A creature that is taking bleed damage takes the listed amount of damage at the beginning of its turn.
Bleeding can be stopped by a DC 15 heal check or through the application of any spell that cures hit point damage (even if the bleed is ability damage). Some bleed effects cause ability damage or even ability drain.
Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage. When two or more bleed effects deal the same kind of damage, take the worse effect. In this case, ability drain is worse than ability damage.
It's a little vague, but does this refer to ANY type of damage, such as slashing or piercing, or does it refer to bleed types such as HP, STR, CON, etc.
For example, my character uses two obsidian daggers to deal damage to an opponent, then breaks them with Splintering Weapon to cause bleed damage. As long as one dagger did damage with slashing and one with piercing, I'm pretty certain that the wording allows for a total of 2d4 bleed after both have connected (The same is true if they both did the same type of damage), but would the bleed per round total to 2d4 if one dagger did piercing and the other slashing?
I see it as being hit point damage versus ability damage, etc and not referring to the type of damage (ie piercing, slashing, bludgeoning, etc.). Normally Bleed damage would ignore DR so that the various physical types of damage do not play a role. Unless there is an FAQ or errata, that is how I would rule it.
That's generally how I ruled it, but it is what it is; a personal override on pretty nondescript rules. Any other thoughts? The main problem is that the PRD doesn't really specify what a "kind of damage" is. It may be intuitive to assume they meant just other bleeds like ability damage, but one could easily argue otherwise since bleed is so vague.
We've already stated that that specific interpretation is probably what paizo intended, as I already mentioned earlier; it's the same conclusion Hendelbolaf and I came to. What I asked was is if there was any reason to totally rule out different types of hp-based bleed, as the prd doesn't really indicate otherwise.
|Stephen Radney-MacFarland Designer|
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Weapon hit point damage is weapon typed, but bleed damage is not.
There are only two three of bleed damage: hit point, ability damage (with six subtypes), and ability drain (with six subtypes).
I think you are assuming that the damage from the bleed condition is the same as the weapon delivering it, but that is not the case. Nowhere does it say that bleed damage is the same type as the weapon delivering it.
There are couple of things that makes me wonder as well, as there are plenty of bleeding that say that they stack and don't stack. Not to mention are hard to determine which is worse than the other, as some do solid damage while others are dice based.
Such as this critical feat
Bleeding Critical (Combat, Critical)Your critical hits cause opponents to bleed profusely.
Prerequisites: Critical Focus, base attack bonus +11.
Benefit: Whenever you score a critical hit with a slashing or piercing weapon, your opponent takes 2d6 points of bleed damage each round on his turn, in addition to the damage dealt by the critical hit. Bleed damage can be stopped by a DC 15 Heal skill check or through any magical healing. The effects of this feat stack.
Special: You can only apply the effects of one critical feat to a given critical hit unless you possess Critical Mastery.
Or this rogue trick
Bleeding Attack (Ex)Benefit: A rogue with this ability can cause living opponents to bleed by hitting them with a sneak attack. This attack causes the target to take 1 additional point of damage each round for each die of the rogue's sneak attack (e.g., 4d6 equals 4 points of bleed). Bleeding creatures take that amount of damage every round at the start of each of their turns. The bleeding can be stopped by a DC 15 Heal check or the application of any effect that heals hit point damage.
Special: Bleeding damage from this ability does not stack with itself. Bleeding damage bypasses any damage reduction the creature might possess.
Also, does the bleeding damage caused by abilties/feats require a separate note of bypassing damage reduction on the description, or do all bleed damage ignore it?