if you take a spell-sponge feat). Just from a balance point-of-view I would want to at least force the familiar to use their own Int/Dex.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I don't think telekinesis has a target of "you". The target is what is described in the text. It can be an object or a creature.


Agreed with Slimgauge. The section of text is describing how you (caster) cast Telekinesis on a creature or object (target) to effectively perform a combat maneuver.

Imagine the Force push effects from Star Wars; that's using Telekinesis to perform a bull rush against a target.


The wording of the spell says you can make a new maneuver each round. That kind of suggests the caster is the target of the spell, and you could change the target of the attack each round.


SlimGauge wrote:
I don't think telekinesis has a target of "you". The target is what is described in the text. It can be an object or a creature.

The first use is targeting an object or creature. (Sustained Force)

The last use is targeting multiple objects or creatures. (Violent Thrust)

The middle usage allows you to make multiple CMB attacks for the duration of the spell. The spell continues to affect you no matter how far you move. If you cast the second version and were teleported a hundred miles away you would still be able to use Telekenisis to make CMB attacks. It seems that the target must be "you."

I don't mean to ask a question and disagree with the answers, but there wasn't enough of an answer to shake my position.


Xaratherus wrote:

Agreed with Slimgauge. The section of text is describing how you (caster) cast Telekinesis on a creature or object (target) to effectively perform a combat maneuver.

Imagine the Force push effects from Star Wars; that's using Telekinesis to perform a bull rush against a target.

You don't cast a new spell every round. The second version persists for one round a level. Each round the caster directs it.

Thoughts?


Okay, I see the reason for confusion. Effectively, it's giving you a single telekinetic combat maneuver for 1\round level (or until you cease concentration), which indicates that the spell has some sort of persistent effect on you that allows you to make those attacks.

So for that particular use, I suppose it would have a target of 'you'. It's akin to the Elemental Touch spell - it's a self-buff that lets you make an elemental touch attack each round for the duration of the spell.

That said, I don't see any indication in the spell that you could cast it on an ally and let them use the maneuver effects for you.


But if it is personal, you could share it on your familiar.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is Telekenisis a personal (you) Spell when cast in Combat Maneuver Option? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.