Gaining a bonded object through eldritch heritage


Advice


Hi,

My oracle is about to take the eldritch heritage feat at third level, going for the arcane bloodline.

He has decided to go for a bonded object, not for a familiar (my GM doesn't allow any class feature that gives either a familiar or grants prepared spellcasting).

My question: how does my character gain this bonded object? Does he spontaneously find one, or does he buy one? He doesn't really have the funds to purchase that shiny ring he has set his eyes on...

Thanks in advance for your opinion!


"If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete."

Since your effective level (until you get Greater Eldritch Heritage or Mythic Eldritch Heritage) for your familiar is going to be your character level -2, it would cost 200gp.

Dark Archive

When you first take the feat you should generally get the bonded item for free, however it is just a standard non magical item that won't be worth anything unless you specifically go out of your way to buy something that is.


Xeriar wrote:

"If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete."

Since your effective level (until you get Greater Eldritch Heritage or Mythic Eldritch Heritage) for your familiar is going to be your character level -2, it would cost 200gp.

The item was neither lost nor destroyed, so "replaced" does not really cover this case, I am afraid.

As I read this rule, it is primarily meant for really valuable items that have been lost or destroyed. This is particularly useful if you'd have already put more than one magic additional property in it, which would make re-creating it in the ordinary way much more expensive...


Suthainn wrote:
When you first take the feat you should generally get the bonded item for free, however it is just a standard non magical item that won't be worth anything unless you specifically go out of your way to buy something that is.

I am planning to use a simple, plain, unadorned ring as my bonded object. Later, I will put some ranks in Craft: jewelry so I may take the Forge Rings feat and enhance this ring with some more magical properties.

Does the ring have to be masterwork to be used as bonded object?
Does it have to be masterwork to be enchanted?

And be assured: it won't be a ring of invisibility (my level three wind oracle has a 3rd-level revelation that grants invisibility), and I will most definately not call it My Precious... :-)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

You don't need Craft feats to enchant your Bonded Object.


An item granted by a class feature, should generally be free.
Of course, there need to be an agreement between player and gm about how this makes sense. But as far as an unadorned ring goes, it seem pretty unproblematic that you find it somewhere, or got it in your backpack (or already on your finger, but never mentioned, since it was just a simple ring).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Gaining a bonded object through eldritch heritage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.